18 Apr 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Somebody Do Something - Album Review: As Rome Burns

13 Apr 2023 // A review by Kev Rowland

Here we have the debut album A Rome Burns from Otautahi/Christchurch based six-piece Somebody Do Something, who describe their music as pop-funk-dance with some influences of reggae, rock and jazz, except they somewhat understate this. Comprising of Grace Stainthorpe (violin and backing vocals), Ash Perry (drums), Marlee Fay (vocals), Austyn Mills (bass and backing vocals), Wilson Reveley (saxophone), and Callum Margetts (guitar and backing vocals), we have a band who are creating a true melting pot of genre-bending music which changes as they work through the different songs on the album. There is no doubt that these guys have all been playing for some time, even though this group was only formed in 2020, as this  is packed full of the relaxation which only comes from musicians who really know what they are doing.

It is unusual for any band to include both violin and sax in their line-up, as they often pull the music in different directions, but here they carry it off with ease combining when the time is right and taking a back step the rest of the time. Musically the band rely greatly on the rhythm section to often carry the melody, with guitar also being used sparingly for effect, with some nice bass pops and runs which are wonderfully fluid and a drummer who keeps it and tight and never overplays. It is hard to say which genre they mostly base their music in, but jazz is probably the most accurate fit although they also layer in Amy Winehouse-style pop, and we get touches of funk and soul in other places as well while they can also rock a little when they want to (as in the intro to Jack Who Shocked The Nation). What allows them to move around so much are the vocals of American-born Marlee Fay who apparently has followed music from Los Angeles to Italy, Japan, Australia and now Aotearoa. She can sing sweetly in a pop style, or happily throw her vocals around in jazz with some delicious lifts, and whatever arrangement is behind her she makes it her own.

Apparently, these guys have been touring up and down the country since they formed, and I need to keep a weather eye on what is going on as hopefully I can then catch them the next time they are up in Tamaki Makaurau as a band as hot as this, with songs this good, are guaranteed to be a great time.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Somebody Do Something

Formed just after the pandemic struck the world in 2020, Somebody Do Something are a 6-piece RnB meets indie-rock band from Otautahi Christchurch. The bands discography features a range of upbeat, melodic, rich and palatable songs, with a dancey and fun sound that is guaranteed to get the crowd moving.

Hailing from Portland, Oregon, front-woman Marlee Fay has followed music from Los Angeles to Italy, Japan, Australia and now landing in Aotearoa. Joining with fellow band members who have also performed worldwide in an array of endeavours from the UK to South America. The band's artistic backgrounds range from pop, jazz, metal, rock and classical, bringing together their diverse array of musical experience into the soundscape of Somebody Do Something.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Somebody Do Something

Releases

As Rome Burns
Year: 2023
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Crushfest @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 07/07/2023
07 Jul 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was down to Tuning Fork for the first night of the second Crushfest festival. Tonight was going to be Wellington and Auckland bands, and then some of the same will be playing at the second night in Wellington next month.
Read More...
Rain - Single Review: Love and War
15 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It has been quite a while since I last heard from Wellington-based singer songwriter Cathy Elizabeth, and back then Rain was seen solely as a studio project with Cathy being accompanied by Thomas Te Taite, who provided all the instrumentation including digital drums. Now they are a full band who have been performing live, and it is the first time they have recorded as such, with Thomas now, just providing acoustic guitar (plus engineering and producing etc.
Read More...
Lost Vessels - Single Review: All This Time
01 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I was not that impressed when I first saw Lost Vessels play at Crushfest, something they later admitted to me was the worst gig of their career, but since then they have improved in leaps and bounds. This has been noticed by others on the Auckland circuit as they are getting more opportunities with better support slots, and I was not at all surprised when they won the Ding Dong Lounge Battle Of The Bands in November last year.
Read More...
Unwanted Subject - Single Review: Sons of Savages
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I have caught Unwanted Subject in concert a few times over the last couple of years, and while they have been getting better each time I have seen them, I must admit that nothing prepared me for this, which right from the off is a monster. I have never heard them quite this is aggressive, nor as polished, and this multi-sectioned single sounds almost like a different band as they have pushed their metal roots to the max in this metalcore beast which sees them mixing and blending different genres to create something quite special.
Read More...
Gig Review: Stray Dogs @ AUX, Auckland - 26/05/2023
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to Ding Dong Lounge on a Friday night for one of their infamous Emo nights, which tonight was a three-band bill with Stray Dogs having an extended set, supported by Altaea and then up first we had Blindr, a band new to me. Blindr are a quartet featuring Bill Caldwell (vocals, guitar), Blake Woodfield (lead guitar), Jack Power (bass), and Charlie McCracken (drums).
Read More...
Gig Review: Turkey The Bird @ The Ministry of Folk, Auckland - 27/05/2023
27 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back up to Auckland Guide Centre in Mount Eden tonight for my second consecutive gig (Sol suggested it was a turkey sandwich as I am at Vader tomorrow) to see Taranaki’s finest, Turkey The Bird at The Ministry of Folk. Before that we of course had Hoop, who are Al Baxter (vocals, guitar, harmonica, banjo, mandolin), Nick Edgar (vocals, guitar, ukulele, flute, harmonica), Emily Allen (violin, viola), Glenn Coldham (bass) while tonight Gary Hunt was filling in for drummer Rusty Knox.
Read More...
This Silent Divide - Single Review: Beautiful Creature
25 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based melodic hard rock quartet This Silent Divide, entitled Beautiful Creature. I really enjoyed their Tall Stories EP, and they played a great gig at Dead Witch towards the end of last year, and this would have been recorded at about the same time.
Read More...
Gig Review: Emily Rice @ Your Local Coffee Roasters, Pukekohe - 24/05/2023
24 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this week I had a message from Emily Rice asking me if I lived in South Auckland. When I responded I did, she asked if I would be interested in coming along to an event she was putting on in a coffee shop in Pukekohe to celebrate the release of her new single, Warenoa.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • LIKE THAT
    Future And Metro Boomin feat. Kendrick Lamar
  • END OF BEGINNING
    Djo
  • I LIKE THE WAY YOU KISS ME
    Artemas
  • WE CAN'T BE FRIENDS (WAIT FOR YOUR LOVE)
    Ariana Grande
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • TEXAS HOLD 'EM
    Beyonce
  • LEAVEMEALONE
    Fred Again.. And Baby Keem
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem