3 Feb 2023
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Chasing Titans - EP Review: Chasing Titans

28 Dec 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Here we have the debut EP by Auckland-based metalcore trio Chasing Titans who were formed in 2018 and comprise Adrian Govender (guitar, vocals), Sylvester Porizakova (bass, vocals), and Torrance Kam (drums). The name is inspired by the original Greek Titans and reflects the philosophy of never giving up on one’s biggest dreams and striving for greatness. The tracks were recorded, mixed, and mastered by Ben Ruegg of Channeled at Quietly Loud Studios as they are fans of what he has been doing with his own material. This is quite removed from his own recordings though, but given Ben is a music teacher he is across all genres which is why this has come out so well.

With two singers following the normal rough/smooth melodic styles, they sound as if they have been paying close attention to Crooked Royals with a nice full-bodied attack and the two singers bouncing off each other and coming in before the other finishes the line so we get the feeling of pent-up aggression being released. This certainly never sounds like a debut as these guys are polished, tight and heavy, with some nice nuances in the guitars. It is a very full sound, and it will be interesting to catch them live to see if they can reproduce this in that environment or if we there is multiple layering taking place. There is never any room to hide in a trio, everyone must pull their weight, and that is exactly what is happening with all three musicians locked in, complex drum patterns often following what is being driven by the bass and guitar, while the bass sometimes follows the kick drum and at others is creating room behind the guitar which itself rarely stops and is always moving and driving on while the two singers crunch in over the top.

This has been deliberately produced as a single wall of sound, with very little space in the arrangement, which means that combined with the ferocity and passion this become something which will be appreciated by metalheads who may not normally tend towards this particular genre. There is a lot going on in a restricted timeframe and my main issue is with the total length as the three songs only give us approximately nine minutes of music and I would like to hear more. Debut single Cabin Fever was written during lockdown and explores the feeling of isolation and descent into madness, second single, Vengeance, is about revenge in the context of domestic abuse, while New Depravity, is inspired by the character Ferdinand Lyle from Penny Dreadful.

Overall, this is an interesting debut and I look forward to catching them at a gig in 2023.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Chasing Titans

Chasing Titans is an alternative metalcore band hailing from Auckland, New Zealand. Formed in 2018, this three-piece group made up of Adrian Govender (guitar/vocals), Sylvester Porizakova (bass/vocals), and Torrance Kam (drums) has been making waves in the local scene with their heavy sound and emotionally charged lyrics.

The name Chasing Titans, inspired by the Greek Titans, reflects the philosophy of never giving up on one’s biggest dreams and striving for greatness. It captures the spirit of perseverance, and the belief that anything is possible through hard work and determination.

Chasing Titans has gained a reputation for their intense and energetic live performances, with Penrose Underground calling their performance “Superb” and the highlight of the party, and From the Hip declaring them “an EPIC Metal Band” who “rocked so hard there were nails and screws falling from the ceiling boards!”.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Chasing Titans

Releases

Chasing Titans
Year: 2022
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Ding Dong Lounge 10th Birthday Part 1 @ Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 29/01/2023
03 Feb 2023 // by Kev Rowland
The original Ding Dong Lounge was founded in New York City in 2001 by Bill Nolan, opening on the upper west side of Manhattan and slowly gaining a following of talented artists, writers, actors, and musicians. In 2003, Bill Walsh opened Ding Dong Lounge in Melbourne, branding itself with a live gig atmosphere that easily upheld Ding Dong’s rock reputation.
Read More...
Beckoned - Single/Video Review: Luminous
01 Feb 2023 // by Kev Rowland
The word “supergroup” is not one to be bandied around lightly, yet that was very much the first thing which came to mind when I came across the new formation of Beckoned. During one of the many lockdowns, guitarist Nail Vincent (Devilskin) started working on new material, and he played some to his old bandmate, bassist Munro Goodwin (Sinate) and pretty soon they were working on the material together with drummer Corey Friedlander (City of Souls,8 Foot Sativa), but who would be the singer?
Read More...
Flying Man - Single Review: Under The Stars
31 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Flying Man is the stage name of Dunedin based Irish-born live-looping guitarist and singer/songwriter Alan Ned Gray. Flying Man’s song-writings sit in the electroacoustic realm - playing programmed beats, live looping and layered harmonies.
Read More...
Crying Club - EP Review: Big Water Bottle
31 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It is some 18 months since I last reviewed a recording by Crying Club, which was the single Taxi Man, but I did see them at EmoFest last year where three of the songs on this five-track thirteen-minute-long EP were played. While their music is solidly rooted in the indie scene, they manage to also bring in other genres as they cross genres, bringing rock and metal quite strongly into their poppy mix.
Read More...
Gig Review: Midnight Green & Kazia @ The Thirsty Dog, Auckland - 21/01/2022
21 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
After being blasted the previous night at Dead Witch, tonight I was at The Thirsty for what promised to be a very different affair indeed, with two soul/jazz/pop bands. Beforehand I was talking to the bar manager who told me that soon they will be closing for renovations, after which they will open up with the stage in a different place, and it promises to be much improved, so I am really looking forward to seeing the end results.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Rising Tide @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 20/01/2023
20 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back to Dead Witch tonight for my first time seeing The Rising Tide who were up from Palmerston North in support of their excellent new EP, The Hope We Die For. They had also invited a few other bands who I have seen before, namely Brawler NZHC who I saw supporting Xile, plus favourites Unwanted Subject and Pale Flag who were both at the Downfall of Humanity release show.
Read More...
Gig Review: Music In Parks - Helensville @ Helensville River Reserve, Auckland - 15/01/2023
15 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Each Summer, the Auckland Council put on a series of free outdoor concerts in different places around the city, and today was the second this year, and definitely had a country flavour with Keith Pereira, Louis Jarlov and Sam Bartells. Not only are the shows free, but they all take place in the afternoon, so this gig was set to take place between 1 and 4!
Read More...
Gig Review: Ovus @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 14/01/2023
15 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Having spent an incredible two weeks at home on South Island, it was now back up to Auckland and it was soon back into the live scene with my first gig at Dead Witch for 2023. Tonight was going to be interesting as I recently reviewed Ovus’s EP, Lucid, and it would be the first time I had seen Afterlight since they changed their name from Antebellum.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FLOWERS
    Miley Cyrus
  • KILL BILL
    SZA
  • ESCAPISM.
    RAYE feat. 070 Shake
  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SURE THING
    Miguel
  • PEOPLE
    Libianca
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CREEPIN'
    Metro Boomin, The Weeknd And 21 Savage
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem