22 Jun 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Husband Material - Single Review: Raindrop

04 May 2023 // A review by Kev Rowland

Auckland jazz trio Husband Material have their debut album coming out later this year, and prior to that they have released the single Raindrop to give us a taste of what is to come. Although the three of them all play multiple instruments, this sounds very much like a live recording with minor overdubs, which does somewhat restrict that aspect, so we have Ayden Geerligs (bass) Levi de Lisle (drums) and Noah Chitty (vocals, piano, keyboards). This is jazz which in many ways is pre-Golden Age, back when everything was taken slowly with no need to rush everywhere. It is music which demands to be played on headphones late at night, not during the day as background music, but instead when one has the opportunity to relax into it. 

Noah’s vocals slide around the note, giving their sound a certain relaxed style which is very pleasant indeed and the result alongside the piano-led accompaniment and gentle rhythm section definitely works. But, and it was fairly obvious there was one coming, no matter how good the song is I firmly believe it needs an ending and just fading it out is never the right approach. This has been released as a single, and I presume they are gigging, so therefore they are going to play it and do they expect the live engineer to just drop the volume? That does somewhat spoil what is a very pleasant jazz number with just a hint of blues, but I am still looking forward to hearing the album.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Husband Material

Local Tamaki Makaurau act Husband Material are a blend of Jazz smoother than whipped cream, Lounge that will take you back to sinking into that couch by the fire on a cold winter's night, and sunshine Pop so bright you will feel the warmth of the sun radiating straight into your soul, so much so that your heartstrings will be playing along with us.

With our very satisfied wives (whom we cherish deeply) encouraging us to show our music, and the wee kiddies looked after by our neighbour's kid, (we aim to help nourish experience and life skills in our community) they are here to show you their original music. With an EP on its way, listeners will have a sneak peek into the chillest vibrations known to mankind


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Husband Material

Releases

There are no releases to display for Husband Material.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Crushfest @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 07/07/2023
07 Jul 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was down to Tuning Fork for the first night of the second Crushfest festival. Tonight was going to be Wellington and Auckland bands, and then some of the same will be playing at the second night in Wellington next month.
Read More...
Rain - Single Review: Love and War
15 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It has been quite a while since I last heard from Wellington-based singer songwriter Cathy Elizabeth, and back then Rain was seen solely as a studio project with Cathy being accompanied by Thomas Te Taite, who provided all the instrumentation including digital drums. Now they are a full band who have been performing live, and it is the first time they have recorded as such, with Thomas now, just providing acoustic guitar (plus engineering and producing etc.
Read More...
Lost Vessels - Single Review: All This Time
01 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I was not that impressed when I first saw Lost Vessels play at Crushfest, something they later admitted to me was the worst gig of their career, but since then they have improved in leaps and bounds. This has been noticed by others on the Auckland circuit as they are getting more opportunities with better support slots, and I was not at all surprised when they won the Ding Dong Lounge Battle Of The Bands in November last year.
Read More...
Unwanted Subject - Single Review: Sons of Savages
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I have caught Unwanted Subject in concert a few times over the last couple of years, and while they have been getting better each time I have seen them, I must admit that nothing prepared me for this, which right from the off is a monster. I have never heard them quite this is aggressive, nor as polished, and this multi-sectioned single sounds almost like a different band as they have pushed their metal roots to the max in this metalcore beast which sees them mixing and blending different genres to create something quite special.
Read More...
Gig Review: Stray Dogs @ AUX, Auckland - 26/05/2023
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to Ding Dong Lounge on a Friday night for one of their infamous Emo nights, which tonight was a three-band bill with Stray Dogs having an extended set, supported by Altaea and then up first we had Blindr, a band new to me. Blindr are a quartet featuring Bill Caldwell (vocals, guitar), Blake Woodfield (lead guitar), Jack Power (bass), and Charlie McCracken (drums).
Read More...
Gig Review: Turkey The Bird @ The Ministry of Folk, Auckland - 27/05/2023
27 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back up to Auckland Guide Centre in Mount Eden tonight for my second consecutive gig (Sol suggested it was a turkey sandwich as I am at Vader tomorrow) to see Taranaki’s finest, Turkey The Bird at The Ministry of Folk. Before that we of course had Hoop, who are Al Baxter (vocals, guitar, harmonica, banjo, mandolin), Nick Edgar (vocals, guitar, ukulele, flute, harmonica), Emily Allen (violin, viola), Glenn Coldham (bass) while tonight Gary Hunt was filling in for drummer Rusty Knox.
Read More...
This Silent Divide - Single Review: Beautiful Creature
25 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based melodic hard rock quartet This Silent Divide, entitled Beautiful Creature. I really enjoyed their Tall Stories EP, and they played a great gig at Dead Witch towards the end of last year, and this would have been recorded at about the same time.
Read More...
Gig Review: Emily Rice @ Your Local Coffee Roasters, Pukekohe - 24/05/2023
24 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this week I had a message from Emily Rice asking me if I lived in South Auckland. When I responded I did, she asked if I would be interested in coming along to an event she was putting on in a coffee shop in Pukekohe to celebrate the release of her new single, Warenoa.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • HOUDINI
    Eminem
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • BIRDS OF A FEATHER
    Billie Eilish
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • I HAD SOME HELP
    Post Malone feat. Morgan Wallen
  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem