25 Jun 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Villainy - Gig Review: Villainy @ Trust Stadium, Auckland - 18/04/2023

18 Apr 2023 // A review by Kev Rowland

So, a school night found me making my way out to Trusts for the first time in many years – in fact, I think the last time I was here was when Slipknot played, supported by Machine Head. Tonight, we were seeing Papa Roach and The Used, who originally were not supposed to be playing in NZ at all, but there was such a clamour from fans wanting to see the tour which was only organized for Aus that in the end the bands arranged their own one-night-only gig in Auckland. This meant people had come from all over the country for this, and the bands had made it an all-ages gig which meant it was going to kick off tonight with doors at 5:30pm and first band at 6:30pm, and what a first band it is.

Villainy were on fire at Homegrown last month, so to see them again so soon afterwards is a real treat, there was no way I was going to miss this one. Their backdrop was high and proud at the rear of the stage, and I knew we were soon going to be rocked into a party as Neill Fraser (vocals, guitar), Dave Johnston (drums, backing vocals), James Dylan (bass) and Thomas Watts (guitar) know no other way to play and always give fans what they want. A beat heralded their entrance, Neill told everyone who they were and then crunched the riff as we went into Raised In The Dark. We were then into this pop rock monster with a band who are incredibly confident in playing a stage this size, and looking at the crowd, there was no doubt they were making an impact right from the off (even if it is way too early to be watching a band of this quality). Then we were straight into the crunching staccato monster which is Safe Passage, with Neill switching between melodic vocals, screams and falsetto with ease, all the time with the beat being created by drums, guitars and bass in perfect harmony. Beggar is a song which tends to confuse people as do you dance to it or headbang? I think the answer is to do whatever you want as Villainy are in the house and having a blast, and that they are mixing so any styles in one song just shows what a great band they are and certainly all the crowd were paying close attention to what was taking place in front of them.

The filthiest bass imaginable could only mean one thing, we were heading into Alligator Skin, which got some cheers of recognition. How Dave can hit the high notes while punching the kit is quite remarkable, but he is the perfect foil to Neill, providing wonderful harmonies. From this they went into Tiny Little Island, a song I have been playing on repeat since Homegrown as it has just installed itself in my brain. I’m not the only one, as the crowd quite happily sang the chorus a few times with Neill conducting. Thomas gently started the next one, then we were into the slow groove which is Dreams, which soon had people swaying and dancing along. This is one of their slowest and heaviest songs, with more than a hint of doom alongside the melody, and those at the front had their arms in the air clapping along. Then they totally switched the tempo as we went into The Launch, one of their fastest, and it was great to see they were being given full use of the lighting rig so kudos to Papa Roach for letting that happen, as it isn’t always the case with support acts. They had also been given a fair time for their set, and even though it was a cutdown version of what they played at Homegrown, it still gave them plenty of time to get the crowd loosened up. They ended with IFXS, which of course had Neill running around the stage while he was screaming.

I am sure seeing Villainy was a new experience for some of the people in the crowd, yet by the end they would have been converts with the audience pressed up against the stage as Neill stood on the edge and then got everyone to get down on the floor, until the count of four when everyone started jumping up and down like mad. There may not have been any Villainy balloons or appearance of a dinghy, but yet again these guys played like headliners. What a start to the night.


Photo Credit: Chris Morgan / Morgan Creative
View the full gallery here

 

About Villainy

Villainy
vill·uh·nee /?vil?nç/
Noun: 1. The actions or conduct of a villain; outrageous wickedness.
2. Maniacal rock band from Auckland, New Zealand.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Villainy

Releases

Dead Sides (The Lost EP)
Year: 2021
Type: EP
Beggar
Year: 2020
Type: EP
Raised In The Dark
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Dead Sight
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Mode. Set. Clear.
Year: 2012
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Crushfest @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 07/07/2023
07 Jul 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was down to Tuning Fork for the first night of the second Crushfest festival. Tonight was going to be Wellington and Auckland bands, and then some of the same will be playing at the second night in Wellington next month.
Read More...
Rain - Single Review: Love and War
15 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It has been quite a while since I last heard from Wellington-based singer songwriter Cathy Elizabeth, and back then Rain was seen solely as a studio project with Cathy being accompanied by Thomas Te Taite, who provided all the instrumentation including digital drums. Now they are a full band who have been performing live, and it is the first time they have recorded as such, with Thomas now, just providing acoustic guitar (plus engineering and producing etc.
Read More...
Lost Vessels - Single Review: All This Time
01 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I was not that impressed when I first saw Lost Vessels play at Crushfest, something they later admitted to me was the worst gig of their career, but since then they have improved in leaps and bounds. This has been noticed by others on the Auckland circuit as they are getting more opportunities with better support slots, and I was not at all surprised when they won the Ding Dong Lounge Battle Of The Bands in November last year.
Read More...
Unwanted Subject - Single Review: Sons of Savages
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I have caught Unwanted Subject in concert a few times over the last couple of years, and while they have been getting better each time I have seen them, I must admit that nothing prepared me for this, which right from the off is a monster. I have never heard them quite this is aggressive, nor as polished, and this multi-sectioned single sounds almost like a different band as they have pushed their metal roots to the max in this metalcore beast which sees them mixing and blending different genres to create something quite special.
Read More...
Gig Review: Stray Dogs @ AUX, Auckland - 26/05/2023
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to Ding Dong Lounge on a Friday night for one of their infamous Emo nights, which tonight was a three-band bill with Stray Dogs having an extended set, supported by Altaea and then up first we had Blindr, a band new to me. Blindr are a quartet featuring Bill Caldwell (vocals, guitar), Blake Woodfield (lead guitar), Jack Power (bass), and Charlie McCracken (drums).
Read More...
Gig Review: Turkey The Bird @ The Ministry of Folk, Auckland - 27/05/2023
27 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back up to Auckland Guide Centre in Mount Eden tonight for my second consecutive gig (Sol suggested it was a turkey sandwich as I am at Vader tomorrow) to see Taranaki’s finest, Turkey The Bird at The Ministry of Folk. Before that we of course had Hoop, who are Al Baxter (vocals, guitar, harmonica, banjo, mandolin), Nick Edgar (vocals, guitar, ukulele, flute, harmonica), Emily Allen (violin, viola), Glenn Coldham (bass) while tonight Gary Hunt was filling in for drummer Rusty Knox.
Read More...
This Silent Divide - Single Review: Beautiful Creature
25 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based melodic hard rock quartet This Silent Divide, entitled Beautiful Creature. I really enjoyed their Tall Stories EP, and they played a great gig at Dead Witch towards the end of last year, and this would have been recorded at about the same time.
Read More...
Gig Review: Emily Rice @ Your Local Coffee Roasters, Pukekohe - 24/05/2023
24 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this week I had a message from Emily Rice asking me if I lived in South Auckland. When I responded I did, she asked if I would be interested in coming along to an event she was putting on in a coffee shop in Pukekohe to celebrate the release of her new single, Warenoa.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • HOUDINI
    Eminem
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • BIRDS OF A FEATHER
    Billie Eilish
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • I HAD SOME HELP
    Post Malone feat. Morgan Wallen
  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem