19 May 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Boondocks - Single Review: Alone

20 Apr 2023 // A review by Kev Rowland

Here we have the debut single from The Boondocks, a young rock duo I have caught live a few times over the last six months or so and who made it through to the final of the Ding Dong Lounge Battle of the Bands towards the end of last year. Comprising Scott Parker (bass, vocals) and Brandon Pritchard (drums), they have an unusual approach in that Scott puts his bass through a pedal board which allows himself to create a thick guitar sound when he wishes, so they often sound more like a trio than a duo, crunching the riffs, but also mixing it up so that we get different layers of sound, quite different to many of the other duos on the circuit as he is playing a bass and coming to a guitar sound from that level, as opposed to playing guitar directly.

In some ways this approach is quite reminiscent of Motörhead and Lemmy’s approach to the bass, although here it is far more melodic and not as brutally heavy, with a commercial and hook element to their songs. While Scott is doing the melodic work, he is more than ably supported by Brandon who is has an all-encompassing approach to drums, and while this is a new band and the guys are both young, Brandon has undertaken plenty of live work with Channeled, who also made it through to the finals of the same event. I recognise this number from the times I have seen them play, and producer Scoot Seabright has captured the vitality of the band and added a touch of smoothness while not losing any of the power. Crunchy, filthy, and quite stoner in attitude, this is a solid debut.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About The Boondocks

The Boondocks are a fresh, keen, two-piece rock act from Auckland’s Awhitu Peninsula, combining the vocal and bass talents of Scott Parker, with the kit-crunching stamina of Branden Pritchard.

Since starting in 2022, The duo has been dominating the New Zealand rock scene with their signature sound, unmatched live shows, featuring energetic hard-rock riffs and catchy melodies.

They have quickly become one of the country's fastest-growing bands, captivating audiences and inspiring a new wave of music enthusiasts. They pride themselves on their reputation for being one of the hardest-working acts in the local talent pool. They are ambitious and eager to show that they are New Zealand’s smallest, loudest rock band.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Boondocks

Releases

The Boondocks
Year: 2024
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Crushfest @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 07/07/2023
07 Jul 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was down to Tuning Fork for the first night of the second Crushfest festival. Tonight was going to be Wellington and Auckland bands, and then some of the same will be playing at the second night in Wellington next month.
Read More...
Rain - Single Review: Love and War
15 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It has been quite a while since I last heard from Wellington-based singer songwriter Cathy Elizabeth, and back then Rain was seen solely as a studio project with Cathy being accompanied by Thomas Te Taite, who provided all the instrumentation including digital drums. Now they are a full band who have been performing live, and it is the first time they have recorded as such, with Thomas now, just providing acoustic guitar (plus engineering and producing etc.
Read More...
Lost Vessels - Single Review: All This Time
01 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I was not that impressed when I first saw Lost Vessels play at Crushfest, something they later admitted to me was the worst gig of their career, but since then they have improved in leaps and bounds. This has been noticed by others on the Auckland circuit as they are getting more opportunities with better support slots, and I was not at all surprised when they won the Ding Dong Lounge Battle Of The Bands in November last year.
Read More...
Unwanted Subject - Single Review: Sons of Savages
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I have caught Unwanted Subject in concert a few times over the last couple of years, and while they have been getting better each time I have seen them, I must admit that nothing prepared me for this, which right from the off is a monster. I have never heard them quite this is aggressive, nor as polished, and this multi-sectioned single sounds almost like a different band as they have pushed their metal roots to the max in this metalcore beast which sees them mixing and blending different genres to create something quite special.
Read More...
Gig Review: Stray Dogs @ AUX, Auckland - 26/05/2023
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to Ding Dong Lounge on a Friday night for one of their infamous Emo nights, which tonight was a three-band bill with Stray Dogs having an extended set, supported by Altaea and then up first we had Blindr, a band new to me. Blindr are a quartet featuring Bill Caldwell (vocals, guitar), Blake Woodfield (lead guitar), Jack Power (bass), and Charlie McCracken (drums).
Read More...
Gig Review: Turkey The Bird @ The Ministry of Folk, Auckland - 27/05/2023
27 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back up to Auckland Guide Centre in Mount Eden tonight for my second consecutive gig (Sol suggested it was a turkey sandwich as I am at Vader tomorrow) to see Taranaki’s finest, Turkey The Bird at The Ministry of Folk. Before that we of course had Hoop, who are Al Baxter (vocals, guitar, harmonica, banjo, mandolin), Nick Edgar (vocals, guitar, ukulele, flute, harmonica), Emily Allen (violin, viola), Glenn Coldham (bass) while tonight Gary Hunt was filling in for drummer Rusty Knox.
Read More...
This Silent Divide - Single Review: Beautiful Creature
25 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based melodic hard rock quartet This Silent Divide, entitled Beautiful Creature. I really enjoyed their Tall Stories EP, and they played a great gig at Dead Witch towards the end of last year, and this would have been recorded at about the same time.
Read More...
Gig Review: Emily Rice @ Your Local Coffee Roasters, Pukekohe - 24/05/2023
24 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this week I had a message from Emily Rice asking me if I lived in South Auckland. When I responded I did, she asked if I would be interested in coming along to an event she was putting on in a coffee shop in Pukekohe to celebrate the release of her new single, Warenoa.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • I HAD SOME HELP
    Post Malone feat. Morgan Wallen
  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • FORTNIGHT
    Taylor Swift feat. Post Malone
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • I LIKE THE WAY YOU KISS ME
    Artemas
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem