4 Oct 2023
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Kazia - Single Review: Seven Foot Wall

02 Apr 2023 // A review by Kev Rowland

Earlier this year I caught up with Kazia for the first time, a band which comprises people who are all involved in other outfits, so we have singer Phoebe Walsh (Brown Sugar Factory), drummer Oliver Prendergast (Strangely Arousing), bassist/flautist Michael Anderson (The Vibes) and keyboard player Michael Ligani (Big Tasty). Musically this is a group who are heavily into soul, jazz, pop and groove, and having seen both Strangely Arousing and Big Tasty in concert I can see how well those bands align with this one. Their new song Seven Foot Wall is packed full of lush arrangements, but there are also staccato elements which provide a nice amount of bite.

At the front is Phoebe, who has a wonderfully controlled vocal style, which has more than a little in common with Amy Winehouse, bring that pop elements to sit over the top. She provides cut through, and the structure of the chorus and its change in attack reminded me that when I saw these guys play, they covered Toto’s Georgy Porgy, as the chorus has far more in common with that style than the lush music we get the rest of the time. With a bass taking on a melodic role, and the keyboards being wonderfully layered, there is no room here for a guitar and it is never missed. The result is a wonderfully commercial, highly polished, single packed full of soul and I look forward to hearing more.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Kazia

Eclectic foursome Kazia composed of vocalist Phoebe Walsh (Brown Sugar Factory), drummer Oliver Prendegast (Strangely Arousing), bassist Michael Anderson (The Vibes) and Michael Ligani (Big Tasty) on the keys have diced together their divergent palates, and quietly simmered their creations to perfection ready to be served up to punters up and down the land of the long white cloud.

Combining the energy & experience of 4 musicians from widely different backgrounds Kazia is the long lost love child of their influences Bey, Amy Winehouse and Michael McDonald. Showcasing the powerful lead vocal of Phoebe Walsh, Kazia is driven by their delivery of emotional ballads and slick pop hooks over a modernized jazz feel.

Kazia’s namesake is in reference to the golden tree that blooms in late Spring throughout Southeast Asia. It’s flowers are said to bring joy and good fortune to all who are gifted them. Like the flowers, Kazia’s debut self titled EP captures their good fortune in studio working with talented producer Scott Seabright spanning a range of tracks from supercharged soulful ballads to mature pop sensibilities.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Kazia

Releases

There are no releases to display for Kazia.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Crushfest @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 07/07/2023
07 Jul 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was down to Tuning Fork for the first night of the second Crushfest festival. Tonight was going to be Wellington and Auckland bands, and then some of the same will be playing at the second night in Wellington next month.
Read More...
Rain - Single Review: Love and War
15 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It has been quite a while since I last heard from Wellington-based singer songwriter Cathy Elizabeth, and back then Rain was seen solely as a studio project with Cathy being accompanied by Thomas Te Taite, who provided all the instrumentation including digital drums. Now they are a full band who have been performing live, and it is the first time they have recorded as such, with Thomas now, just providing acoustic guitar (plus engineering and producing etc.
Read More...
Lost Vessels - Single Review: All This Time
01 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I was not that impressed when I first saw Lost Vessels play at Crushfest, something they later admitted to me was the worst gig of their career, but since then they have improved in leaps and bounds. This has been noticed by others on the Auckland circuit as they are getting more opportunities with better support slots, and I was not at all surprised when they won the Ding Dong Lounge Battle Of The Bands in November last year.
Read More...
Unwanted Subject - Single Review: Sons of Savages
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I have caught Unwanted Subject in concert a few times over the last couple of years, and while they have been getting better each time I have seen them, I must admit that nothing prepared me for this, which right from the off is a monster. I have never heard them quite this is aggressive, nor as polished, and this multi-sectioned single sounds almost like a different band as they have pushed their metal roots to the max in this metalcore beast which sees them mixing and blending different genres to create something quite special.
Read More...
Gig Review: Stray Dogs @ AUX, Auckland - 26/05/2023
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to Ding Dong Lounge on a Friday night for one of their infamous Emo nights, which tonight was a three-band bill with Stray Dogs having an extended set, supported by Altaea and then up first we had Blindr, a band new to me. Blindr are a quartet featuring Bill Caldwell (vocals, guitar), Blake Woodfield (lead guitar), Jack Power (bass), and Charlie McCracken (drums).
Read More...
Gig Review: Turkey The Bird @ The Ministry of Folk, Auckland - 27/05/2023
27 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back up to Auckland Guide Centre in Mount Eden tonight for my second consecutive gig (Sol suggested it was a turkey sandwich as I am at Vader tomorrow) to see Taranaki’s finest, Turkey The Bird at The Ministry of Folk. Before that we of course had Hoop, who are Al Baxter (vocals, guitar, harmonica, banjo, mandolin), Nick Edgar (vocals, guitar, ukulele, flute, harmonica), Emily Allen (violin, viola), Glenn Coldham (bass) while tonight Gary Hunt was filling in for drummer Rusty Knox.
Read More...
This Silent Divide - Single Review: Beautiful Creature
25 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based melodic hard rock quartet This Silent Divide, entitled Beautiful Creature. I really enjoyed their Tall Stories EP, and they played a great gig at Dead Witch towards the end of last year, and this would have been recorded at about the same time.
Read More...
Gig Review: Emily Rice @ Your Local Coffee Roasters, Pukekohe - 24/05/2023
24 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this week I had a message from Emily Rice asking me if I lived in South Auckland. When I responded I did, she asked if I would be interested in coming along to an event she was putting on in a coffee shop in Pukekohe to celebrate the release of her new single, Warenoa.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PAINT THE TOWN RED
    Doja Cat
  • STRANGERS
    Kenya Grace
  • GREEDY
    Tate McRae
  • SPRINTER
    Dave And Central Cee
  • WATER
    Tyla
  • CRUEL SUMMER
    Taylor Swift
  • BLUE EYED MAORI
    Corrella
  • VAMPIRE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • SNOOZE
    SZA
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem