23 May 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Bad Jelly Collective - Single Review: RUN0UT

30 May 2023 // A review by Callum Wagstaff
The Bad Jelly Collective is made up of Bad Jelly Ben and a few buddies who weave creative forces in their Huia Road Home Studio, nicely tucked away in the Waitakere Ranges.

In the live setting, BJB "utilizes his arsenal of pedals, guitar amp & voice to create mood specific textures and colours. With a loop pedal layering song foundations & textures, he blends groove-based rhythm and smooth yet raw, bluesy lead playing."

RUN0UT is a single off of Bad Jelly's upcoming EP, WESTBOUND&DOWN.

Ben makes "finely tuned, reflective soundscapes - made fresh with dew from the Waitakere Ranges."
RUN0OUT opens with a deep, throaty, bassline, bleeding micro slides that translate like a sexy, chocolaty vocal fry. Overlaid are sax sustains like in a film noir movie. Conjuring images of misty, despondent alleyways. The music swirls together like early-morning blurred vision as Jelly contemplates.

I love lyrics that take an uncommon word and make you associate that with a song for the rest of your life. in RUN0UT: "Safe from harm/ I'll do my best to wrap them up with Duraseal but I may" uses the consonance of the word Duraseal so effectively that I'll never be able to look at book wrap again without thinking of this song.

There's wonderful, subtle yet interesting variation between the first and second verses and choruses. Panning muted strings and accented syncopation add texture and dynamism to the moody atmosphere of the plodding bassline and filthy sax.

The lead break sweeps in like a flash flood of noise. It sounds like blue electricity in a cloud of black rain. It touches on a couple of emotional nerves but never quite stays long enough to let them oscillate. Then it whips away, leaving us on a whisper of "just like always."

I'm looking forward to hearing what else is on WESTB0UND&DOWN and I recommend giving this single a listen. RUN0UT is available on Bandcamp for 4.20 dollars.
Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Bad Jelly Collective

Finely tuned, reflective soundscapes - made fresh with dew from the Waitakere Ranges.

Bad Jelly "Ben" - Sonic Mood-Alchemist from the West Coast of Tamaki Makaurau- and a few buddies weave creative forces in the Huia Road Home Studio, nicely tucked away in the Waitakere Ranges.

Live, Bad Jelly Ben utilizes his arsenal of pedals, guitar amp & voice to create mood specific textures and colours. With a loop pedal layering song foundations & textures, he blends groove based rhythm and smooth yet raw, bluesy lead playing.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Bad Jelly Collective

Releases

TRi-P0LA
Year: 2024
Type: EP
WESTB0UND&D0WN
Year: 2023
Type: EP
Bad Jelly EP
Year: 2022
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Callum Wagstaff

Moider Mother - Album Review: Miracle Healing Crusade
28 Apr 2024 // by Callum Wagstaff
"Take a pinch of Raincoats, add a tablespoon of early Swans, sauté in the first Stooges album and add half a brick. Put it in a sock.
Read More...
Swamp Rat Collective - EP Review: Flash Sneakers
16 Apr 2024 // by Callum Wagstaff
The Swamp Rat Collective is a dirty, matted tangle of influences from the guitar music of the era between the late 80's and early 2000's. The project is a collaboration between Paul Cowsill (rhythm and bass guitar) and Adam Gatt (lead guitar) that crosses the ocean, comprising parties from Auckland, New Zealand as well as London, UK.
Read More...
Daniel Ashcroft - Album Review: Chica De La Bum
05 Feb 2024 // by Callum Wagstaff
Daniel Ashcroft is a multi-instrumentalist, producer and composer based in Feilding.His musical goals are simple: He wants to play every instrument he possibly can, explore every genre and collaborate with as many singers as possible.
Read More...
Dub Asylum - EP Review: Time & Space EP
19 Nov 2023 // by Callum Wagstaff
Dub Asylum is the musical alias for Peter McLennan, former member of 90's reggae-thrash-punk-ska mutants the Hallelujah Picassos. Now working solo, Peter McLennan's Dub Asylum is a musical mash-up of dub reggae, hip-hop and funk.
Read More...
Bad Jelly Collective - EP Review: WESTBOUND&DOWN
10 Oct 2023 // by Callum Wagstaff
Bad Jelly Collective is the brainchild of 'Bad Jelly' Ben. Tucked away in his Huia road Home Studio in the Waitakere Ranges, Ben weaves his psychedelic soundscapes together with the creative forces of his team of musical mates.
Read More...
Album Review: Cautionary Tales
16 Aug 2023 // by Callum Wagstaff
Cautionary Tales is an alt-rock band based in Aotearoa, via Berlin and New York. It's an art-rock outfit built around the type of myths and legends where somebody gets screwed over for riding a scorpion or not tipping an old lady.
Read More...
SACHI - Single Review: Whole Again
17 Jul 2023 // by Callum Wagstaff
SACHI are an electronic dance duo made up of Nick Chrisp and Will Thomas. Whole Againis their first music release of 2023.
Read More...
Album Review: Bad Taste II
27 Jun 2023 // by Callum Wagstaff
Straight out of Whanganui, just down the road from my neck of the woods, Bad Taste comprises the 70's Prog Rock and Spaghetti Western inspired Alphabethead and the lyrically adept and furious at society Young Gho$t.Over a year in the making, Bad Taste II is the follow up to their self-titled debut.
Read More...
View All Articles By Callum Wagstaff

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • I HAD SOME HELP
    Post Malone feat. Morgan Wallen
  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • FORTNIGHT
    Taylor Swift feat. Post Malone
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • I LIKE THE WAY YOU KISS ME
    Artemas
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem