27 Feb 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Ovus - EP Review: Lucid

17 Dec 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

There are times when one cannot help but wonder why a band is not better known (or more active), and that is the case for Ovus. Noticing a quote about them in the press release from Ambient Light I sought out the full review to discover that it was about a gig they played in Auckland in 2018 supporting one of their inspirations, Intervals. During that set, the band actually played two of the three songs from this EP – nothing strange in that you might say, except this is a brand-new release and the gig was from four years ago. They also have the same line-up in Adam Sive (guitar), Jig Jasmat (drums), Joe Murphy (guitar) and Josh Murray (big guitar), so lack of stability is also probably not why it has taken them so long to follow up, but apparently, they are planning a nationwide tour next year so hopefully I will catch them again.

There are very few bands who manage to really capture the imagination as an instrumental act, as many listeners are there for the singer, often seeing the rest of the musicians as supports as opposed to equal members. Although every progressive band prides themselves on being able to perform long instrumental passages there are not many who have reached wide acclaim without a singer of some sort, with Ozric Tentacles being an obvious exception, and even though The Fierce and The Dead have released instrumental albums in the past, their new material now features a singer. Progressive bands are known for their musical prowess, and the lack of a singer means there are no constraints of having to fit into a normal verse/chorus structure and sometimes complexity can get in the way of musicality which makes the songs difficult to understand, but fortunately here we have music being presented to us in a complicated manner which works incredibly well.

As well as Intervals they have previously cited Animals As Leaders, Opeth, and Snarky Puppy as influences but Protest The Hero sounds like it has a place on their players, while Dream Theater is another (although there are no keyboards). Given that at least some of the material is quite old, there is no surprise that it comes across as well balanced, with every musician knowing their part and bringing it, big time. Every drumbeat, every note all have their place, with the bass sat in tight on the guitars providing depth to the melody and the guitars switching leads, yet there is also a fine understanding of the need for dynamics and the use of space with many different techniques being brought to bear. The result is a 17-minute-long EP which is a delight and will be thoroughly enjoyed by progheads who enjoy their music to come at them from the metallic end of the spectrum. Well worthy of investigation.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Ovus

Prog instrumentalists Ovus present their highly anticipated debut EP, Lucid. Experience powerful, mind bending soundscapes drenched in playful melodies. Lucid is layered with meticulous details upon tight rhythmic foundations that will keep you reaching for the repeat button and discovering new flourishes on every listen.

Ovus came together for the joy of creating music without boundaries. The last few years have seen Ovus share the stage with notable local and international bands including Canadian prog kings and inspirational heroes, Intervals.

Highly regarded for their lively and energetic shows, Ovus are looking to take things on the road in early 2023, coming to Auckland, Hamilton, Napier and Christchurch.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Ovus

Releases

Lucid
Year: 2022
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Crushfest @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 07/07/2023
07 Jul 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was down to Tuning Fork for the first night of the second Crushfest festival. Tonight was going to be Wellington and Auckland bands, and then some of the same will be playing at the second night in Wellington next month.
Read More...
Rain - Single Review: Love and War
15 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It has been quite a while since I last heard from Wellington-based singer songwriter Cathy Elizabeth, and back then Rain was seen solely as a studio project with Cathy being accompanied by Thomas Te Taite, who provided all the instrumentation including digital drums. Now they are a full band who have been performing live, and it is the first time they have recorded as such, with Thomas now, just providing acoustic guitar (plus engineering and producing etc.
Read More...
Lost Vessels - Single Review: All This Time
01 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I was not that impressed when I first saw Lost Vessels play at Crushfest, something they later admitted to me was the worst gig of their career, but since then they have improved in leaps and bounds. This has been noticed by others on the Auckland circuit as they are getting more opportunities with better support slots, and I was not at all surprised when they won the Ding Dong Lounge Battle Of The Bands in November last year.
Read More...
Unwanted Subject - Single Review: Sons of Savages
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I have caught Unwanted Subject in concert a few times over the last couple of years, and while they have been getting better each time I have seen them, I must admit that nothing prepared me for this, which right from the off is a monster. I have never heard them quite this is aggressive, nor as polished, and this multi-sectioned single sounds almost like a different band as they have pushed their metal roots to the max in this metalcore beast which sees them mixing and blending different genres to create something quite special.
Read More...
Gig Review: Stray Dogs @ AUX, Auckland - 26/05/2023
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to Ding Dong Lounge on a Friday night for one of their infamous Emo nights, which tonight was a three-band bill with Stray Dogs having an extended set, supported by Altaea and then up first we had Blindr, a band new to me. Blindr are a quartet featuring Bill Caldwell (vocals, guitar), Blake Woodfield (lead guitar), Jack Power (bass), and Charlie McCracken (drums).
Read More...
Gig Review: Turkey The Bird @ The Ministry of Folk, Auckland - 27/05/2023
27 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back up to Auckland Guide Centre in Mount Eden tonight for my second consecutive gig (Sol suggested it was a turkey sandwich as I am at Vader tomorrow) to see Taranaki’s finest, Turkey The Bird at The Ministry of Folk. Before that we of course had Hoop, who are Al Baxter (vocals, guitar, harmonica, banjo, mandolin), Nick Edgar (vocals, guitar, ukulele, flute, harmonica), Emily Allen (violin, viola), Glenn Coldham (bass) while tonight Gary Hunt was filling in for drummer Rusty Knox.
Read More...
This Silent Divide - Single Review: Beautiful Creature
25 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based melodic hard rock quartet This Silent Divide, entitled Beautiful Creature. I really enjoyed their Tall Stories EP, and they played a great gig at Dead Witch towards the end of last year, and this would have been recorded at about the same time.
Read More...
Gig Review: Emily Rice @ Your Local Coffee Roasters, Pukekohe - 24/05/2023
24 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this week I had a message from Emily Rice asking me if I lived in South Auckland. When I responded I did, she asked if I would be interested in coming along to an event she was putting on in a coffee shop in Pukekohe to celebrate the release of her new single, Warenoa.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TEXAS HOLD 'EM
    Beyonce
  • PRAISE JAH IN THE MOONLIGHT
    YG Marley
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • LOVIN ON ME
    Jack Harlow
  • CRUEL SUMMER
    Taylor Swift
  • GREEDY
    Tate McRae
  • SNOOZE
    SZA
  • TRAINING SEASON
    Dua Lipa
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem