16 Jul 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

This Silent Divide - Gig Review: This Silent Divide @ Meow, Wellington - 1/06/2023

02 Jun 2023 // A review by Sharne Molloy-Turpin

Firstly, as a 24-year-old female, It’s important to note, I’m not exactly the predominant demographic for a band such as This Silent Divide. However, that’s the great thing about music, especially rock music, it’s not exclusive. I like to think that it meant I watched This Silent Divide through a different lens with a different perspective. I wish I could say I've been a long-time fan but I went into this gig with only a tiny bit of background knowledge of the band and a hand-held love of classic rock music. Walking through the doors of the Meow venue, I can say I had a gratified feeling and the reward of having a new band to listen to.

New Zealand has a myriad amount of great rock bands and This Silent Divide, who are Wellington based, are a respective part of that. We first had the supporting acts Secrets of the Sun (pictured) and Dave and the Dirty Humans starting us off with their own heavy rock sound to galvanize us into what was to come. Then next on the stage, we had Shaun Jones on vocals and guitar, Kieran Williams adding in background vocals and guitar, Jonatan Jaworski on bass and Sunil Jolly on drums.

A few days before, on the 26th of May, This Silent Divide had released their new single Beautiful Creature and the crowd and I were there to embrace the new song. Seeing the song played live showed how effortless it looked for each of the band members to play their respective instruments. All their songs are fast-paced, and they each could clearly keep up the rhythm with no one left behind. In other words, They were not only well-rehearsed but on stage they knew how to work together with a rippling glide. There was one moment I particularly liked that was towards the very end of their performance of In My Life where Sunil was especially strong on the drums and it left a great echo of intensity.

I did feel like the band may have slightly been constricted to the rock genre. Each song was well constructed lyrically and instrumentally however they sounded familiar to the next. They definitely showed their ability as a rock band but I couldn’t help but wonder if it would make the band even more accessible with some more variation in their sound. With that said, their performance of Eyes reflected something a little different from the rest and it was a personal favourite performance for me. Eyes is from the EP they released back in 2021 called Tall Stories which also features the single Lucinda.

From what I have seen, there are a lot of bands that fall into the trap of being stagnant on stage and I’m glad this was not the case for This Silent Divide. There was movement from each of the members that showed there was an alliance and vitality amongst them. Now and then you could see Shaun and Kieran turn to each other with some nods in rhythm while playing their guitars and at one point I could see Shaun turn to Sunil while headbanging with enjoyment and agreement to the drums. This is only one of the many reasons we as an audience clapped after each song, and with that, we received a kind ‘Thank you’ from Shaun.

When the set had finished, my plus-one and I could honestly say that it was a fun gig to attend and we definitely weren’t the only ones having a great time. Just before the final song Shaun leans into the mic and said, “Thanks for coming out tonight” and a voice from the crowd replied enthusiastically “No, thank you! For coming out!” I’m sure there will be more to come from this band and so it’ll be worth keeping an eye out for what more they have to offer.


Photo Credit: Nicholas E. Clark
This Silent Divide Gallery
Secrets of the Sun Gallery
Dave and the Dirty Humans Gallery

 

About This Silent Divide

Rock band This Silent Divide are regulars on the Wellington live music scene and meld driving drums, wall-of-sound guitars and melodic overtones to create catchy, high-energy songs.

2021 singles Lucinda and Don't Give Up received radio play at a range of independent radio stations across the country and 2023 has seen the band play a range of shows, including the iconic CubaDupa festival.

New single Beautiful Creature will be released on 26.5.23.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for This Silent Divide

Releases

Tall Stories
Year: 2021
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Sharne Molloy-Turpin

C. Zukey - Album Review: Stone Fruit
18 May 2024 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
The sparkling new debut Stone Fruit by C. Zukey is a full-hearted reflection of feelings and a gentle sting of honest self-internalization.
Read More...
Gig Review: Electric Tapestry @ Valhalla, Wellington - 11/04/2024
12 Apr 2024 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
I have seen Electric Tapestry before, last year in December at Meow and I believe the Valhalla venue autographs the metal/rock band’s strength just a bit more. The scenery of the music is not necessarily that deep for those who enjoy the quiver of rock, but it was something I noticed.
Read More...
Marmalade Skies - Album Review: When I Wake Up
01 Feb 2024 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
There’s a gleaming warmth from local Kiwi band Marmalade Skies and their debut Album When I Wake Up. Set to be released on February 2, 2024, right in the middle of summer, the band will head for a tour around the North Island.
Read More...
Gig Review: Electric Tapestry @ Meow, Wellington - 14/12/2023
15 Dec 2023 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
Electric Tapestry takes traditional rock and adds a revitalised soundwave of numerous styles. What I first observed was how well-bound the band was on stage as they were equipped and prepared to showcase their harmonies, rhythms and styles.
Read More...
Fool's Lagoon - EP Review: Fool Me Twice
14 Dec 2023 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
We are so lucky to have yet another New Zealand band sound like molecules in a jar that bounces pieces of pop, rock and funk all into one. Fool's Lagoon has a new EP called Fool Me Twice which was recorded in the simplicity of a family home in Eastern Bays, Auckland.
Read More...
Junior Junior - EP Review: In the Light
30 Oct 2023 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
The sound of Junior Junior belongs to a summer night gig in Aotearoa. The band grew their talent in Hawkes Bay and Tamaki Makaurau and with pleasure, they sound reminiscent of the Arctic Monkeys.
Read More...
1 Drop Nation - Album Review: Moment In Time
12 Oct 2023 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
The sophomore album Moment In Time is wrapped in a groovy haze as one of Aotearoa’s stellar talents, 1 Drop Nation, went further with their latest album which is electrically robust. This album arrived just after the band's self-titled debut album came out at the end of 2022.
Read More...
Gig Review: Danica Bryant + Band @ Moon, Wellington - 10/09/2023
11 Sep 2023 // by Sharne Molloy-Turpin
Sunday evening was gritty and thundering despite the great weather. After pulling the front door of the Moon bar in Newtown, Wellington, I get a warm lilac smile from artist Danica Bryant and a sweet “Thank you for coming!
Read More...
View All Articles By Sharne Molloy-Turpin

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • BIRDS OF A FEATHER
    Billie Eilish
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • DEVIL IS A LIE
    Tommy Richman
  • GOOD LUCK, BABE!
    Chappell Roan
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem