18 Apr 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Tom Knowles - Single/Video Review: My People

01 May 2023 // A review by Kev Rowland
It does not take very much to recognise one of Tom Knowles’ main inspirations, as this has the stamp of Troy Kingi all over it, although one must say this is delivered with a much broader sense of humour. It is interesting to hear just how light-hearted this is, as the chorus has “My People Once Were Warriors”, a reference to what is widely regarded as the finest New Zealand film ever made, a violent and incredibly disturbing movie which included Cliff Curtis amongst its cast. The song is reggae lite, with a smooth pop hook, and is incredibly infectious so that when listening to it the only thing to do is to sway along with the groove and sing.

However, although there are some wonderfully serious touches and nuances within, some of the keyboard sounds are deliberately quite dated, and I am not sure the last time I heard a kazoo solo anywhere (possibly The Axis of Awesome?). The video follows a similar theme, filmed in dramatic black and white, starring the tamariki of Bohally Intermediate School Kapa Haka group, along with Tom performing either seriously or to get a rise out of the watcher.

"I wrote this song to celebrate my people and their strength, resilience, and our whakapapa," Tom said. "I want to inspire others to connect with their cultural roots, and to find pride and joy in who they are and where they come from." Certainly, “joy” is a great way to describe this song which I thoroughly enjoyed, and I am sure many others will as well.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Tom Knowles

Tom Knowles is an all ages, multi instrumentalist, actor and singer- songwriter from Aotearoa, more recently blending his unique style of reggae with elements of pop and rock to create a sound that is both captivating and authentic. Epic layers of harmony, walls of sound, silky smooth baselines, smokey vocals catchy ear worm hooks and plush percussion will have you bopping, moving and grooving.

He has featured in numerous films and television shows, and he has performed at some of the world's most exciting venues and festivals, including the Darwin Arts Festival, the San Diego Fringe festival, with an Orchestra at Covent Garden In London, he has toured to Mexico, and was part of the headlining act for the Big Gay Out, NZ Cabaret Festival and the Cubadupa festivals in New Zealand.

Knowles has also received critical acclaim for his work, with reviewers praising his ability to craft thoughtful and emotionally resonant songs that connect with audiences of all ages and highlight what it is to be human.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Tom Knowles

Releases

Atarangi: Morning Sky
Year: 2023
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Crushfest @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 07/07/2023
07 Jul 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was down to Tuning Fork for the first night of the second Crushfest festival. Tonight was going to be Wellington and Auckland bands, and then some of the same will be playing at the second night in Wellington next month.
Read More...
Rain - Single Review: Love and War
15 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It has been quite a while since I last heard from Wellington-based singer songwriter Cathy Elizabeth, and back then Rain was seen solely as a studio project with Cathy being accompanied by Thomas Te Taite, who provided all the instrumentation including digital drums. Now they are a full band who have been performing live, and it is the first time they have recorded as such, with Thomas now, just providing acoustic guitar (plus engineering and producing etc.
Read More...
Lost Vessels - Single Review: All This Time
01 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I was not that impressed when I first saw Lost Vessels play at Crushfest, something they later admitted to me was the worst gig of their career, but since then they have improved in leaps and bounds. This has been noticed by others on the Auckland circuit as they are getting more opportunities with better support slots, and I was not at all surprised when they won the Ding Dong Lounge Battle Of The Bands in November last year.
Read More...
Unwanted Subject - Single Review: Sons of Savages
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I have caught Unwanted Subject in concert a few times over the last couple of years, and while they have been getting better each time I have seen them, I must admit that nothing prepared me for this, which right from the off is a monster. I have never heard them quite this is aggressive, nor as polished, and this multi-sectioned single sounds almost like a different band as they have pushed their metal roots to the max in this metalcore beast which sees them mixing and blending different genres to create something quite special.
Read More...
Gig Review: Stray Dogs @ AUX, Auckland - 26/05/2023
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to Ding Dong Lounge on a Friday night for one of their infamous Emo nights, which tonight was a three-band bill with Stray Dogs having an extended set, supported by Altaea and then up first we had Blindr, a band new to me. Blindr are a quartet featuring Bill Caldwell (vocals, guitar), Blake Woodfield (lead guitar), Jack Power (bass), and Charlie McCracken (drums).
Read More...
Gig Review: Turkey The Bird @ The Ministry of Folk, Auckland - 27/05/2023
27 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back up to Auckland Guide Centre in Mount Eden tonight for my second consecutive gig (Sol suggested it was a turkey sandwich as I am at Vader tomorrow) to see Taranaki’s finest, Turkey The Bird at The Ministry of Folk. Before that we of course had Hoop, who are Al Baxter (vocals, guitar, harmonica, banjo, mandolin), Nick Edgar (vocals, guitar, ukulele, flute, harmonica), Emily Allen (violin, viola), Glenn Coldham (bass) while tonight Gary Hunt was filling in for drummer Rusty Knox.
Read More...
This Silent Divide - Single Review: Beautiful Creature
25 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based melodic hard rock quartet This Silent Divide, entitled Beautiful Creature. I really enjoyed their Tall Stories EP, and they played a great gig at Dead Witch towards the end of last year, and this would have been recorded at about the same time.
Read More...
Gig Review: Emily Rice @ Your Local Coffee Roasters, Pukekohe - 24/05/2023
24 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this week I had a message from Emily Rice asking me if I lived in South Auckland. When I responded I did, she asked if I would be interested in coming along to an event she was putting on in a coffee shop in Pukekohe to celebrate the release of her new single, Warenoa.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • LIKE THAT
    Future And Metro Boomin feat. Kendrick Lamar
  • END OF BEGINNING
    Djo
  • I LIKE THE WAY YOU KISS ME
    Artemas
  • WE CAN'T BE FRIENDS (WAIT FOR YOUR LOVE)
    Ariana Grande
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • TEXAS HOLD 'EM
    Beyonce
  • LEAVEMEALONE
    Fred Again.. And Baby Keem
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem