16 Apr 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Michael Signal - EP Review: Solway

10 Feb 2023 // A review by Peter K Malthus

I'm really surprised that I hadn't heard of Michael Signal before reviewing this EP. This is far from being Michael's first release, and listening to it (repeatedly and joyfully, I might add) had me delving into his back catalogue, including a rip-snorting cover of Scorpions' Rock You Like A Hurricane.

However, Solway is much more than a metal guitarist flexing, and showing off his chops (although he does do that at points, and admirably). Being a guitar instrumental release, there are no vocals on the EP, and it's clear none are needed. This is a craftsman creating a calling card, a statement of intent that admirably displays a well-roundedness of musicianship. 3 of the 4 tracks are quite short, starting with Silhouette at just under one minute, a lush acoustic piece that has nothing busy happening, just lovely moments of tension that resolve beautifully.

Magnetism is the second track, and has been previously released and reviewed by MNZ here. Then we hit what (for me) is the standout track; Tunnel Gully. Listening to this track quietly does it a disservice. Crank the volume and get ready to witness Michael bringing the goods. A main riff that would have Nuno and Eddie hi-fiving and getting their stank-face on, coupled with some tasty, tasty little melodies and snotty, shreddy solos... but then, at a little over the halfway point (track length is 4'24", making it longer than the other 3 tracks combined) the mood drops, and becomes more reflective and soulful, with the listener being gently taken to a place of peace and tranquility. Forshadow closes the EP, another short acoustic piece... one can only hope it's a foreshadowing of what's to come from Michael. My only complaint is that I would have liked to have heard more... I hope I can, soon.

This rocks. If you love rock guitar playing, take just under 8 minutes out of your day to check Solway out. Well done, Michael... wanna jam?

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Michael Signal

New Zealand guitarist and songwriter.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Michael Signal

Releases

Solway
Year: 2022
Type: EP
Direct Injection
Year: 2018
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Peter K Malthus

Cian - EP Review: All New Ways Of Life
22 Mar 2024 // by Peter K Malthus
All New Ways Of Life is the introductory offering from Wellington-based Hardcore Metal outfit, Cian. Connor Matthew (Guitar, Vocals), Navah Chapman (Guitar), Dylan Jonkers (Bass, Vocals) and Zed Ramsay (Drums) have delivered four raging slabs of blistering-hot Metal on this EP and are hungry to take over the world with their punishing, riff-laden sound.
Read More...
Jackie Bristow - Jackie B And The Mini Band - EP Review: Summertime
22 Mar 2024 // by Peter K Malthus
Jackie Bristow has had a career on a continuous upward trajectory, since being discovered at the tender age of eight, in her primary school's choir. In the time since then, she relocated to Australia, and then on to Nashville in the USA, regarded by many as that nation's "music capital".
Read More...
The Mons Whaler - Album Review: Hold My Gun
29 Feb 2024 // by Peter K Malthus
The Mons Whaler were formed in the Taranaki area, by Hemi Coates (vocals & guitar), Andre Peri (percussion & backing vocals) and Phil Hoskin (bass, guitar backing vocals). Multi-talented Courtnay Low joined forces with them, on keys, backing vocals and lead guitar.
Read More...
Empyrvore - Album Review: Nadir: Empyrean
12 Feb 2024 // by Peter K Malthus
Nadir: Empyrean is the latest release from Wellington-based Empyrvore, and their first full length album. It has been a labour of love for its two creators, Jared and Mike, who followed the complete DIY path for recording, mixing, mastering, and releasing...
Read More...
David Edwards - Album Review: Electric (Yang) / Acoustic (Yin) - 2CD Compilation 1998-2023
30 Dec 2023 // by Peter K Malthus
Fiffdimension is the name under which Dave Edwards records and performs, having released the debut album Scratched Surface back in 1998. He's certainly been busy since then; I think I counted around 40 releases listed on his website.
Read More...
King Cruel - EP Review: Creeper
22 Dec 2023 // by Peter K Malthus
Creeper is the debut EP from King Cruel, a 'Psychedelic Stoner Doom Metal' trio from Auckland. According to Encyclopaedia Metallum, the line up consists of Evan Cooper on drums, Josh Hodgson on guitars, and Luke Oram on vocals.
Read More...
Hecates Cult - Album Review: The Path Of Night
14 Dec 2023 // by Peter K Malthus
The Path Of Night by Otautahi Christchurch band Hecate's Cult was recorded, mixed, and mastered by the utter weapons at Audioganic Studios, and it's pretty easy to see why so many local artists are queuing up to have them do the same. Hecate's Cult are a bare-bones three piece, with no backing vocals, backing tracks, samples, or anything other than the sounds produced by drums, a bass, a guitar, and a voice.
Read More...
Gig Review: Zed @ The Church, Christchurch - 8/12/2023
11 Dec 2023 // by Peter K Malthus
Zed are back! 23 years after the release of their triple-platinum, number one debut album Silencer, they have finally returned, after a couple of teaser reunions over the years.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter K Malthus

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • LIKE THAT
    Future And Metro Boomin feat. Kendrick Lamar
  • END OF BEGINNING
    Djo
  • I LIKE THE WAY YOU KISS ME
    Artemas
  • WE CAN'T BE FRIENDS (WAIT FOR YOUR LOVE)
    Ariana Grande
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • TEXAS HOLD 'EM
    Beyonce
  • LEAVEMEALONE
    Fred Again.. And Baby Keem
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem