16 Jul 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Kaylee Bell - Gig Review: Kaylee Bell @ James Hay Theatre, Christchurch - 7/05/2023

09 May 2023 // A review by Peter K Malthus

I had a fantastic seat for this show, smack bang in the middle and a few rows back from the front. Absolutely perfect spot for viewing and listening. Being a chap who's not only attended, but also played, plenty of rock/metal/punk shows, I was surprised and intrigued (and not a little bit miffed) by the lack of amplifiers and other accoutrements onstage (I'm a guitar nerd and love geeking out over that stuff). However the size of the PA system, the clouds languidly rolling over the stage from the smoke machine, and the well-positioned lights made it clear that this was going to be a show worth watching.

First up was rising star Cassie Henderson. This was my first experience of Cassie, and she was slick and professional from the get-go. Strong and confident onstage, utterly in her element, she swiftly had the capacity crowd hanging on every word. I'm someone who has physical and strong emotional reactions to music. Cassie's second song was a new one, and full of attitude. When she really opened up her superbly pitched voice, I had goosebumps, and was close to tears. I adore listening to excellent singers, and that's precisely what Cassie is. She had the whole crowd with her, as she covered the song Mean by her hero and inspiration Taylor Swift. A short but sweet set saw Cassie leaving the stage to well-deserved rapturous applause.

After a brief intermission, it was time for Kaylee Bell. She and her band (Corban Kuhtze (drums), Trevor Warman (bass) and Aaron Prictor (guitar) took to the stage adorned in all-white outfits with tiny splashes of colour, Kaylee herself in a custom made suit. My guitar nerd leanings were satiated, matching white Fender Telecasters and Precision bass making me unashamedly drool with envy. Kaylee ably displayed every bit of her consummate professionalism. Kaylee's band were tight and solid, tasty and subdued. The lead guitarist was an especially lovely player, I really dug his solos, and he also had an excellent singing voice. The bass player and drummer were all smiles and energy.

However it was Kaylee we were there to see. Man, I'm so glad I got to go to this show, it was a privilege and a treat. The entire crowd clearly adored her. Kaylee hails from the small Canterbury town of Waimate... and, so do I. I actually did nostalgically tear up a little when she spoke of, and then sung about my birthplace, and she won my heart forever in that moment. Every second of that show was delivered flawlessly, with passion and joy. Kaylee and her band are clearly very comfortable together, and they all seemed to be having a great old time. By the end of the show, I was up dancing with everyone else. However, I'm not sure what I was doing when Kaylee issued instructions for the dance moves to her hit song Boots 'n All, but I obviously wasn't listening. Everyone managed to quite happily follow along, apart from one black-clad tattooed dork who wasn't paying enough attention.

Kaylee, your show was top-notch, your band was superb, and it was fantastic to see a fellow Waimo doing so extremely well. I hope I get to see you play again, sometime. Thank you for having me.


Photo Credit: Alec Huisman
Photos are from Kaylee Bell's first Christchurch show on 6 May


Kaylee Bell Photo GalleryCassie Henderson Photo Gallery

 

About Kaylee Bell

Kaylee Bell is an artist who has already proven her international appeal having won over fans in her homeland of New Zealand and now doing likewise in Australia. Testament to this is her Gold Guitar - New Zealand’s highest accolade for country music - and her most recent crowning glory as Australia’s 2013 Toyota Star Maker.

Following her experience at the CMAA College of Country Music in 2009, 24-year-old Kaylee, from the little town of Waimate on New Zealand’s South Island, went home and set about making plans to “cross the Ditch” and carve out a career for herself.

In 2011, she did just that and, on completion of a Bachelor in Performing Arts majoring in musical theatre, in Christchurch, packed up her life and headed solo to Australia for the pursuit of success.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Kaylee Bell

Releases

Silver Linings
Year: 2021
Type: Album
Heart First
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Wayward
Year: 2010
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Peter K Malthus

Silk Cut - Album Review: Silk Cut
02 Jul 2024 // by Peter K Malthus
Having already released two EPs, and then followed up with full length album Our Place In The Stars, Silk Cut have returned to titillate your earholes with a brand new, self-titled album. The line-up of two guitars, bass, and drums also has shared lead vocals, and delivers a heady blend of 60's psychedelia and 90's guitar-based pop/rock.
Read More...
Cherry Slits - EP Review: Cherry Slits Are Back
01 Jul 2024 // by Peter K Malthus
So, there's a wee bit of a story to go with this one, and it's been a lot of fun to review. Nicola Cheeseman Is Back is a new play by Kathryn Burnett, detailing the story of a 50 year old woman having a midlife crisis, who decides to get her '80s punk band, Cherry Slits, back together.
Read More...
Marsha - Album Review: In Circles
01 Jul 2024 // by Peter K Malthus
Marsha hail from my hometown of Christchurch, and I'm a tad ashamed to say I hadn't actually heard them up until now, but I'd heard many good things about them. In Circles is their debut album, containing some previously released singles, and has been in the works since 2021, and all the painstaking care that was put into its creation is evident in every note of every song.
Read More...
Album Review: The Trials And Tribulations Of Miss French Part Two
21 Jun 2024 // by Peter K Malthus
Miss French is the performing name of Julie Foai, who spent 20 years touring the world with South Pacific band Te Vaka, and managed them into securing a contract with Walt Disney Pictures. Having released her debut solo album in 2016, The Trials And Tribulations Of Miss French, Pt.
Read More...
Taveets - EP Review: WINT/HER
21 Jun 2024 // by Peter K Malthus
Taveets has been steadily releasing singles and EPs since 2019, including 2023's Balcony Nights EP which could almost be considered album length at seven songs. The Wellington-born and raised Samoan/Futuan artist/rapper has just released his latest HipHop/RnB offering, WINT/HER, the five songs looking at love and relationships from different angles, and in different moods.
Read More...
Dónal Gunning - EP Review: Born To Perform
13 Jun 2024 // by Peter K Malthus
Dónal Gunning's travels, since leaving his native Ireland, have seen him eventually relocate to Wellington, where he has been regularly gigging as a solo artist, and with backing band The Bucks. The Bucks are comprised of a collective of Wellington session musicians and have also accompanied Dónal on two north Island tours, delivering fun and energetic shows.
Read More...
Gig Review: Carb On Carb @ Space Academy, Christchurch - 08/06/2024
10 Jun 2024 // by Peter K Malthus
Carb On Carb are currently on a tour of Australia and New Zealand, which will see them perform five dates in each country. Touring is right at the heart and soul of their drive as a band, having seen them perform extensively throughout New Zealand, Australia, Asia, and the USA.
Read More...
Big Sima - EP Review: Early In The Peace
06 Jun 2024 // by Peter K Malthus
The Underground King, AKA Big Sima, has just released a new EP in collaboration with Boomtown, a follow-up to 2022's full length album, Stereotypes Of A Polynesian Misunderstood. Big Sima has been relentlessly busy making a name for himself over the last few years, and that work ethic has seen him win support slots for Busta Rhymes, Bone Thugs 'n’ Harmony, Guru (Gangstarr), Mobb Deep and Cypress Hill.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter K Malthus

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • BIRDS OF A FEATHER
    Billie Eilish
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • DEVIL IS A LIE
    Tommy Richman
  • GOOD LUCK, BABE!
    Chappell Roan
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem