22 Jul 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Traditional Aliens - Album Review: What World Will You Live In

16 Mar 2023 // A review by Kev Rowland

I think from the cover that The Traditional Aliens inhabit a world which contains knitted female dwarves, although I could well be wrong. What World Will You Live In is both the debut and third album by the guys, who recently changed their name from Infinity following on from their 2017 self-titled debut and then 2020’s Icy Blue Planet. It is the same two people who have been working together since 2014 though, namely Pateriki Hura (guitar, synth bass, keyboards, sequencing) and Cameron Budge (drums). There are vocals on the title cut, but for the most part this is enjoyable instrumentals, often led by guitar, but sometimes keyboards, and always with a real drummer at the back adding his own touches and nuances.

This does not sound like a studio project of just two people as it is massively layered, with great thought given to the arrangements which have just the right amount of space so every instrument can be clearly identified and its role understood. If I had been asked, I would have said this was a quartet and the musicians were all in the studio at the same time playing off each other, but as it is, I can’t work out what was laid down first, although if it had been keyboards and drums I would not be surprised. They proudly state they are not bound by genre but instead do what they want and say that within their catalogue one can hear Space Rock, Jungle Groove, Edgy Guitar Rock, Hip Jazz, Oriental and African flavours. I can only say talk about what is front of me as I have not heard the others, and for the most part that is middle of the road jazz with touches of soul here and funk there. Cameron is never content to just provide a straight beat and instead adds flourishes where it makes sense, yet never overplays, while Pateriki has a delicate touch on all the instruments he plays, with nice fluid bass, a strong understanding of when to use piano or organ, and a lovely guitar sound reminiscent of Dave Stryker.

This is something which is not cutting edge nor driving, but instead is something to relax to and just settle into the groove being created. The name change certainly makes them stand out, and I am sure this will assist in more people finding their music and not being confused with the likes of Infinity Ritual who are a very different band indeed! Listenable and enjoyable from the beginning.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About The Traditional Aliens

The Traditional Aliens are a NZ Instrumental Rock Band with a love of wide open spaces and exotica. Within our music every musical part is aware and respectful of every other parts role. We create the space which allows the musical parts to communicate their ideas freely.

We invite you into our world. If you're into a fresh approach and a unique blend of elements and style then this album is for you.

This is a no rap zone. There's no bling and fast cars. It's not an elevator or the pop music supermarket. It is a place which displays the joy of craftsmen at home in their work, exploring new form, taking some risks and loving it.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Traditional Aliens

Releases

What World Will You Live In
Year: 2023
Type: Album
Icy Blue Planet
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Infinity
Year: 2017
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Crushfest @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 07/07/2023
07 Jul 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was down to Tuning Fork for the first night of the second Crushfest festival. Tonight was going to be Wellington and Auckland bands, and then some of the same will be playing at the second night in Wellington next month.
Read More...
Rain - Single Review: Love and War
15 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It has been quite a while since I last heard from Wellington-based singer songwriter Cathy Elizabeth, and back then Rain was seen solely as a studio project with Cathy being accompanied by Thomas Te Taite, who provided all the instrumentation including digital drums. Now they are a full band who have been performing live, and it is the first time they have recorded as such, with Thomas now, just providing acoustic guitar (plus engineering and producing etc.
Read More...
Lost Vessels - Single Review: All This Time
01 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I was not that impressed when I first saw Lost Vessels play at Crushfest, something they later admitted to me was the worst gig of their career, but since then they have improved in leaps and bounds. This has been noticed by others on the Auckland circuit as they are getting more opportunities with better support slots, and I was not at all surprised when they won the Ding Dong Lounge Battle Of The Bands in November last year.
Read More...
Unwanted Subject - Single Review: Sons of Savages
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I have caught Unwanted Subject in concert a few times over the last couple of years, and while they have been getting better each time I have seen them, I must admit that nothing prepared me for this, which right from the off is a monster. I have never heard them quite this is aggressive, nor as polished, and this multi-sectioned single sounds almost like a different band as they have pushed their metal roots to the max in this metalcore beast which sees them mixing and blending different genres to create something quite special.
Read More...
Gig Review: Stray Dogs @ AUX, Auckland - 26/05/2023
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to Ding Dong Lounge on a Friday night for one of their infamous Emo nights, which tonight was a three-band bill with Stray Dogs having an extended set, supported by Altaea and then up first we had Blindr, a band new to me. Blindr are a quartet featuring Bill Caldwell (vocals, guitar), Blake Woodfield (lead guitar), Jack Power (bass), and Charlie McCracken (drums).
Read More...
Gig Review: Turkey The Bird @ The Ministry of Folk, Auckland - 27/05/2023
27 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back up to Auckland Guide Centre in Mount Eden tonight for my second consecutive gig (Sol suggested it was a turkey sandwich as I am at Vader tomorrow) to see Taranaki’s finest, Turkey The Bird at The Ministry of Folk. Before that we of course had Hoop, who are Al Baxter (vocals, guitar, harmonica, banjo, mandolin), Nick Edgar (vocals, guitar, ukulele, flute, harmonica), Emily Allen (violin, viola), Glenn Coldham (bass) while tonight Gary Hunt was filling in for drummer Rusty Knox.
Read More...
This Silent Divide - Single Review: Beautiful Creature
25 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based melodic hard rock quartet This Silent Divide, entitled Beautiful Creature. I really enjoyed their Tall Stories EP, and they played a great gig at Dead Witch towards the end of last year, and this would have been recorded at about the same time.
Read More...
Gig Review: Emily Rice @ Your Local Coffee Roasters, Pukekohe - 24/05/2023
24 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this week I had a message from Emily Rice asking me if I lived in South Auckland. When I responded I did, she asked if I would be interested in coming along to an event she was putting on in a coffee shop in Pukekohe to celebrate the release of her new single, Warenoa.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland
SELECT artists.ID as artist_id, artists.Name, sum(artists_stats.Count) as hitcount FROM artists, artists_stats WHERE artists_stats.Date > ('2024-07-22' - INTERVAL 14 DAY)-0 AND artists.ID = artists_stats.AID AND artists.Enabled = 'y' AND artists.Deleted = 'n' GROUP BY artists_stats.AID ORDER BY hitcount DESC, Name LIMIT 10

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • BIRDS OF A FEATHER
    Billie Eilish
  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • HOUDINI
    Eminem
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • GOOD LUCK, BABE!
    Chappell Roan
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem