21 Feb 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Brawler NZHC - EP Review: Hard Truths

23 Mar 2023 // A review by Kev Rowland

Over the last 12 months I have been fortunate enough to catch Hamilton hardcore outfit Brawler NZHC a few times, and although I have always been a little concerned that singer Joe Steiner is going to pass out before he finally removes the balaclava, I always know we are in for a high energy show with plenty of angst and passion. They have also impressed NZ hardcore royalty along the way, with Luke Manson of Xile joining in on vocals for Pay The Price. Drummer Facundo Ferreira knows just what to do to drive the band forward, changing his patterns but keeping the snare to the fore, and guitarist Damz keeps the riffs coming in a wall of sound.

One things which makes Brawler NZHC so powerful is not only the togetherness they display but that they refuse to stick in just one tempo, and although the songs are short they can contain multiple sections. This was mixed/mastered and produced by Jake Booth of Mordecai Records, who shows just how much he understand the scene by also providing bass on this (Greg Weaver joined the band after they had already started the sessions, so they decided to finish in the same manner for continuity).

Inspired by bands such as Warhound, No Zodiac, Xibalba, Queensway, Billy Club Sandwich and Six, their latest EP Hard Truths is aggressive and passionate, and although the songs rush by in just fourteen minutes there is a great deal here to enjoy. Opener Spitting Teeth may be under a minute in length, but it lays the groundwork for what is to come, and when Luke makes his presence felt on next song Pay The Price, one knows this is going to bs a fun and brutal ride.

Too many hardcore bands feel the need for each song to pass by at a blistering pace, but Brawler NZHC understand contrast, so when they slow it up it is dramatic, and the same when they let loose the reins again. They also have sections where there is no guitar whatsoever, so when the buzzsaw riffs come back in they have that much more impact. For those into this style of music then here is a band showing that while the heart of the scene may well be in New York, Aotearoa can also play this game, and this is certainly worthy of further investigation.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Brawler NZHC

Backed by growing Australian hardcore & metal label 10-54 Records, Brawler NZHC aims to bring the next level of beatdown hardcore to the rising wave of NZHC. The 4-piece combines punishing lyrical content touching on subjects of addiction, violence and self-betterment head on with a fresh blend of heavy, street-style hardcore guitars and drums to deliver a ruthless yet polished dose of tough love.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Brawler NZHC

Releases

Hard Truths
Year: 2023
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Crushfest @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 07/07/2023
07 Jul 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was down to Tuning Fork for the first night of the second Crushfest festival. Tonight was going to be Wellington and Auckland bands, and then some of the same will be playing at the second night in Wellington next month.
Read More...
Rain - Single Review: Love and War
15 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It has been quite a while since I last heard from Wellington-based singer songwriter Cathy Elizabeth, and back then Rain was seen solely as a studio project with Cathy being accompanied by Thomas Te Taite, who provided all the instrumentation including digital drums. Now they are a full band who have been performing live, and it is the first time they have recorded as such, with Thomas now, just providing acoustic guitar (plus engineering and producing etc.
Read More...
Lost Vessels - Single Review: All This Time
01 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I was not that impressed when I first saw Lost Vessels play at Crushfest, something they later admitted to me was the worst gig of their career, but since then they have improved in leaps and bounds. This has been noticed by others on the Auckland circuit as they are getting more opportunities with better support slots, and I was not at all surprised when they won the Ding Dong Lounge Battle Of The Bands in November last year.
Read More...
Unwanted Subject - Single Review: Sons of Savages
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I have caught Unwanted Subject in concert a few times over the last couple of years, and while they have been getting better each time I have seen them, I must admit that nothing prepared me for this, which right from the off is a monster. I have never heard them quite this is aggressive, nor as polished, and this multi-sectioned single sounds almost like a different band as they have pushed their metal roots to the max in this metalcore beast which sees them mixing and blending different genres to create something quite special.
Read More...
Gig Review: Stray Dogs @ AUX, Auckland - 26/05/2023
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to Ding Dong Lounge on a Friday night for one of their infamous Emo nights, which tonight was a three-band bill with Stray Dogs having an extended set, supported by Altaea and then up first we had Blindr, a band new to me. Blindr are a quartet featuring Bill Caldwell (vocals, guitar), Blake Woodfield (lead guitar), Jack Power (bass), and Charlie McCracken (drums).
Read More...
Gig Review: Turkey The Bird @ The Ministry of Folk, Auckland - 27/05/2023
27 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back up to Auckland Guide Centre in Mount Eden tonight for my second consecutive gig (Sol suggested it was a turkey sandwich as I am at Vader tomorrow) to see Taranaki’s finest, Turkey The Bird at The Ministry of Folk. Before that we of course had Hoop, who are Al Baxter (vocals, guitar, harmonica, banjo, mandolin), Nick Edgar (vocals, guitar, ukulele, flute, harmonica), Emily Allen (violin, viola), Glenn Coldham (bass) while tonight Gary Hunt was filling in for drummer Rusty Knox.
Read More...
This Silent Divide - Single Review: Beautiful Creature
25 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based melodic hard rock quartet This Silent Divide, entitled Beautiful Creature. I really enjoyed their Tall Stories EP, and they played a great gig at Dead Witch towards the end of last year, and this would have been recorded at about the same time.
Read More...
Gig Review: Emily Rice @ Your Local Coffee Roasters, Pukekohe - 24/05/2023
24 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this week I had a message from Emily Rice asking me if I lived in South Auckland. When I responded I did, she asked if I would be interested in coming along to an event she was putting on in a coffee shop in Pukekohe to celebrate the release of her new single, Warenoa.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PRAISE JAH IN THE MOONLIGHT
    YG Marley
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • LOVIN ON ME
    Jack Harlow
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • SNOOZE
    SZA
  • GREEDY
    Tate McRae
  • CRUEL SUMMER
    Taylor Swift
  • CARNIVAL
    Kanye West And Ty Dolla $ign
  • MURDER ON THE DANCEFLOOR
    Sophie Ellis-Bextor
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem