26 Feb 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Wax Birds - Album Review: Yellowhammer

28 Feb 2023 // A review by Kev Rowland

Although I work in Auckland on North Island (New Zealand’s largest city), I call home a small farm close to a township called Oxford on South Island, and I get back there as often as I can, especially as that is where my wonderful wife is. According to the last census the population is 2,214, so not exactly a metropolis, but we love it. Needless to say, it was the last place to find a band, so when I realised The Wax Birds live just behind me, I knew I had to get my hands on the new album. Jo and Pete have been married almost 17 years and have been playing music together for the last three, and this is their second album, following on from 2020’s Slow Rise.

Although there are some drums and bass played on this album by Pete, and mandolin on Fire On The Hill by Dean Heatherington, they have kept this release deliberately stripped back with acoustic guitar providing the support for their voices. It is very strange indeed to see Jo wearing an Idles shirt in one of their photos as this is about as far as from Idles you can get, with softly sung vocals, both Jo and Pete prepared to take the lead or harmonise. The album contains eight original numbers and two covers, and the title cut includes some birdsong which is totally in keeping with the rest of the album which is fresh, folky and even has a country and western feeling at times, and feels grounded in reality and nature with no need for the bustle of  the city.

Stay is an incredibly poignant number, and one which most immigrants can relate to as it is about the experience of coming to a new country and not really feeling at home in the new and also not feeling at home in the old. The lyrics are about relying on each other, knowing it is going to be okay, and there is a feeling of depth not only in this but in many of the others as well.

In some ways they remind me of In The Shallows, and I am sure audiences would enjoy hearing them play together at some point. As for the covers, here we have very different versions of Springsteen’s Dancing In The Dark and To Love Somebody by Bee Gees, and they both work very well indeed within the context of the album, also showing how strong their own material is up against them. Hopefully I will see them play at some point, as this is a nice release and well worth investigating.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About The Wax Birds

The Wax Birds are an Acoustic Duo based in Oxford, Canterbury.

They moved to New Zealand from the UK back in 2016.

They cover a range of songs spanning the last 80 years and love to put their spin on all genres.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Wax Birds

Releases

Yellowhammer
Year: 2023
Type: Album
Slow Rise
Year: 2020
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Crushfest @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 07/07/2023
07 Jul 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was down to Tuning Fork for the first night of the second Crushfest festival. Tonight was going to be Wellington and Auckland bands, and then some of the same will be playing at the second night in Wellington next month.
Read More...
Rain - Single Review: Love and War
15 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It has been quite a while since I last heard from Wellington-based singer songwriter Cathy Elizabeth, and back then Rain was seen solely as a studio project with Cathy being accompanied by Thomas Te Taite, who provided all the instrumentation including digital drums. Now they are a full band who have been performing live, and it is the first time they have recorded as such, with Thomas now, just providing acoustic guitar (plus engineering and producing etc.
Read More...
Lost Vessels - Single Review: All This Time
01 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I was not that impressed when I first saw Lost Vessels play at Crushfest, something they later admitted to me was the worst gig of their career, but since then they have improved in leaps and bounds. This has been noticed by others on the Auckland circuit as they are getting more opportunities with better support slots, and I was not at all surprised when they won the Ding Dong Lounge Battle Of The Bands in November last year.
Read More...
Unwanted Subject - Single Review: Sons of Savages
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I have caught Unwanted Subject in concert a few times over the last couple of years, and while they have been getting better each time I have seen them, I must admit that nothing prepared me for this, which right from the off is a monster. I have never heard them quite this is aggressive, nor as polished, and this multi-sectioned single sounds almost like a different band as they have pushed their metal roots to the max in this metalcore beast which sees them mixing and blending different genres to create something quite special.
Read More...
Gig Review: Stray Dogs @ AUX, Auckland - 26/05/2023
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to Ding Dong Lounge on a Friday night for one of their infamous Emo nights, which tonight was a three-band bill with Stray Dogs having an extended set, supported by Altaea and then up first we had Blindr, a band new to me. Blindr are a quartet featuring Bill Caldwell (vocals, guitar), Blake Woodfield (lead guitar), Jack Power (bass), and Charlie McCracken (drums).
Read More...
Gig Review: Turkey The Bird @ The Ministry of Folk, Auckland - 27/05/2023
27 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back up to Auckland Guide Centre in Mount Eden tonight for my second consecutive gig (Sol suggested it was a turkey sandwich as I am at Vader tomorrow) to see Taranaki’s finest, Turkey The Bird at The Ministry of Folk. Before that we of course had Hoop, who are Al Baxter (vocals, guitar, harmonica, banjo, mandolin), Nick Edgar (vocals, guitar, ukulele, flute, harmonica), Emily Allen (violin, viola), Glenn Coldham (bass) while tonight Gary Hunt was filling in for drummer Rusty Knox.
Read More...
This Silent Divide - Single Review: Beautiful Creature
25 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based melodic hard rock quartet This Silent Divide, entitled Beautiful Creature. I really enjoyed their Tall Stories EP, and they played a great gig at Dead Witch towards the end of last year, and this would have been recorded at about the same time.
Read More...
Gig Review: Emily Rice @ Your Local Coffee Roasters, Pukekohe - 24/05/2023
24 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this week I had a message from Emily Rice asking me if I lived in South Auckland. When I responded I did, she asked if I would be interested in coming along to an event she was putting on in a coffee shop in Pukekohe to celebrate the release of her new single, Warenoa.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TEXAS HOLD 'EM
    Beyonce
  • PRAISE JAH IN THE MOONLIGHT
    YG Marley
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • LOVIN ON ME
    Jack Harlow
  • CRUEL SUMMER
    Taylor Swift
  • GREEDY
    Tate McRae
  • SNOOZE
    SZA
  • TRAINING SEASON
    Dua Lipa
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem