10 Jun 2023

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

David Sutton - Album Review: Cat Food

11 Apr 2023 // A review by Peter K Malthus
I'd not heard any of David Sutton's previous releases, before being given this one to review. Which is surprising, given the impressive number of albums released, Cat Food being number ten. Reading through some previous reviews, I got the distinct impression that David has a broad and eclectic writing style, covering many genres, and Cat Food is no exception.

The first track is Psalm 136, a catchy, danceable little pop rock number, with David having drawn the lyrics from the namesake verse in the Bible. His joy in his faith is clear with this song, and the mood is buoyant and uplifting. Above The Clouds is up next, an almost Pink Floyd-esque track, a mellow and reflective song about relationships, with a lovely hook to the chorus.

Track three, Bird Of Prey is easily my favourite, with a distinctly 70's vibe, a song that would be a perfect addition to the soundtrack of The Sopranos, or some of Tarantino's earlier work, it's full of soulful swagger. Primsore is quite a change of tack from Bird Of Prey's grittiness, with violin, piano, acoustic guitar, and hand percussion providing the background for a beautiful vocal performance of multi-layered harmonies. This is also one of the tracks that really highlights David's musical prowess; he is credited on his artist page as playing guitar, drums, keyboards, violin, harmonica, tambourine, and vocals. The interplay between the violin and piano parts on Primsore creates a wonderfully slinky, swaying melody.

Hell To Pay juxtaposes an upbeat honky-tonk Rock n Roll feel with some rather dark lyrics, telling of a relationship deteriorating due to a drug habit. The lyrics are often harsh, without hiding behind metaphor, not one minced word among them.

The next track, Stale, has a poppy Country rock feel to the music, with the verse vocals more spoken than sung, expressing distaste for mandates from recent times. David makes his opinion quite clear on this track. Track seven is a slow-moving ballad, Strange being performed on guitar and keys, and with softly-sung vocals. Whilst it's an easy song to listen to, Strange meanders along on its pleasant little journey without really going anywhere.

Which brings us to the final track of the album, The Grand McLisky Ball. I found this one to be a surprising choice to include with the other seven tracks. The intention seems to be to sound like an old Scottish folk song, which is very dissimilar to the other tracks. The other seven tracks are also stylistically different from one another, but with a sense of commonality. The Grand McLisky Ball stands alone. It's a whimsical fantasy about a dapper young gent attending a ball at the ancestral family home The tale becomes more bizarre and fantastical as it goes on, including a fight with zombies. David also chose to affect a Scottish accent for this song, which also added to the sense of being out of place with the other tracks.

Overall, it's clear that David is an accomplished songwriter and a talented musician, and if his track record is anything to go by, we'll no doubt be hearing from him again soon.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )

About David Sutton

David writes and records songs.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for David Sutton


Cat Food
Year: 2023
Type: Album
Planet B
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Eternal Memory
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Upside-Down World
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Year: 2016
Type: Album
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Mr. Rainbow
Year: 2011
Type: Album
Year: 2009
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Peter K Malthus

Slimivich - Single Review: Grind
08 Jun 2023 // by Peter K Malthus
Slim Jenkins and Morgan Galloway of Slimivich are no newcomers to the NZ heavy music scene, having both previously played with legendary NZ Metal outfit Tainted. However, if you're looking for Tainted's inimitable Death Metal style, you can do that here, because this is something quite different.
Yaya and the Snakes - Album Review: The Whole Shebang
26 May 2023 // by Peter K Malthus
Yaya and the Snakes first caught my attention back in 2020, when they released the single I Lost My Kumara On The Side Of The Road. Very much my kind of thing, a quintessentially Kiwi tale, a gut-wrenching tale of tuber tragedy.
Dictaphone Blues - EP Review: Greetings From Glen Eden
26 May 2023 // by Peter K Malthus
This was a real treat, to get to listen to and review the latest release from Dictaphone Blues. Greetings From Glen Eden (and if you click on that handy-dandy link right there, you'll be whisked off to a magical portal where you can pay a mere NZ$5 for the entire EP!
Gig Review: The Titans Tour @ 12 Bar, Christchurch - 18/05/2023
21 May 2023 // by Peter K Malthus
12 Bar is one of many venues that Christchurch is fortunate to have, proud and passionate supporters of the local music scene. Upon entering its warmth from a slightly damp and cold evening, I found a well-stocked merch table, and had a nice catch up with a familiar face as I treated myself to bit of the selection of home-town heroes, Pieces Of Molly.
Boom! Boom! Deluxe! - Single/Video Review: Leopard Print
16 May 2023 // by Peter K Malthus
Sassy, saucy, spunky, style, spark, and swagger. My mind filled with all of those "S" words upon watching and listening to Leopard Print, the new single/video from Boom!
James Kohler - Single Review: Rhea
15 May 2023 // by Peter K Malthus
Rhea is the latest single from Auckland-based James Kohler, a seasoned practitioner of "prog-pop/indie psychedelia". Rhea tells the story of the eponymous protagonist's life working in a department store, but it isn't an especially positive story.
Gig Review: Devilskin @ Ngaio Marsh Theatre, Christchurch - 12/05/2023
14 May 2023 // by Peter K Malthus
Devilskin have an excellent reputation as not only one of New Zealand's hardest working bands, but also as genuinely lovely people. I will second that reputation, adamantly.
Gig Review: Kaylee Bell @ James Hay Theatre, Christchurch - 7/05/2023
09 May 2023 // by Peter K Malthus
I had a fantastic seat for this show, smack bang in the middle and a few rows back from the front. Absolutely perfect spot for viewing and listening.
View All Articles By Peter K Malthus

NZ Top 10 Singles

    Dave And Central Cee
    Fifty Fifty
    Morgan Wallen
    David Kushner
    Miley Cyrus
    Rema And Selena Gomez
    The Weeknd And Ariana Grande
    Lil Durk feat. J. Cole
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem