3 Feb 2023
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Julian Terris - EP Review: Tutu

17 Dec 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Released last year, Julian Terris’ debut solo EP, Tutu, contains four tracks and he then followed this up with Tama and Taka. There are plans for another four-track EP, after which they will made available as a 16-track album while people can instead go for the EP's if they would rather. He had previously formed two bands, The Majic Roundabout and MOTA, before going out on his own and that experience shows in these four songs which are an absolute delight. He provides the vocals and steel string acoustic rhythm and put together a strong team in Tom Healy on electric guitars, Dan Antunovich on bass, Dr. Small all keyboards, Nick Atkinson on tenor and baritone sax, bass clarinet and a regular (b-flat) clarinet, while it was produced by Greg Haver who also provided drums and percussion. Engineered by Scott Seabright, it was then mixed by Clint Murphy, and mastered by Grammy Award winner Ryan Smith. So there has been significant investment in getting the right players and production team which means there is no surprise whatsoever that the musicianship is top quality and sonically this kicks ass, but what is it like?

I had no idea what to expect, but I do know that after looking at the artwork this was not it. Somehow, I thought it was going to be some synth-driven dance monster with meaningless lyrics and massively auto tuned vocals, but instead we have four songs which are different to each other, all from a rock base with pop elements, plenty of hooks, interesting melodies and a lot going on inside the arrangements. Atkinson may not have huge parts to plat, but when he comes in it is incredibly dramatic, while Haver shows he is a demon on the drums as well as behind a desk and I really should make a special mention of Antunovich as his contribution is immense in the way he sits just in front of the drums to put down the floor or adds additional melodies.

Then at the front we have Julian, who provided all the material (with the exception of the bridge in Tumbleweed) and has told me this is the first written review he has received, which I find incredibly hard to understand. It does not matter who is playing or producing if the songs aren’t there, and this morning I played this EP four or five times back-to-back and found I was enjoying it more each time I listened to it as there is something here which keeps it fresh and inviting. There is a confidence here, a polish which means this sounds as if it has come from a seasoned performer, one who is out to have fun and enjoy himself while refusing to sit in any predetermined box. This is great for him and for listeners, while of course a nightmare for reviewers who need to describe this, but he goes from the likes of Lennon in some places to Runaway Train which makes me think of Horslips while having no Celtic influences in there at all!

This is a singer/songwriter from the 70's who is not going to fix in any particular box as he is not a pigeon and instead has brought us four songs which are dynamic, free-flowing, rocky with a huge sound, and definitely something to seek out. Bring on the album!

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Julian Terris

I have been playing and writing since I was 10 years old. I formed two bands in Wellington (NZ) The Majic Roundabout and MOTA, before striking out on my own. I started playing guitar at 10, and I also play keyboards (piano and sequencing) sax, and harmonica. I specialize in steel-string acoustic guitar and my early songwriting with the Magic Roundabout writing psychedelic punk-pop-rock. My earliest band was a punk-rock outfit and after the Majic Roundabout broke up, I got back into playing in the classic four-piece format, with an emphasis on post-punk rock, still incorporating my earlier influences from The Majic Roundabout.

After MOTA split, I realized that what I loved most about music was writing songs and producing them. Since then, I have been a "solo" artist, writing my material and producing it with Greg Haver and his studio musicians/producers, recording at Parachute Studios in Three Kings, Auckland New Zealand. I funded the album myself, all twelve tracks were recorded at Parachute, with Greg Haver Producing, Scott Seabright engineering, Clint Murphy mixing, and Ryan Smith mastering. I wrote all 12 tracks, including the melodies, lyrics, and acoustic guitar parts, and of course, sang them. They were recorded in 2020 and 2021, and my influences include David Bowie, The Beatles, The Doors, and The Rolling Stones, the material includes rock, jazz, alternative, country, and classical.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Julian Terris

Releases

There are no releases to display for Julian Terris.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Ding Dong Lounge 10th Birthday Part 1 @ Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 29/01/2023
03 Feb 2023 // by Kev Rowland
The original Ding Dong Lounge was founded in New York City in 2001 by Bill Nolan, opening on the upper west side of Manhattan and slowly gaining a following of talented artists, writers, actors, and musicians. In 2003, Bill Walsh opened Ding Dong Lounge in Melbourne, branding itself with a live gig atmosphere that easily upheld Ding Dong’s rock reputation.
Read More...
Beckoned - Single/Video Review: Luminous
01 Feb 2023 // by Kev Rowland
The word “supergroup” is not one to be bandied around lightly, yet that was very much the first thing which came to mind when I came across the new formation of Beckoned. During one of the many lockdowns, guitarist Nail Vincent (Devilskin) started working on new material, and he played some to his old bandmate, bassist Munro Goodwin (Sinate) and pretty soon they were working on the material together with drummer Corey Friedlander (City of Souls,8 Foot Sativa), but who would be the singer?
Read More...
Flying Man - Single Review: Under The Stars
31 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Flying Man is the stage name of Dunedin based Irish-born live-looping guitarist and singer/songwriter Alan Ned Gray. Flying Man’s song-writings sit in the electroacoustic realm - playing programmed beats, live looping and layered harmonies.
Read More...
Crying Club - EP Review: Big Water Bottle
31 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It is some 18 months since I last reviewed a recording by Crying Club, which was the single Taxi Man, but I did see them at EmoFest last year where three of the songs on this five-track thirteen-minute-long EP were played. While their music is solidly rooted in the indie scene, they manage to also bring in other genres as they cross genres, bringing rock and metal quite strongly into their poppy mix.
Read More...
Gig Review: Midnight Green & Kazia @ The Thirsty Dog, Auckland - 21/01/2022
21 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
After being blasted the previous night at Dead Witch, tonight I was at The Thirsty for what promised to be a very different affair indeed, with two soul/jazz/pop bands. Beforehand I was talking to the bar manager who told me that soon they will be closing for renovations, after which they will open up with the stage in a different place, and it promises to be much improved, so I am really looking forward to seeing the end results.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Rising Tide @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 20/01/2023
20 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back to Dead Witch tonight for my first time seeing The Rising Tide who were up from Palmerston North in support of their excellent new EP, The Hope We Die For. They had also invited a few other bands who I have seen before, namely Brawler NZHC who I saw supporting Xile, plus favourites Unwanted Subject and Pale Flag who were both at the Downfall of Humanity release show.
Read More...
Gig Review: Music In Parks - Helensville @ Helensville River Reserve, Auckland - 15/01/2023
15 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Each Summer, the Auckland Council put on a series of free outdoor concerts in different places around the city, and today was the second this year, and definitely had a country flavour with Keith Pereira, Louis Jarlov and Sam Bartells. Not only are the shows free, but they all take place in the afternoon, so this gig was set to take place between 1 and 4!
Read More...
Gig Review: Ovus @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 14/01/2023
15 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Having spent an incredible two weeks at home on South Island, it was now back up to Auckland and it was soon back into the live scene with my first gig at Dead Witch for 2023. Tonight was going to be interesting as I recently reviewed Ovus’s EP, Lucid, and it would be the first time I had seen Afterlight since they changed their name from Antebellum.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FLOWERS
    Miley Cyrus
  • KILL BILL
    SZA
  • ESCAPISM.
    RAYE feat. 070 Shake
  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SURE THING
    Miguel
  • PEOPLE
    Libianca
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CREEPIN'
    Metro Boomin, The Weeknd And 21 Savage
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem