25 May 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • Mi-Sex - Gig Review: Mi-Sex and Stellar* @ Paraoa Brewing, Whangaparaoa - 09/03/2023

Mi-Sex - Gig Review: Mi-Sex and Stellar* @ Paraoa Brewing, Whangaparaoa - 09/03/2023

09 Mar 2023 // A review by Kev Rowland

I had been looking forward to tonight for quite some time as here was an amazing opportunity to catch two of our most iconic bands. Mi-Sex are touring in celebration of the 40th anniversary of their debut album, Graffiti Crimes, which of course featured probably their biggest hit, Computer Games. Along for the ride were Stellar*, whose wonderful debut Mix is also more than twenty years old now, and I was so looking forward to finally hearing Boh Runga sing live. Then if that was not enough, the evening was commencing with Rodney Fisher who I saw perform solo last year, but is probably best known for fronting Goodshirt. Before the gig I was chatting with the manager of the venue, and she was showing me some of the great bands they have coming up. They have a charity gig arranged with 11 bands on 15th March starting at 4:00 in the afternoon, with all proceeds going to efforts for people suffering due to the extreme weather we have had recently.  

Rodney started the night with no fanfare, just got up on the stage and started playing and singing – nice to see some dry ice and subdued lighting to create the right mood. You Know I Would was a nice gentle opener, and unlike the last time I saw him there was no use of loops, just keeping it simple with picked electric guitar and his emotive vocals. It was well received, and he went into Timeline, but it was obvious he was up against it tonight as there were way too many people talking and not listening. That is always a risk when being a solo performer being followed by two well-known bands, but when someone is performing at the level Rodney is, it is not only unfair but downright rude. Those of us who were paying attention were being given a treat as Rodney has years of experience behind him, with some great songs, with the more upbeat Keeping Up Appearances showing a different side to his style. I C U saw him bring in some loops and additional tracks for the first time, but even though this was a fuller song, it is a song which is slowed down and packed with emotion, and he even showed his range with some falsetto which was pained and full of hurt. We then had By The Sea, another from his “lockdown” album which he recorded remotely with some musicians from Christchurch – this has him combining singer/songwriter with electronic beats and styles, creating a powerful blend of very different musical styles. He ended his short set with Fiji Baby, the title cut from the second Goodshirt album, in itself also most 20 years old. A different style again, rockier in its approach, this was the perfect way to take us into the rest of the night.

Again, there was no announcement and Stellar* were just there, and straight away we were all transported with Every Girl. This set was going to be hit after hit - remember they may have only released three albums but two went to #1 and the other was Top Ten, while they also had massive single success as well, and they followed that Top 3 single with another from the Top 20, Undone. While people had been sat and talking through Rodney’s set, that was not going to be the case with these guys as Boh Runga (vocals), Andrew Maclaren (drums, programming), Chris van de Geer (guitar) and Kurt Shanks (bass) had the audience right where they wanted them from the first note. They have that easy familiarity which only comes from a band who have played together a lot over the years, and while the magic was being brought (there were some additional backing tracks for keyboards) at the heart of it all is Boh. I have loved her voice for years, and the reason for coming tonight was primarily to hear her sing, and I was not disappointed at all as she was at the heart of everything which was taking place.

She strapped on a guitar for the next number, and when she announced it was Maxine, the floor suddenly filled with dancers. They had gradually been coming forward until then, but this was like a button had been pressed and everyone was up having a groove. This is a harder hitting rocker, still very much with the pop edge, and Boh’s vocals were lifted accordingly. By now everyone was really into what was taking place in front of them and as soon as the first notes were struck for One More Day there were cheers of recognition. The rockier numbers allows the guys to demonstrate just how tight they are, providing the powering foundation for Boh to shine. She announced the next number was one of her favourites from their debut, Nerve & Consequences, showing a very different style to what had gone before with a huge focus on drums and vocals, the bass playing a repeated melody and the guitar slipping in and out. It felt like a reset, a very different feel indeed to what had gone previously. Then we were into the filthy guitar led Part of Me, where Chris allowed the music to move past at one level and would then put in these dirty phased riffs which totally transformed the song, all while Andrew and Kurt kept it tight, with Boh providing additional guitar and singing sweetly, but often keeping it is demurer and more restrained.  

When the riffs started for Star there were more cries of recognition, with Andrew hitting the kit incredibly hard, Kurt playing some lovely counter notes up the neck, and then we were off and rocking with two guitars and Boh powering her vocals. All It Takes was soon turned into another belter, and the band were really cooking. This was followed by their first ever chart success, What You Do (Bastard), where the guitars were compressed together and the song was driven by the rhythm section underneath, with the bass providing the underlying melody as they moved almost into New Order territory with Boh then cutting through the wall of sound with her clear vocals. They brought in a section from The Verve’s Bitter Sweet Symphony, with nice harmony vocals from Boh and Kurt, which worked very well indeed, fitting in well and extending the song. All good things come to an end, and of course they finished the night with Violent, and if you weren’t already up and dancing then you were going to be now, and when they hit the chorus everyone in the house was jumping up and down. I had high expectations for Stellar* and I was certainly not disappointed. This is a class band with great songs and if they are ever in your area then you cannot afford to miss out. Surely it must be time for a new album? Please??

Now it was the time for the headliners, Mi-Sex, who are touring the fortieth anniversary of their debut album, Graffiti Crimes. Of course, it would be incredibly unusual for the original line-up to still be together after all these years, and sadly some of the original members are no longer with us but Murray Burns (keyboards) and Colin Bayley (rhythm guitar) have brought in others to keep the name alive, with the line-up now including Steve Balbi (vocals), Jak Housden (lead guitar), Dario Bortolin (bass) and Jordan McDonald (drums).

The set started with Space Race, a hit on both sides of the Tasman, and right from the off it was obvious that Steve is one of those singers who was born to be a frontman, ensuring he is always the centre of attention, doing whatever he could to get the crowd going. Graffiti Crimes followed straight afterwards, another banger with more than a hint of Split Enz about it, but both bands were playing originally at the same time so would have had similar influences. One would never know that Steve was not the original singer in that he was living everything he was doing, and stopped during But You Don’t Care to get everyone to join in, and it really did feel as if we had been taken back 40 years when bands like Mi-Sex were playing in all the great pub venues up and down the country. It has that solid Seventies rock feel which bands of today may try to emulate but fail, with a perfectly formed proper guitar solo in the middle which stayed true to the melody of the whole song as opposed to being an excuse for ego.  

The rhythm section were keeping it tight, and then we had two guitars and keyboards providing the melody, while Steve was being way more than just a singer, a dramatic frontman of the old school. He even provided a really nice scream in this one. The band kept rocking hard, belying the age of some of those on the stage, and they were not taking time for breaks or talking as they were soon blasting through Falling In & Out which had some wonderfully dated but oh so nice keyboards leads in the introduction. They are certainly much heavier than I expected them to be, plus they were nice and loud. Down the Line showed a far more emotional side of the band, with some twin guitar harmonies here and there while the keyboards were playing a key role with some lovely runs. Here Steve had the opportunity to show that while he lives and breathes the role of frontman, he also has a great voice. Jordan then provided a drum fill, the riffs started, and we were into Bad Boy, which was way more dramatic. Then everything quietened down, and Steve got the crowd shouting, before they took off to finish the dramatic choppy staccato number which by now was one of the heaviest of the night. I must confess I have never seen anyone spin a microphone stand quite like Steve. 

Steve paid homage to Don Martin before the next number, and then the band went into Blue Day, the last song of theirs to chart on both sides of the Tasman, all the way back in 1984, which soon went from something emotional and thoughtful to a blaster with nice lead keyboards, harmony guitars and Steve the centre of everything. The next number was Stills, which is based mostly on drums and bass with melody from the keyboards and then the guitars kicking in later. Taken from the Graffiti Crimes album they were celebrating, this is far more art rock, and one can imagine David Byrne or Bowie coming up with something like this as there are times when it is very different indeed to the rest of the set. It goes through many different styles and sections, ending as a blistering rocker with a great guitar solo. 

Steve then announced that the next number was a new song, My Sex Your Sex (which is actually from their 2016 album Not From Here), and we were off into a blasting rocker which could easily have been written back when the band were at their peak and is guaranteed to get people moving as it has an infectious melody, powering chorus with great hooks. It Only Hurts When I'm Laughing is yet another blaster with some incredibly powerful drumming, a great guitar solo, and the band all building to a climax, demonstrating just how rocking these guys are, if you had ever doubted it. Steve asked if the crowd wanted anymore, and after finally getting a loud enough response we were into Castaway, yet another massive single in Australia which fairly belts along, with the keyboard melodies and Steve’s vocals cutting through.

There was never any doubt the song people were waiting for, and when the samples kicked in the crowd reacted as they knew what was coming, the worldwide hit, Computer Games. This finally got most of the laggards up and dancing, and with its infectious beat and chorus combined with the synths and guitar one can see why it was such a smash when it came out in 1979, but here it has way more life than the original, powering through. Steve got the crowd singing along, and it really is one of those joyful numbers where everyone has fun, including the band.

The band left the stage to allow the crowd to shout for more, but they were soon back, blasting through Living in September from the second album, Space Race. This is what Split Enz would sound like if they were more heavily influenced by punk, brutal in some ways and incredibly melodic in others. A kick drum intro led us into the last number of the night, People, which was yet again a smash on both sides of the ditch. 

This really was an incredible gig and on Friday they do it all again at Powerstation. From a gentle beginning from Rodney, we were then treated to two bands who proved the reason they are still going after so many years is that they are awesome at what they do. I only hope I see them all again soon, as this was quite some night and it felt very special indeed.


Photo Credit: Ginny C PhotographyView the full galleries here:
Mi-Sex
Stellar*Rodney Fisher

 

About Mi-Sex

In 1972 Steve Gilpin was a cabaret singer, singing standards and winning television New Faces shows. Dressed in tuxedo and bow-tie he performed on the provincial hotel circuit for 5 years. But the real Steve was a frustrated rock'n'roller who couldn't wait to discard the suit and tie and belt out some real rock tunes. During one of his performances at the Awapuni Hotel in Palmerston North in 1976, he saw a group called Father Thyme also playing and was very impressed with them, suggesting that they do something together some time.

Father Thyme originated from Hamilton in 1974. They consisted of Steve Grant on vocals, Don Bedgegood on guitar, Alan Moon on organ, Lyndsay Brook on drums and Don Martin on bass. Lyndsay and Don had previously been with Freeway. Playing mainly progressive rock, they also did the hotel circuit, until their style of music was no longer popular, disbanding in May 1977.

Alan Moon and Don Martin took Steve up on his offer and the three teamed up. They added guitarist Kevin Stanton and drummer Phil Smart to the line-up and called themselves Fragments Of Time. Stanton had previously been with heavy metal bands Think and Brigade. The group followed along the path that had been taken by Father Thyme, basing themselves in Hamilton. There was a lot of competition around at the time, with Hello Sailor and Citizen Band doing extremely well, so Steve decided that they should try a different direction and become a 'New Wave' band.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Mi-Sex

Releases

The Essential Mi-Sex
Year: 2007
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
'79-'85
Year: 1998
Type: Album
Caught In The Act
Year: 1988
Type: Album
Where Do They Go?
Year: 1983
Type: Album
Shanghaied
Year: 1981
Type: Album
Space Race
Year: 1980
Type: Album
Grafitti Crimes
Year: 1979
Type: Album
Computer Games
Year: 1979
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Crushfest @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 07/07/2023
07 Jul 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was down to Tuning Fork for the first night of the second Crushfest festival. Tonight was going to be Wellington and Auckland bands, and then some of the same will be playing at the second night in Wellington next month.
Read More...
Rain - Single Review: Love and War
15 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It has been quite a while since I last heard from Wellington-based singer songwriter Cathy Elizabeth, and back then Rain was seen solely as a studio project with Cathy being accompanied by Thomas Te Taite, who provided all the instrumentation including digital drums. Now they are a full band who have been performing live, and it is the first time they have recorded as such, with Thomas now, just providing acoustic guitar (plus engineering and producing etc.
Read More...
Lost Vessels - Single Review: All This Time
01 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I was not that impressed when I first saw Lost Vessels play at Crushfest, something they later admitted to me was the worst gig of their career, but since then they have improved in leaps and bounds. This has been noticed by others on the Auckland circuit as they are getting more opportunities with better support slots, and I was not at all surprised when they won the Ding Dong Lounge Battle Of The Bands in November last year.
Read More...
Unwanted Subject - Single Review: Sons of Savages
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I have caught Unwanted Subject in concert a few times over the last couple of years, and while they have been getting better each time I have seen them, I must admit that nothing prepared me for this, which right from the off is a monster. I have never heard them quite this is aggressive, nor as polished, and this multi-sectioned single sounds almost like a different band as they have pushed their metal roots to the max in this metalcore beast which sees them mixing and blending different genres to create something quite special.
Read More...
Gig Review: Stray Dogs @ AUX, Auckland - 26/05/2023
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to Ding Dong Lounge on a Friday night for one of their infamous Emo nights, which tonight was a three-band bill with Stray Dogs having an extended set, supported by Altaea and then up first we had Blindr, a band new to me. Blindr are a quartet featuring Bill Caldwell (vocals, guitar), Blake Woodfield (lead guitar), Jack Power (bass), and Charlie McCracken (drums).
Read More...
Gig Review: Turkey The Bird @ The Ministry of Folk, Auckland - 27/05/2023
27 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back up to Auckland Guide Centre in Mount Eden tonight for my second consecutive gig (Sol suggested it was a turkey sandwich as I am at Vader tomorrow) to see Taranaki’s finest, Turkey The Bird at The Ministry of Folk. Before that we of course had Hoop, who are Al Baxter (vocals, guitar, harmonica, banjo, mandolin), Nick Edgar (vocals, guitar, ukulele, flute, harmonica), Emily Allen (violin, viola), Glenn Coldham (bass) while tonight Gary Hunt was filling in for drummer Rusty Knox.
Read More...
This Silent Divide - Single Review: Beautiful Creature
25 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based melodic hard rock quartet This Silent Divide, entitled Beautiful Creature. I really enjoyed their Tall Stories EP, and they played a great gig at Dead Witch towards the end of last year, and this would have been recorded at about the same time.
Read More...
Gig Review: Emily Rice @ Your Local Coffee Roasters, Pukekohe - 24/05/2023
24 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this week I had a message from Emily Rice asking me if I lived in South Auckland. When I responded I did, she asked if I would be interested in coming along to an event she was putting on in a coffee shop in Pukekohe to celebrate the release of her new single, Warenoa.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • LUNCH
    Billie Eilish
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • I HAD SOME HELP
    Post Malone feat. Morgan Wallen
  • CHIHIRO
    Billie Eilish
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • BIRDS OF A FEATHER
    Billie Eilish
  • SKINNY
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem