22 Jun 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Chasing Titans - EP Review: Chasing Titans

28 Dec 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Here we have the debut EP by Auckland-based metalcore trio Chasing Titans who were formed in 2018 and comprise Adrian Govender (guitar, vocals), Sylvester Porizakova (bass, vocals), and Torrance Kam (drums). The name is inspired by the original Greek Titans and reflects the philosophy of never giving up on one’s biggest dreams and striving for greatness. The tracks were recorded, mixed, and mastered by Ben Ruegg of Channeled at Quietly Loud Studios as they are fans of what he has been doing with his own material. This is quite removed from his own recordings though, but given Ben is a music teacher he is across all genres which is why this has come out so well.

With two singers following the normal rough/smooth melodic styles, they sound as if they have been paying close attention to Crooked Royals with a nice full-bodied attack and the two singers bouncing off each other and coming in before the other finishes the line so we get the feeling of pent-up aggression being released. This certainly never sounds like a debut as these guys are polished, tight and heavy, with some nice nuances in the guitars. It is a very full sound, and it will be interesting to catch them live to see if they can reproduce this in that environment or if we there is multiple layering taking place. There is never any room to hide in a trio, everyone must pull their weight, and that is exactly what is happening with all three musicians locked in, complex drum patterns often following what is being driven by the bass and guitar, while the bass sometimes follows the kick drum and at others is creating room behind the guitar which itself rarely stops and is always moving and driving on while the two singers crunch in over the top.

This has been deliberately produced as a single wall of sound, with very little space in the arrangement, which means that combined with the ferocity and passion this become something which will be appreciated by metalheads who may not normally tend towards this particular genre. There is a lot going on in a restricted timeframe and my main issue is with the total length as the three songs only give us approximately nine minutes of music and I would like to hear more. Debut single Cabin Fever was written during lockdown and explores the feeling of isolation and descent into madness, second single, Vengeance, is about revenge in the context of domestic abuse, while New Depravity, is inspired by the character Ferdinand Lyle from Penny Dreadful.

Overall, this is an interesting debut and I look forward to catching them at a gig in 2023.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Chasing Titans

Chasing Titans is an alternative metalcore band hailing from Auckland, New Zealand. Formed in 2018, this three-piece group made up of Adrian Govender (guitar/vocals), Sylvester Porizakova (bass/vocals), and Torrance Kam (drums/backing vocals) has been making waves in the local scene with their distinct and powerful amalgamation of metalcore, infused with elements of hip hop and electronica, coupled with emotionally charged and poignant lyrics/

The band released their self-titled debut EP in December 2022, which was met with an overwhelmingly positive reception. New Zealand music critic Kev Roland (Muzic.net.nz) said, “This certainly doesn’t sound like a debut as these guys are polished, tight and heavy,” while US label Moosic Entertainment called it “a requirement for you to put it in your playlist!”. All three singles from the EP, Cabin Fever, Vengeance, and New Depravity have charted and been featured on radio and media in the US, UK, Canada, France, Australia, and Mexico, with Cabin Fever achieving a peak position of number 3 on the Top 10 list on Valley FM 89.5 (Australia), garnering further acclaim for the band.

The rapid success of their EP on an international level propelled them to secure a remarkable deal with European metal label, Sliptrick Records, in June 2023. In February 2024 the band proudly announced their forthcoming debut album, Infinite Paradox, will be released via Sliptrick Records and the Dead Pulse record store on March 26th, 2024.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Chasing Titans

Releases

Infinite Paradox
Year: 2024
Type: Album
Chasing Titans
Year: 2022
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Crushfest @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 07/07/2023
07 Jul 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was down to Tuning Fork for the first night of the second Crushfest festival. Tonight was going to be Wellington and Auckland bands, and then some of the same will be playing at the second night in Wellington next month.
Read More...
Rain - Single Review: Love and War
15 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It has been quite a while since I last heard from Wellington-based singer songwriter Cathy Elizabeth, and back then Rain was seen solely as a studio project with Cathy being accompanied by Thomas Te Taite, who provided all the instrumentation including digital drums. Now they are a full band who have been performing live, and it is the first time they have recorded as such, with Thomas now, just providing acoustic guitar (plus engineering and producing etc.
Read More...
Lost Vessels - Single Review: All This Time
01 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I was not that impressed when I first saw Lost Vessels play at Crushfest, something they later admitted to me was the worst gig of their career, but since then they have improved in leaps and bounds. This has been noticed by others on the Auckland circuit as they are getting more opportunities with better support slots, and I was not at all surprised when they won the Ding Dong Lounge Battle Of The Bands in November last year.
Read More...
Unwanted Subject - Single Review: Sons of Savages
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I have caught Unwanted Subject in concert a few times over the last couple of years, and while they have been getting better each time I have seen them, I must admit that nothing prepared me for this, which right from the off is a monster. I have never heard them quite this is aggressive, nor as polished, and this multi-sectioned single sounds almost like a different band as they have pushed their metal roots to the max in this metalcore beast which sees them mixing and blending different genres to create something quite special.
Read More...
Gig Review: Stray Dogs @ AUX, Auckland - 26/05/2023
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to Ding Dong Lounge on a Friday night for one of their infamous Emo nights, which tonight was a three-band bill with Stray Dogs having an extended set, supported by Altaea and then up first we had Blindr, a band new to me. Blindr are a quartet featuring Bill Caldwell (vocals, guitar), Blake Woodfield (lead guitar), Jack Power (bass), and Charlie McCracken (drums).
Read More...
Gig Review: Turkey The Bird @ The Ministry of Folk, Auckland - 27/05/2023
27 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back up to Auckland Guide Centre in Mount Eden tonight for my second consecutive gig (Sol suggested it was a turkey sandwich as I am at Vader tomorrow) to see Taranaki’s finest, Turkey The Bird at The Ministry of Folk. Before that we of course had Hoop, who are Al Baxter (vocals, guitar, harmonica, banjo, mandolin), Nick Edgar (vocals, guitar, ukulele, flute, harmonica), Emily Allen (violin, viola), Glenn Coldham (bass) while tonight Gary Hunt was filling in for drummer Rusty Knox.
Read More...
This Silent Divide - Single Review: Beautiful Creature
25 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based melodic hard rock quartet This Silent Divide, entitled Beautiful Creature. I really enjoyed their Tall Stories EP, and they played a great gig at Dead Witch towards the end of last year, and this would have been recorded at about the same time.
Read More...
Gig Review: Emily Rice @ Your Local Coffee Roasters, Pukekohe - 24/05/2023
24 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this week I had a message from Emily Rice asking me if I lived in South Auckland. When I responded I did, she asked if I would be interested in coming along to an event she was putting on in a coffee shop in Pukekohe to celebrate the release of her new single, Warenoa.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • HOUDINI
    Eminem
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • BIRDS OF A FEATHER
    Billie Eilish
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • I HAD SOME HELP
    Post Malone feat. Morgan Wallen
  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem