28 Jan 2023
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Rising Tide - EP Review: The Hope We Die For

05 Jan 2023 // A review by Kev Rowland

Palmerston North deathcore band The Rising Tide had a great 2022, touring for the first time in six years and here we are now with their latest EP which is being released in time for a quick nationwide tour which sees them playing Auckland, New Plymouth, Wellington, and Christchurch. They may call themselves deathcore, but to be honest they probably have more in common with “straight” death based on these three songs, although there is a lot going on. There is some nice use of atmospheric piano which not only provides a very different sound to the rest of the music, giving us much needed contrast, but also brings in an element which is normally associated with black metal making it more of a blackened death style.

There are a few things which really make this EP stand out, the first being the vocals of Matthew Colledge, who definitely has some Corpsegrinder vibes in what he is doing, with the second being the arrangements. There is a huge amount of complexity within this, with switches in tempos and styles throughout, meaning there is a lot to discover, and it is way more than heads down and meet you at the end. Some bands put volume and aggression ahead of finesse, yet while this EP is designed to be played loudly, there is a lot going on. Take for example Mirage, where not only do we get a section of doom, but there is some nicely overlaid lead guitar taking it in a different direction, and multiple switches of tempos and styles – always aggressive, always extreme, but here is a band who understand the need for dynamics and contrast and that music can seem far heavier where there is space and quiet for the ears to relate to.

There are some wonderful drums rhythms, with kick drums often to the fore, but not to excess, the bass keeping it all grounded which then allows the guitars to either stay together or move out, and in the title cut we even get moments of djent! There is no doubt that The Rising Tide are a band who have a great deal to offer the extreme scene in Aotearoa and I am certainly looking forward to catching them in Auckland in a few weeks. This EP is a great introduction, and something which all metalheads ought to seek out.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

Releases

There are no releases to display for The Rising Tide.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Midnight Green & Kazia @ The Thirsty Dog, Auckland - 21/01/2022
21 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
After being blasted the previous night at Dead Witch, tonight I was at The Thirsty for what promised to be a very different affair indeed, with two soul/jazz/pop bands. Beforehand I was talking to the bar manager who told me that soon they will be closing for renovations, after which they will open up with the stage in a different place, and it promises to be much improved, so I am really looking forward to seeing the end results.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Rising Tide @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 20/01/2023
20 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back to Dead Witch tonight for my first time seeing The Rising Tide who were up from Palmerston North in support of their excellent new EP, The Hope We Die For. They had also invited a few other bands who I have seen before, namely Brawler NZHC who I saw supporting Xile, plus favourites Unwanted Subject and Pale Flag who were both at the Downfall of Humanity release show.
Read More...
Gig Review: Music In Parks - Helensville @ Helensville River Reserve, Auckland - 15/01/2023
15 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Each Summer, the Auckland Council put on a series of free outdoor concerts in different places around the city, and today was the second this year, and definitely had a country flavour with Keith Pereira, Louis Jarlov and Sam Bartells. Not only are the shows free, but they all take place in the afternoon, so this gig was set to take place between 1 and 4!
Read More...
Gig Review: Ovus @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 14/01/2023
15 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Having spent an incredible two weeks at home on South Island, it was now back up to Auckland and it was soon back into the live scene with my first gig at Dead Witch for 2023. Tonight was going to be interesting as I recently reviewed Ovus’s EP, Lucid, and it would be the first time I had seen Afterlight since they changed their name from Antebellum.
Read More...
Adam McGrath - Album Review: Dear Companions
08 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Due to many reasons, I have been somewhat late to the underground NZ scene but over the last few years have been fortunate enough to meet some incredible people, see some amazing performances, and hear some wonderful music. All of these come together in one man, Adam McGrath, leader of The Eastern.
Read More...
Holy Crime - Single Review: Play Toy
08 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Holy Crime are a relatively new band from Auckland, comprising Benny Richards (guitar, vocals), Tom Anderson (bass, vocals), Jacob Stutton (guitar) and Mat Hinton (drums), with Play Toy being their debut single. Sometimes, just sometimes, one hears a song and immediately a smile comes across the face and it stays there right until the end and that is the case with this one with its unabashed influences of The Darkness and Eighties glam rock.
Read More...
EP Review: Chasing Titans
28 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut EP by Auckland-based metalcore trio Chasing Titans who were formed in 2018 and comprise Adrian Govender (guitar, vocals), Sylvester Porizakova (bass, vocals), and Torrance Kam (drums). The name is inspired by the original Greek Titans and reflects the philosophy of never giving up on one’s biggest dreams and striving for greatness.
Read More...
Miinds - Single Review: Loveless
20 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Miinds came together in 2020, which was probably not the best time for a band to be forming, but they all knew each other from different projects and were soon writing music together, albeit remotely. Loveless is the first song they came up with, and is also their first ever release, ahead of an EP which will be coming out in February.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FLOWERS
    Miley Cyrus
  • KILL BILL
    SZA
  • ESCAPISM.
    RAYE feat. 070 Shake
  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SURE THING
    Miguel
  • PEOPLE
    Libianca
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CREEPIN'
    Metro Boomin, The Weeknd And 21 Savage
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem