16 Jul 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Devilskin - Gig Review: Devilskin @ Ngaio Marsh Theatre, Christchurch - 12/05/2023

14 May 2023 // A review by Peter K Malthus

Devilskin have an excellent reputation as not only one of New Zealand's hardest working bands, but also as genuinely lovely people. I will second that reputation, adamantly. I've had numerous chats with Paul Martin (Bass guitar) over the years we've been connected on Facebook, so I messaged to see whether I could bring my 14 year old to the show for their birthday. Paul quickly got back to me to advise that the show was RP18, so I was welcome to bring them... and, how many tickets would I like? He didn't need to do that, it was a characteristically thoughtful gesture from one of NZ music's true gentlemen, and it ensured that my two youngest got to experience Devilskin as their first ever concert.

Thom and Saul could barely contain their excitement as we joined the long line of black-clad disciples, queuing up to pledge their devotion to these almighty gods of rock. Wristbands securely in place, we made our way into the venue, my boys staring at everything around them in wide-eyed awe.

We didn't have long to wait before the house lights dimmed, and East York hit the stage. For a band that hasn't existed for particularly long, East York are slick, polished, tight, and professional. Vocalist Tarquin Keys has a rich, strong voice, and charisma oozing from every pore. Daz Coppins (guitar) is the quintessential 'Human Energizer Bunny', barely standing still for more than a microsecond, obviously having the time of his life, engaging enthusiastically with the audience. The powerhouse rhythm section of Joel Coppins (bass) and Joe Brownless (drums) were a force to be reckoned with, keeping the East York juggernaut barreling forward with precision and deft skill. We were even treated to a nod to the Old Gods of NZ heavy music, with a crushing cover of Shihad's You Again, arguably the best riff to ever come out of this country. Superb, and the crowd's reaction to East York's set showed that they clearly agreed.

After a brief intermission, the house lights dimmed again, only this time the crowd hubbub was more frenetic, the atmosphere charged with gleeful anticipation. No real surprise there: If you still haven't seen Devilskin live, you need to have a word with yourself. This is a band who are absolutely masterful in providing a spectacular show, and this one was no exception. Paul had hinted in an earlier message that Jennie (Skulander, vocals (how cool a surname is that, for a heavy rock vocalist?)) had a sore throat and wasn't necessarily feeling 100%. I couldn't see any signs of that, the entire night. From the stomping opener Start A Revolution, to the final note of their blistering set, Jennie was utterly in command, delivering a vocal performance that would have had Bruce Dickinson and Rob Halford shaking their heads in disbelief, hanging up their microphones for good, and going home for a cuppa and a lie down.

Nail Vincent is completely and utterly my kind of guitar player. A tone with more snarl and bite than ten thousand angry rottweilers, and riffs with more chunky heaviness than a herd of overweight rhinos. The only thing I don't like about Nail is that he has a much nicer guitar collection than me, but I still got to geek out over every beautiful six string of the night, as he wrought his guttural magic. 

Being a devoted and proud dad myself, I love that the rhythm section is Paul and his son Nic (Martin, drums). It must be a truly magical feeling for the two of them, and musically they were locked in together as tight as you like, both of them force 5 hurricanes of frantic energy. Skilled and dexterous players, highly animated, and fantastic to watch. 

New song Let Me Breathe was a real treat, a pounding riff-o-rama from a masterclass band on top of their game. Devilskin owned that stage with confidence and aplomb, a sheer colossus of a band. These four road-seasoned rock warriors may have been at this for 13-odd years now, but from what I saw at this show, they're only warming up. I can't see them letting up until they hold the entire world in the palms of their hands... much like they did with this capacity crowd.

Thom was quite smitten with Jennie (I will neither confirm nor deny whether Dad had similar thoughts), and Saul claimed it was the most fun he's ever had in his life, both boys joyfully throwing the horns up with their Dad. We left the venue with my boys grinning ear to ear, and excitedly talking over each other to relate their favourite parts of the night. I'm stoked this was their first concert, it sets a damned high bar, and I'm incredibly grateful to Devilskin for teeing that up.

Devilskin and East York are both world-class acts, in my humble opinion. Go see them as soon as you get an opportunity.


Photo Credit: Alec Huisman Photography
Devilskin Gallery
East York Gallery

 

About Devilskin

Devilskin formed in June 2010 in Hamilton New Zealand and features the spectacular Jennie Skulander on lead vocals. Her powerful and compelling voice and alluring stage presence sets her apart from any vocalist New Zealand has put up so far. With an unerring gift for melody, Jennie's incredible voice sweeps from whisper to roar, rips with power, drips with melody and captivates with sincerity.

Jennie previously fronted Rotorua band Slipping Tongue garnering a swathe of fans with their videos, EPs and album. Slipping Tongue also impressed many when they opened for Coheed & Cambria in 2008.

On lead guitar is Nail from the popular Waikato band Chuganaut who won the NZ Battle of the Bands and the World Battle Of The Bands in 2004. Played BDO in 2005 and opened for Iron Maiden at Mt Smart stadium in 2009. Chuganaut has played numerous national tours and released several singles, EP’s, videos and an album. Nail's searing guitar work and high energy performance bring real intensity to the live show. Nail also performs with Beckoned.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Devilskin

Releases

Surfacing
Year: 2024
Type: EP
Red
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Be Like The River
Year: 2016
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
We Rise
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Live At The Powerstation
Year: 2014
Type: DVD

Other Reviews By Peter K Malthus

Silk Cut - Album Review: Silk Cut
02 Jul 2024 // by Peter K Malthus
Having already released two EPs, and then followed up with full length album Our Place In The Stars, Silk Cut have returned to titillate your earholes with a brand new, self-titled album. The line-up of two guitars, bass, and drums also has shared lead vocals, and delivers a heady blend of 60's psychedelia and 90's guitar-based pop/rock.
Read More...
Cherry Slits - EP Review: Cherry Slits Are Back
01 Jul 2024 // by Peter K Malthus
So, there's a wee bit of a story to go with this one, and it's been a lot of fun to review. Nicola Cheeseman Is Back is a new play by Kathryn Burnett, detailing the story of a 50 year old woman having a midlife crisis, who decides to get her '80s punk band, Cherry Slits, back together.
Read More...
Marsha - Album Review: In Circles
01 Jul 2024 // by Peter K Malthus
Marsha hail from my hometown of Christchurch, and I'm a tad ashamed to say I hadn't actually heard them up until now, but I'd heard many good things about them. In Circles is their debut album, containing some previously released singles, and has been in the works since 2021, and all the painstaking care that was put into its creation is evident in every note of every song.
Read More...
Album Review: The Trials And Tribulations Of Miss French Part Two
21 Jun 2024 // by Peter K Malthus
Miss French is the performing name of Julie Foai, who spent 20 years touring the world with South Pacific band Te Vaka, and managed them into securing a contract with Walt Disney Pictures. Having released her debut solo album in 2016, The Trials And Tribulations Of Miss French, Pt.
Read More...
Taveets - EP Review: WINT/HER
21 Jun 2024 // by Peter K Malthus
Taveets has been steadily releasing singles and EPs since 2019, including 2023's Balcony Nights EP which could almost be considered album length at seven songs. The Wellington-born and raised Samoan/Futuan artist/rapper has just released his latest HipHop/RnB offering, WINT/HER, the five songs looking at love and relationships from different angles, and in different moods.
Read More...
Dónal Gunning - EP Review: Born To Perform
13 Jun 2024 // by Peter K Malthus
Dónal Gunning's travels, since leaving his native Ireland, have seen him eventually relocate to Wellington, where he has been regularly gigging as a solo artist, and with backing band The Bucks. The Bucks are comprised of a collective of Wellington session musicians and have also accompanied Dónal on two north Island tours, delivering fun and energetic shows.
Read More...
Gig Review: Carb On Carb @ Space Academy, Christchurch - 08/06/2024
10 Jun 2024 // by Peter K Malthus
Carb On Carb are currently on a tour of Australia and New Zealand, which will see them perform five dates in each country. Touring is right at the heart and soul of their drive as a band, having seen them perform extensively throughout New Zealand, Australia, Asia, and the USA.
Read More...
Big Sima - EP Review: Early In The Peace
06 Jun 2024 // by Peter K Malthus
The Underground King, AKA Big Sima, has just released a new EP in collaboration with Boomtown, a follow-up to 2022's full length album, Stereotypes Of A Polynesian Misunderstood. Big Sima has been relentlessly busy making a name for himself over the last few years, and that work ethic has seen him win support slots for Busta Rhymes, Bone Thugs 'n’ Harmony, Guru (Gangstarr), Mobb Deep and Cypress Hill.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter K Malthus

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • BIRDS OF A FEATHER
    Billie Eilish
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • DEVIL IS A LIE
    Tommy Richman
  • GOOD LUCK, BABE!
    Chappell Roan
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem