14 Apr 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Devilskin - Gig Review: Devilskin @ Ngaio Marsh Theatre, Christchurch - 12/05/2023

14 May 2023 // A review by Peter K Malthus

Devilskin have an excellent reputation as not only one of New Zealand's hardest working bands, but also as genuinely lovely people. I will second that reputation, adamantly. I've had numerous chats with Paul Martin (Bass guitar) over the years we've been connected on Facebook, so I messaged to see whether I could bring my 14 year old to the show for their birthday. Paul quickly got back to me to advise that the show was RP18, so I was welcome to bring them... and, how many tickets would I like? He didn't need to do that, it was a characteristically thoughtful gesture from one of NZ music's true gentlemen, and it ensured that my two youngest got to experience Devilskin as their first ever concert.

Thom and Saul could barely contain their excitement as we joined the long line of black-clad disciples, queuing up to pledge their devotion to these almighty gods of rock. Wristbands securely in place, we made our way into the venue, my boys staring at everything around them in wide-eyed awe.

We didn't have long to wait before the house lights dimmed, and East York hit the stage. For a band that hasn't existed for particularly long, East York are slick, polished, tight, and professional. Vocalist Tarquin Keys has a rich, strong voice, and charisma oozing from every pore. Daz Coppins (guitar) is the quintessential 'Human Energizer Bunny', barely standing still for more than a microsecond, obviously having the time of his life, engaging enthusiastically with the audience. The powerhouse rhythm section of Joel Coppins (bass) and Joe Brownless (drums) were a force to be reckoned with, keeping the East York juggernaut barreling forward with precision and deft skill. We were even treated to a nod to the Old Gods of NZ heavy music, with a crushing cover of Shihad's You Again, arguably the best riff to ever come out of this country. Superb, and the crowd's reaction to East York's set showed that they clearly agreed.

After a brief intermission, the house lights dimmed again, only this time the crowd hubbub was more frenetic, the atmosphere charged with gleeful anticipation. No real surprise there: If you still haven't seen Devilskin live, you need to have a word with yourself. This is a band who are absolutely masterful in providing a spectacular show, and this one was no exception. Paul had hinted in an earlier message that Jennie (Skulander, vocals (how cool a surname is that, for a heavy rock vocalist?)) had a sore throat and wasn't necessarily feeling 100%. I couldn't see any signs of that, the entire night. From the stomping opener Start A Revolution, to the final note of their blistering set, Jennie was utterly in command, delivering a vocal performance that would have had Bruce Dickinson and Rob Halford shaking their heads in disbelief, hanging up their microphones for good, and going home for a cuppa and a lie down.

Nail Vincent is completely and utterly my kind of guitar player. A tone with more snarl and bite than ten thousand angry rottweilers, and riffs with more chunky heaviness than a herd of overweight rhinos. The only thing I don't like about Nail is that he has a much nicer guitar collection than me, but I still got to geek out over every beautiful six string of the night, as he wrought his guttural magic. 

Being a devoted and proud dad myself, I love that the rhythm section is Paul and his son Nic (Martin, drums). It must be a truly magical feeling for the two of them, and musically they were locked in together as tight as you like, both of them force 5 hurricanes of frantic energy. Skilled and dexterous players, highly animated, and fantastic to watch. 

New song Let Me Breathe was a real treat, a pounding riff-o-rama from a masterclass band on top of their game. Devilskin owned that stage with confidence and aplomb, a sheer colossus of a band. These four road-seasoned rock warriors may have been at this for 13-odd years now, but from what I saw at this show, they're only warming up. I can't see them letting up until they hold the entire world in the palms of their hands... much like they did with this capacity crowd.

Thom was quite smitten with Jennie (I will neither confirm nor deny whether Dad had similar thoughts), and Saul claimed it was the most fun he's ever had in his life, both boys joyfully throwing the horns up with their Dad. We left the venue with my boys grinning ear to ear, and excitedly talking over each other to relate their favourite parts of the night. I'm stoked this was their first concert, it sets a damned high bar, and I'm incredibly grateful to Devilskin for teeing that up.

Devilskin and East York are both world-class acts, in my humble opinion. Go see them as soon as you get an opportunity.


Photo Credit: Alec Huisman Photography
Devilskin Gallery
East York Gallery

 

About Devilskin

Devilskin formed in June 2010 in Hamilton New Zealand and features the spectacular Jennie Skulander on lead vocals. Her powerful and compelling voice and alluring stage presence sets her apart from any vocalist New Zealand has put up so far. With an unerring gift for melody, Jennie's incredible voice sweeps from whisper to roar, rips with power, drips with melody and captivates with sincerity.

Jennie previously fronted Rotorua band Slipping Tongue garnering a swathe of fans with their videos, EPs and album. Slipping Tongue also impressed many when they opened for Coheed & Cambria in 2008.

On lead guitar is Nail from the popular Waikato band Chuganaut who won the NZ Battle of the Bands and the World Battle Of The Bands in 2004. Played BDO in 2005 and opened for Iron Maiden at Mt Smart stadium in 2009. Chuganaut has played numerous national tours and released several singles, EP’s, videos and an album. Nail's searing guitar work and high energy performance bring real intensity to the live show. Nail also performs with Beckoned.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Devilskin

Releases

Red
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Be Like The River
Year: 2016
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
We Rise
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Live At The Powerstation
Year: 2014
Type: DVD

Other Reviews By Peter K Malthus

Cian - EP Review: All New Ways Of Life
22 Mar 2024 // by Peter K Malthus
All New Ways Of Life is the introductory offering from Wellington-based Hardcore Metal outfit, Cian. Connor Matthew (Guitar, Vocals), Navah Chapman (Guitar), Dylan Jonkers (Bass, Vocals) and Zed Ramsay (Drums) have delivered four raging slabs of blistering-hot Metal on this EP and are hungry to take over the world with their punishing, riff-laden sound.
Read More...
Jackie Bristow - Jackie B And The Mini Band - EP Review: Summertime
22 Mar 2024 // by Peter K Malthus
Jackie Bristow has had a career on a continuous upward trajectory, since being discovered at the tender age of eight, in her primary school's choir. In the time since then, she relocated to Australia, and then on to Nashville in the USA, regarded by many as that nation's "music capital".
Read More...
The Mons Whaler - Album Review: Hold My Gun
29 Feb 2024 // by Peter K Malthus
The Mons Whaler were formed in the Taranaki area, by Hemi Coates (vocals & guitar), Andre Peri (percussion & backing vocals) and Phil Hoskin (bass, guitar backing vocals). Multi-talented Courtnay Low joined forces with them, on keys, backing vocals and lead guitar.
Read More...
Empyrvore - Album Review: Nadir: Empyrean
12 Feb 2024 // by Peter K Malthus
Nadir: Empyrean is the latest release from Wellington-based Empyrvore, and their first full length album. It has been a labour of love for its two creators, Jared and Mike, who followed the complete DIY path for recording, mixing, mastering, and releasing...
Read More...
David Edwards - Album Review: Electric (Yang) / Acoustic (Yin) - 2CD Compilation 1998-2023
30 Dec 2023 // by Peter K Malthus
Fiffdimension is the name under which Dave Edwards records and performs, having released the debut album Scratched Surface back in 1998. He's certainly been busy since then; I think I counted around 40 releases listed on his website.
Read More...
King Cruel - EP Review: Creeper
22 Dec 2023 // by Peter K Malthus
Creeper is the debut EP from King Cruel, a 'Psychedelic Stoner Doom Metal' trio from Auckland. According to Encyclopaedia Metallum, the line up consists of Evan Cooper on drums, Josh Hodgson on guitars, and Luke Oram on vocals.
Read More...
Hecates Cult - Album Review: The Path Of Night
14 Dec 2023 // by Peter K Malthus
The Path Of Night by Otautahi Christchurch band Hecate's Cult was recorded, mixed, and mastered by the utter weapons at Audioganic Studios, and it's pretty easy to see why so many local artists are queuing up to have them do the same. Hecate's Cult are a bare-bones three piece, with no backing vocals, backing tracks, samples, or anything other than the sounds produced by drums, a bass, a guitar, and a voice.
Read More...
Gig Review: Zed @ The Church, Christchurch - 8/12/2023
11 Dec 2023 // by Peter K Malthus
Zed are back! 23 years after the release of their triple-platinum, number one debut album Silencer, they have finally returned, after a couple of teaser reunions over the years.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter K Malthus

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • LIKE THAT
    Future And Metro Boomin feat. Kendrick Lamar
  • END OF BEGINNING
    Djo
  • I LIKE THE WAY YOU KISS ME
    Artemas
  • WE CAN'T BE FRIENDS (WAIT FOR YOUR LOVE)
    Ariana Grande
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • TEXAS HOLD 'EM
    Beyonce
  • LEAVEMEALONE
    Fred Again.. And Baby Keem
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem