16 Apr 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Adam McGrath - Gig Review: Adam McGrath @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 18/05/2023

18 May 2023 // A review by Kev Rowland

When I first saw Adam McGrath play with his band The Eastern I came away incredibly impressed, the same again when I saw him solo, and then when I heard his amazing album Good Companions I knew I just had to see him again. It has taken until tonight for the stars to align, but here I am back at Tuning Fork, waiting for the man himself to come onto the stage. But before then, we were going to be treated to Kendall Elise – it was only a few weeks ago when I saw her last time and I said then I hoped I would be seeing her again soon, and here we are!

Last time I saw her she played solo, but tonight was accompanied by Kevin Place on electric guitar and backing vocals while she provided acoustic. She again started with Let The Night In, the title cut of her 2021 album, and while everyone was concentrating on her wonderfully inviting and sonorous vocals with her picked guitar, Kevin was adding touches and nuances in the background. He was being careful never to take anything away from Kendall, but was providing additional layers of complexity which took it to a new level. This was followed by Between Hello & Goodbye, with a funky rock ‘n’ roll introduction from Kevin who also provided some harmony vocals on the chorus. By also taking a small Bert Weedon-style guitar break he was also changing the dynamics, allowing Kendall to have someone to bounce off and play against and I am sure her voice had a much harder edge at certain times. Kevin left the stage for the next song, letting Kendall work her magic on a cover of Maria McKee’s If Love Is a Red Dress (Hang Me in Rags). This was one of the highlights for me last time I saw her, as the way she changes the attack and brings in her whistling skills really does make this one of her own, and you could have heard a pin drop in the audience as everyone was giving her their full attention. When she held the note and put her force into it, it was incredibly powerful indeed, so very different from when she is gentle and lulling.

Kirks Bush (The Long Way Around) tells us about a place near where she grew up in South Auckland, where her mum told her never to go even though it was a short cut to school. Kevin was back for this, adding much more in the way of guitar to provide some menace in the background as Kendall’s voice took on a more dynamic and edgy approach. Honest Hand is one of my favourite songs of hers, and hearing it last time in a purely solo version was quite strange, and here it felt different again even though Kevin was just adding picking as opposed to anything too dramatic. This is quite a bouncy number, and it was nice to have Kevin providing backing vocals on the chorus, and they finished acapella. The last number was far rockier, showing Kendall in a very different style again, away from the country and folk stylings into something which was traditional rock ‘n’ roll, Heart Full of Dirt. It was a belting way to end the night, and yet again I found myself hoping that I can see Kendall again soon as she is a wonderful performer with a beautiful voice and great songs.

Adam made his way to the stage in his normal quiet and reserved manner, shouting out how wonderful it was to be here, and should we have some folk music? He kicked it off with a cover, Cold Chisel’s Flame Trees, and suddenly all that existed was his voice and his guitar – this man can sing, really sing. He takes us with him wherever he wants to, never has a setlist, making it up as he goes along. This means that no-one knows what is coming next, even Adam, but that doesn’t matter as he is a man who lives to play wherever, whenever, and Crow River was extended out to way longer as he told a lengthy story. He also pointed out he was not here to win us over, but here to wear us down.

The next song was for Sam Prebble from Bond Street Bridge who we lost a while back, a truly incredible performer whose album is magical. The song, Sam and Adam's Blues, is from Good Companions, and he of course prefaced it with a lengthy story about Sam, and I only hope those who have not heard of that band will investigate it, driven on by the emotion, power and honesty in Adam’s vocals. There are few who play as much as he does, living for the stage and the road, and his stories are as much of the performance as the songs, all combining to create something very special indeed. There cannot be many who admit they stole a rabbit from a kindergarten when they were a teenager, before being shamed into giving it back, yet that was the story which had everyone’s attention before we went into Air Jordans. Adam is also a performance poet, and he then read War Brother from his book The Dogs Are Up, again capturing the attention of everyone in the venue. He has a power, honesty and passion which is so unusual in these days when everything is plastic and disposable, as this is the genuine article, a hard-working folkie with a punk attitude covered in tattoos who has really lived his life, gathering experiences few of us can imagine and then repeating them back to us.

The house lights were turned up, Adam said he was freaking up on the stage, and then he unplugged everything, and was down among the tables, being the true troubadour he is, and he even gave us a verse of Ewan MacColl’s Dirty Old Town. He then stayed down here, obviously revelling the proximity of the audience and being able to see people and their reaction, although he did apologise to the soundman who was now sat there with nothing to do! Adam has a voice that carries, as he is a force of nature, and even in a dead room we didn’t have any issue hearing him as he told the story and then sang the song of C-City Street Kid. No microphones, no amplification, just a man and an acoustic singing his heart out, and even when it became gentle and emotional there was no other sound to be heard. Emotionally this is real journey, and I do not think I have ever heard so many laughs at a folk gig, and I have been to quite a few, yet there are times when he serious as well, with a performance which comes together on the fly, depending on the reactions he is getting from the audience and where he wants to take them. Apparently I go out way too much as I was one of the few who started laughing during The Bar Lands, but I knew that already to be fair.

Adam had broken the barrier which often exists between audience and performer, which Roger Waters felt so deeply that he wrote The Wall. Adam had already achieved that long before he came down into the audience, but this is where he stayed as he needed to bring his music and his stories to the people, being at the same level and very much part of the experience. He reminded everyone he was working for us as we had paid for tickets, but so far we had let him do whatever he wanted! He then asked for requests and was asked for one of the very first songs he wrote for The Eastern, but he admitted he could not remember it so instead went into Splitters Woe, which he said used the same chord sequence as he stole from himself. By now the soundman had realised he was not going to be called on again tonight, so was sat in the audience enjoying the show, while the lights were just left at the same level and Adam gave us the story of the Cloncurry Muster before he went into Flies of Cloncurry, again from his new album, which really is a masterpiece (and the first album in 2023 which I gave full marks to). There are times when his stories are longer than the songs, but that never matters, as they are just as important as the songs, and his tale of how Jacinda sold her soul to a folkie in Christchurch was very special indeed, and in total contrast to the song which followed, The Great Society, going from laughter to thought provoking comment. He turned around so we could all cheer for more, and when he decided we had done enough we went into the singalong Hospitals, Teachers & Kids. 

Some years ago I was fortunate to be at this venue for Troy Kingi’s Holy Colony Burning Acres tour, and I never felt I would again feel the same amount of love and togetherness as I did that night, but something very special happened here tonight when the artist and audience really did become one.


Photo Credit: Kev Rowland

 

About Adam McGrath

Lead singer and songwriter from mythical mongrel Christchurch Folk/Country band The Eastern.

Described by influential country magazine No Depression as “One of the best modern roots acts from any country period”, by the NZ Herald as “NZ’s toughest minded songwriter” and by Radio NZ National as a “National Treasure”, an Adam McGrath show is primed and proud to reach your heart, head and boots.

A folk singer in the truest, traditional sense but one who’s songs speak to the times we find ourselves in and the people with whom we share them with McGrath has a virtual lifetime spent on the road around NZ and everywhere beyond. He sees his job as to pick up the stories he finds, siphon them down to the bone and the heart and bring them around to the next place and the next.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Adam McGrath

Releases

Dear Companions
Year: 2022
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Crushfest @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 07/07/2023
07 Jul 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was down to Tuning Fork for the first night of the second Crushfest festival. Tonight was going to be Wellington and Auckland bands, and then some of the same will be playing at the second night in Wellington next month.
Read More...
Rain - Single Review: Love and War
15 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It has been quite a while since I last heard from Wellington-based singer songwriter Cathy Elizabeth, and back then Rain was seen solely as a studio project with Cathy being accompanied by Thomas Te Taite, who provided all the instrumentation including digital drums. Now they are a full band who have been performing live, and it is the first time they have recorded as such, with Thomas now, just providing acoustic guitar (plus engineering and producing etc.
Read More...
Lost Vessels - Single Review: All This Time
01 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I was not that impressed when I first saw Lost Vessels play at Crushfest, something they later admitted to me was the worst gig of their career, but since then they have improved in leaps and bounds. This has been noticed by others on the Auckland circuit as they are getting more opportunities with better support slots, and I was not at all surprised when they won the Ding Dong Lounge Battle Of The Bands in November last year.
Read More...
Unwanted Subject - Single Review: Sons of Savages
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I have caught Unwanted Subject in concert a few times over the last couple of years, and while they have been getting better each time I have seen them, I must admit that nothing prepared me for this, which right from the off is a monster. I have never heard them quite this is aggressive, nor as polished, and this multi-sectioned single sounds almost like a different band as they have pushed their metal roots to the max in this metalcore beast which sees them mixing and blending different genres to create something quite special.
Read More...
Gig Review: Stray Dogs @ AUX, Auckland - 26/05/2023
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to Ding Dong Lounge on a Friday night for one of their infamous Emo nights, which tonight was a three-band bill with Stray Dogs having an extended set, supported by Altaea and then up first we had Blindr, a band new to me. Blindr are a quartet featuring Bill Caldwell (vocals, guitar), Blake Woodfield (lead guitar), Jack Power (bass), and Charlie McCracken (drums).
Read More...
Gig Review: Turkey The Bird @ The Ministry of Folk, Auckland - 27/05/2023
27 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back up to Auckland Guide Centre in Mount Eden tonight for my second consecutive gig (Sol suggested it was a turkey sandwich as I am at Vader tomorrow) to see Taranaki’s finest, Turkey The Bird at The Ministry of Folk. Before that we of course had Hoop, who are Al Baxter (vocals, guitar, harmonica, banjo, mandolin), Nick Edgar (vocals, guitar, ukulele, flute, harmonica), Emily Allen (violin, viola), Glenn Coldham (bass) while tonight Gary Hunt was filling in for drummer Rusty Knox.
Read More...
This Silent Divide - Single Review: Beautiful Creature
25 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based melodic hard rock quartet This Silent Divide, entitled Beautiful Creature. I really enjoyed their Tall Stories EP, and they played a great gig at Dead Witch towards the end of last year, and this would have been recorded at about the same time.
Read More...
Gig Review: Emily Rice @ Your Local Coffee Roasters, Pukekohe - 24/05/2023
24 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this week I had a message from Emily Rice asking me if I lived in South Auckland. When I responded I did, she asked if I would be interested in coming along to an event she was putting on in a coffee shop in Pukekohe to celebrate the release of her new single, Warenoa.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • LIKE THAT
    Future And Metro Boomin feat. Kendrick Lamar
  • END OF BEGINNING
    Djo
  • I LIKE THE WAY YOU KISS ME
    Artemas
  • WE CAN'T BE FRIENDS (WAIT FOR YOUR LOVE)
    Ariana Grande
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • TEXAS HOLD 'EM
    Beyonce
  • LEAVEMEALONE
    Fred Again.. And Baby Keem
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem