3 Feb 2023
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Stewart Pedley - EP Review: Charlie Watts' Shaving Kit

17 Dec 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

There is no doubt that one of the top producers in Aotearoa is the marvellous Dave Rhodes, so when he makes contact to let people know about a project he has just been working on as he is so impressed, then everyone is going to sit up and take notice. Based in Coromandel, Stewart Pedley performs as half of the Brazilian-Kiwi duo Let’s Go Descarrego! and in the punk-rock band Corrosive Moses. The other half of Let’s Go Descarrego! is Leo Magri and he performs on all four tracks on this EP with other musicians and backing singers being added where necessary, with Stewart providing all lead vocals, plus guitars, bass, mandolin and backing vocals, thus creating the group Stewart Pedley & The Sinners. What we have here is a collection of songs with a nice early 80's vibe, from a proper old-fashioned songwriter who does what he wants and doesn’t necessarily fit into any particular box.

We kick off with the electric guitar driven power punk number To Be A Man, which both sets the tone for the EP and also destroys it as this is the only song like it on here! It is punchy, powerful, with hints to the American pop punk scene but with gritty vocals and loads of space within the arrangement. It is a song which cries out to be played live as it is blasting fun from beginning to end. I fully expected the rest of the songs to be like this, so was somewhat surprised when Ana commenced in a far more reflective manner, albeit still with electric guitar and some lovely bass runs. Here they have been joined by Heather Bolton on keyboards who assisted with some nice held-down keyboards, and just when I felt I could see what was happening the vocals changed inflection after 50 seconds, the guitars started riffing and we were off. Vocally there is not much change in the second verse, but the music is now driving, so they come across quite differently, and the song ends with loads of feedback after the poignant words Ana, this grief is a stone.

It is the third song which could be the breakthrough for Stewart, Phone Call To My Dad At Xmas. He is more talking then singing, and it really sounds as if it is a one-sided conversation, and the trumpets and delivery did remind me of Stop The Cavalry, which was a rather unusual release for Jona Lewie which became recognised as a classic. We hear about the kids playing in the sun, asking if it is night time in Ireland, Christmas lights and so much more, and it ends with Stewart singing gently, accompanied by his acoustic, telling his dad he loves him and wishing him Merry Christmas. The final song, This One’s For The Winos, The Working Girls, The Lovers, And The Crowds Passing By is sat in the blues with some nice brass as accompaniment.

This EP is a delight, from someone who is doing just what he wants as opposed to following any crowd and is all the better for it. Punk, indie, totally out of left field, if this was 45 years ago then Stewart would have found a home on Stiff Records, and rightly so.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Stewart Pedley

"Eclectic in style" is a good way to describe the music of Stewart Pedley. Over the course of 30 or so years of performing, he has drawn from a wide range of influences - from rock to folk, to New Orleans groove, to blues and punk and jazz - and has thrown them together to form a distinctive voice in songwriting. Front and centre of his music, always, is an attention to lyrics and a knack for good storytelling.

Stewart is based in Coromandel, New Zealand, and performs solo, as half of the Brazilian-Kiwi duo Let’s Go Descarrego!, and in the punk-rock band Corrosive Moses. He has recently released an EP by Stewart Pedley & The Sinners, titled Charlie Watts’ Shaving Kit. In 2014 he won the Best Original Song Competition.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Stewart Pedley

Releases

Charlie Watts' Shaving Kit
Year: 2022
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Ding Dong Lounge 10th Birthday Part 1 @ Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 29/01/2023
03 Feb 2023 // by Kev Rowland
The original Ding Dong Lounge was founded in New York City in 2001 by Bill Nolan, opening on the upper west side of Manhattan and slowly gaining a following of talented artists, writers, actors, and musicians. In 2003, Bill Walsh opened Ding Dong Lounge in Melbourne, branding itself with a live gig atmosphere that easily upheld Ding Dong’s rock reputation.
Read More...
Beckoned - Single/Video Review: Luminous
01 Feb 2023 // by Kev Rowland
The word “supergroup” is not one to be bandied around lightly, yet that was very much the first thing which came to mind when I came across the new formation of Beckoned. During one of the many lockdowns, guitarist Nail Vincent (Devilskin) started working on new material, and he played some to his old bandmate, bassist Munro Goodwin (Sinate) and pretty soon they were working on the material together with drummer Corey Friedlander (City of Souls,8 Foot Sativa), but who would be the singer?
Read More...
Flying Man - Single Review: Under The Stars
31 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Flying Man is the stage name of Dunedin based Irish-born live-looping guitarist and singer/songwriter Alan Ned Gray. Flying Man’s song-writings sit in the electroacoustic realm - playing programmed beats, live looping and layered harmonies.
Read More...
Crying Club - EP Review: Big Water Bottle
31 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It is some 18 months since I last reviewed a recording by Crying Club, which was the single Taxi Man, but I did see them at EmoFest last year where three of the songs on this five-track thirteen-minute-long EP were played. While their music is solidly rooted in the indie scene, they manage to also bring in other genres as they cross genres, bringing rock and metal quite strongly into their poppy mix.
Read More...
Gig Review: Midnight Green & Kazia @ The Thirsty Dog, Auckland - 21/01/2022
21 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
After being blasted the previous night at Dead Witch, tonight I was at The Thirsty for what promised to be a very different affair indeed, with two soul/jazz/pop bands. Beforehand I was talking to the bar manager who told me that soon they will be closing for renovations, after which they will open up with the stage in a different place, and it promises to be much improved, so I am really looking forward to seeing the end results.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Rising Tide @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 20/01/2023
20 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back to Dead Witch tonight for my first time seeing The Rising Tide who were up from Palmerston North in support of their excellent new EP, The Hope We Die For. They had also invited a few other bands who I have seen before, namely Brawler NZHC who I saw supporting Xile, plus favourites Unwanted Subject and Pale Flag who were both at the Downfall of Humanity release show.
Read More...
Gig Review: Music In Parks - Helensville @ Helensville River Reserve, Auckland - 15/01/2023
15 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Each Summer, the Auckland Council put on a series of free outdoor concerts in different places around the city, and today was the second this year, and definitely had a country flavour with Keith Pereira, Louis Jarlov and Sam Bartells. Not only are the shows free, but they all take place in the afternoon, so this gig was set to take place between 1 and 4!
Read More...
Gig Review: Ovus @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 14/01/2023
15 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Having spent an incredible two weeks at home on South Island, it was now back up to Auckland and it was soon back into the live scene with my first gig at Dead Witch for 2023. Tonight was going to be interesting as I recently reviewed Ovus’s EP, Lucid, and it would be the first time I had seen Afterlight since they changed their name from Antebellum.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FLOWERS
    Miley Cyrus
  • KILL BILL
    SZA
  • ESCAPISM.
    RAYE feat. 070 Shake
  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SURE THING
    Miguel
  • PEOPLE
    Libianca
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CREEPIN'
    Metro Boomin, The Weeknd And 21 Savage
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem