28 May 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Beckoned - Single/Video Review: Luminous

01 Feb 2023 // A review by Kev Rowland

The word “supergroup” is not one to be bandied around lightly, yet that was very much the first thing which came to mind when I came across the new formation of Beckoned. During one of the many lockdowns, guitarist Nail Vincent (Devilskin) started working on new material, and he played some to his old bandmate, bassist Munro Goodwin (Sinate) and pretty soon they were working on the material together with drummer Corey Friedlander (City of Souls,8 Foot Sativa), but who would be the singer? Step forward Sam Bartells who normally works in a very different musical direction. While the rest of the band are from a hard rock/metal background, Sam is much more from alt country, and I am used to seeing him accompany himself with an acoustic guitar as opposed to being the frontman for a band like this.   

Musically this starts with a bass which has gentle guitar chords over the top with a basic drum pattern, and Sam coming in for the first verse, staying very much inside himself, and there is the feeling of a band restraining themselves. Gradually it builds, with more drama and passion in play by the end of the second chorus, and when we go into the chorus again (no intervening verse) it has again taken a step up which then leads into the commercial bridge (some delicate linking keyboards in the background). Nail allows himself a dynamic solo which screams a more metallic approach before we go back into another chorus, and when Sam screams one can feel the passion coming through. He is singing in a higher register than one normally expects from him, with a commercial sound which links with the rest of the band to produce something which is both heavy and radio friendly. I am sure this is a quite different beast when performed live (and I know Beckoned had their first gig a few weeks ago), and is much heavier as apart from Sam all the guys have experience in very heavy bands indeed. This bringing together of different backgrounds have created something which is powerful, dramatic, and a taster of more to come.

The video is mostly a performance, plus a dancer, with everyone wearing luminous theatrical makeup with different lighting showing different aspects (Sam is also wearing some disconcerting contacts). Just looking at the way Corey is attacking his kit lets one know that what we are hearing is a sanitized version of what this band are going to be like when they cut loose. The bass is solid, linked in tight, while Nail is ready to really turn it up when he gets the opportunity and Sam seems to have been a closet rocker all the time. This song is going to make a lot of people sit up and take notice as the old hands have a new direction which is powerful and solid.  

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Beckoned

Beckoned is comprised of talented musicians from beloved Kiwi heavy-rock and metal bands 8 Foot Sativa, City of Souls, Devilskin, Chuganaut, Fornax Chemica and Bitumus, but in this incarnation they have resoundingly established a separate identity by featuring the wide-ranging vocal prowess of ascending singer-songwriter Sam Bartells.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Beckoned

Releases

There are no releases to display for Beckoned.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Crushfest @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 07/07/2023
07 Jul 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was down to Tuning Fork for the first night of the second Crushfest festival. Tonight was going to be Wellington and Auckland bands, and then some of the same will be playing at the second night in Wellington next month.
Read More...
Rain - Single Review: Love and War
15 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It has been quite a while since I last heard from Wellington-based singer songwriter Cathy Elizabeth, and back then Rain was seen solely as a studio project with Cathy being accompanied by Thomas Te Taite, who provided all the instrumentation including digital drums. Now they are a full band who have been performing live, and it is the first time they have recorded as such, with Thomas now, just providing acoustic guitar (plus engineering and producing etc.
Read More...
Lost Vessels - Single Review: All This Time
01 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I was not that impressed when I first saw Lost Vessels play at Crushfest, something they later admitted to me was the worst gig of their career, but since then they have improved in leaps and bounds. This has been noticed by others on the Auckland circuit as they are getting more opportunities with better support slots, and I was not at all surprised when they won the Ding Dong Lounge Battle Of The Bands in November last year.
Read More...
Unwanted Subject - Single Review: Sons of Savages
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I have caught Unwanted Subject in concert a few times over the last couple of years, and while they have been getting better each time I have seen them, I must admit that nothing prepared me for this, which right from the off is a monster. I have never heard them quite this is aggressive, nor as polished, and this multi-sectioned single sounds almost like a different band as they have pushed their metal roots to the max in this metalcore beast which sees them mixing and blending different genres to create something quite special.
Read More...
Gig Review: Stray Dogs @ AUX, Auckland - 26/05/2023
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to Ding Dong Lounge on a Friday night for one of their infamous Emo nights, which tonight was a three-band bill with Stray Dogs having an extended set, supported by Altaea and then up first we had Blindr, a band new to me. Blindr are a quartet featuring Bill Caldwell (vocals, guitar), Blake Woodfield (lead guitar), Jack Power (bass), and Charlie McCracken (drums).
Read More...
Gig Review: Turkey The Bird @ The Ministry of Folk, Auckland - 27/05/2023
27 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back up to Auckland Guide Centre in Mount Eden tonight for my second consecutive gig (Sol suggested it was a turkey sandwich as I am at Vader tomorrow) to see Taranaki’s finest, Turkey The Bird at The Ministry of Folk. Before that we of course had Hoop, who are Al Baxter (vocals, guitar, harmonica, banjo, mandolin), Nick Edgar (vocals, guitar, ukulele, flute, harmonica), Emily Allen (violin, viola), Glenn Coldham (bass) while tonight Gary Hunt was filling in for drummer Rusty Knox.
Read More...
This Silent Divide - Single Review: Beautiful Creature
25 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based melodic hard rock quartet This Silent Divide, entitled Beautiful Creature. I really enjoyed their Tall Stories EP, and they played a great gig at Dead Witch towards the end of last year, and this would have been recorded at about the same time.
Read More...
Gig Review: Emily Rice @ Your Local Coffee Roasters, Pukekohe - 24/05/2023
24 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this week I had a message from Emily Rice asking me if I lived in South Auckland. When I responded I did, she asked if I would be interested in coming along to an event she was putting on in a coffee shop in Pukekohe to celebrate the release of her new single, Warenoa.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • LUNCH
    Billie Eilish
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • I HAD SOME HELP
    Post Malone feat. Morgan Wallen
  • CHIHIRO
    Billie Eilish
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • BIRDS OF A FEATHER
    Billie Eilish
  • SKINNY
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem