18 Apr 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Spirit Boy - Single Review: Neon Sky

24 Mar 2023 // A review by Peter K Malthus

I dragged my feet over this review, seriously let it get overdue, even. I haven't long been doing the reviewing thing here, so I wanted to be really sure about what I wanted to say, with this particular one. Hence sleeping on it, overthinking it, listening to the song ridiculous amounts, playing it to friends going "Listen, see what I mean? I'm not wrong, am I??"

I soon as I read Spirit Boy's artist page and saw that they "make music they love to listen to", I was confident I'd be hearing something good, personally I don't know of any better reason to make music. My confidence was not misplaced. Neon Sky is, in my humble opinion, simply excellent. Ethan Mead sings with soulful conviction, each line of every verse a beautiful poem unto itself ("Hanging 'round my neck, are a couple misplaced bets" being a personal favourite).

This song exquisitely juxtaposes sorrow and hope in its thoughtful lyrics, with a stunning backdrop of musical brilliance. Each note, each beat, each phrase crafted to perfection. Nothing over- or understated, every band member clearly playing for the song, and clearly all on the same page in terms of direction.

This song deserves to be heard at festivals. This song deserves for you to listen to it, and deserves a place in your heart. And Spirit Boy's Neon Sky deserves every bit of the 5 stars I'm giving it.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Spirit Boy

Hailing from the bright lights of Otautahi, indie-rock outfit Spirit Boy make music they love to listen to. Led by Ethan Mead’s commanding voice, Spirit Boy take inspiration from Americana and folk artists of the 60's and 70's, the earnestness of 80's new romanticism, and the stadium-filling rock bands that shaped their teenage years.

Although Mead came late to song-writing, he has an undeniable ear for a melody and the mind for a story. Mead describes the album as a “collection of joyous songs about being sad - a sort of celebration of the full spectrum of human emotion.”

Depending on who you talk to, the band started during a game of bingo attended by Mead and guitarist Regan Barker underneath Christchurch’s casino. Another account suggests that a chance encounter seeing Barker on stage with guitar in hand inspired Mead to become a song writer. Whichever version you believe, the five-piece consists of Mead (vocals/guitar), Barker (guitar), Sam Burt (keyboard/piano), Talon Adams (bass), and Mason Head (drums).

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Spirit Boy

Releases

There are no releases to display for Spirit Boy.

Other Reviews By Peter K Malthus

Cian - EP Review: All New Ways Of Life
22 Mar 2024 // by Peter K Malthus
All New Ways Of Life is the introductory offering from Wellington-based Hardcore Metal outfit, Cian. Connor Matthew (Guitar, Vocals), Navah Chapman (Guitar), Dylan Jonkers (Bass, Vocals) and Zed Ramsay (Drums) have delivered four raging slabs of blistering-hot Metal on this EP and are hungry to take over the world with their punishing, riff-laden sound.
Read More...
Jackie Bristow - Jackie B And The Mini Band - EP Review: Summertime
22 Mar 2024 // by Peter K Malthus
Jackie Bristow has had a career on a continuous upward trajectory, since being discovered at the tender age of eight, in her primary school's choir. In the time since then, she relocated to Australia, and then on to Nashville in the USA, regarded by many as that nation's "music capital".
Read More...
The Mons Whaler - Album Review: Hold My Gun
29 Feb 2024 // by Peter K Malthus
The Mons Whaler were formed in the Taranaki area, by Hemi Coates (vocals & guitar), Andre Peri (percussion & backing vocals) and Phil Hoskin (bass, guitar backing vocals). Multi-talented Courtnay Low joined forces with them, on keys, backing vocals and lead guitar.
Read More...
Empyrvore - Album Review: Nadir: Empyrean
12 Feb 2024 // by Peter K Malthus
Nadir: Empyrean is the latest release from Wellington-based Empyrvore, and their first full length album. It has been a labour of love for its two creators, Jared and Mike, who followed the complete DIY path for recording, mixing, mastering, and releasing...
Read More...
David Edwards - Album Review: Electric (Yang) / Acoustic (Yin) - 2CD Compilation 1998-2023
30 Dec 2023 // by Peter K Malthus
Fiffdimension is the name under which Dave Edwards records and performs, having released the debut album Scratched Surface back in 1998. He's certainly been busy since then; I think I counted around 40 releases listed on his website.
Read More...
King Cruel - EP Review: Creeper
22 Dec 2023 // by Peter K Malthus
Creeper is the debut EP from King Cruel, a 'Psychedelic Stoner Doom Metal' trio from Auckland. According to Encyclopaedia Metallum, the line up consists of Evan Cooper on drums, Josh Hodgson on guitars, and Luke Oram on vocals.
Read More...
Hecates Cult - Album Review: The Path Of Night
14 Dec 2023 // by Peter K Malthus
The Path Of Night by Otautahi Christchurch band Hecate's Cult was recorded, mixed, and mastered by the utter weapons at Audioganic Studios, and it's pretty easy to see why so many local artists are queuing up to have them do the same. Hecate's Cult are a bare-bones three piece, with no backing vocals, backing tracks, samples, or anything other than the sounds produced by drums, a bass, a guitar, and a voice.
Read More...
Gig Review: Zed @ The Church, Christchurch - 8/12/2023
11 Dec 2023 // by Peter K Malthus
Zed are back! 23 years after the release of their triple-platinum, number one debut album Silencer, they have finally returned, after a couple of teaser reunions over the years.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter K Malthus

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • LIKE THAT
    Future And Metro Boomin feat. Kendrick Lamar
  • END OF BEGINNING
    Djo
  • I LIKE THE WAY YOU KISS ME
    Artemas
  • WE CAN'T BE FRIENDS (WAIT FOR YOUR LOVE)
    Ariana Grande
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • TEXAS HOLD 'EM
    Beyonce
  • LEAVEMEALONE
    Fred Again.. And Baby Keem
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem