26 Feb 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Stewart Pedley - EP Review: Charlie Watts' Shaving Kit

17 Dec 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

There is no doubt that one of the top producers in Aotearoa is the marvellous Dave Rhodes, so when he makes contact to let people know about a project he has just been working on as he is so impressed, then everyone is going to sit up and take notice. Based in Coromandel, Stewart Pedley performs as half of the Brazilian-Kiwi duo Let’s Go Descarrego! and in the punk-rock band Corrosive Moses. The other half of Let’s Go Descarrego! is Leo Magri and he performs on all four tracks on this EP with other musicians and backing singers being added where necessary, with Stewart providing all lead vocals, plus guitars, bass, mandolin and backing vocals, thus creating the group Stewart Pedley & The Sinners. What we have here is a collection of songs with a nice early 80's vibe, from a proper old-fashioned songwriter who does what he wants and doesn’t necessarily fit into any particular box.

We kick off with the electric guitar driven power punk number To Be A Man, which both sets the tone for the EP and also destroys it as this is the only song like it on here! It is punchy, powerful, with hints to the American pop punk scene but with gritty vocals and loads of space within the arrangement. It is a song which cries out to be played live as it is blasting fun from beginning to end. I fully expected the rest of the songs to be like this, so was somewhat surprised when Ana commenced in a far more reflective manner, albeit still with electric guitar and some lovely bass runs. Here they have been joined by Heather Bolton on keyboards who assisted with some nice held-down keyboards, and just when I felt I could see what was happening the vocals changed inflection after 50 seconds, the guitars started riffing and we were off. Vocally there is not much change in the second verse, but the music is now driving, so they come across quite differently, and the song ends with loads of feedback after the poignant words Ana, this grief is a stone.

It is the third song which could be the breakthrough for Stewart, Phone Call To My Dad At Xmas. He is more talking then singing, and it really sounds as if it is a one-sided conversation, and the trumpets and delivery did remind me of Stop The Cavalry, which was a rather unusual release for Jona Lewie which became recognised as a classic. We hear about the kids playing in the sun, asking if it is night time in Ireland, Christmas lights and so much more, and it ends with Stewart singing gently, accompanied by his acoustic, telling his dad he loves him and wishing him Merry Christmas. The final song, This One’s For The Winos, The Working Girls, The Lovers, And The Crowds Passing By is sat in the blues with some nice brass as accompaniment.

This EP is a delight, from someone who is doing just what he wants as opposed to following any crowd and is all the better for it. Punk, indie, totally out of left field, if this was 45 years ago then Stewart would have found a home on Stiff Records, and rightly so.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Stewart Pedley

"Eclectic in style" is a good way to describe the music of Stewart Pedley. Over the course of 30 or so years of performing, he has drawn from a wide range of influences - from rock to folk, to New Orleans groove, to blues and punk and jazz - and has thrown them together to form a distinctive voice in songwriting. Front and centre of his music, always, is an attention to lyrics and a knack for good storytelling.

Stewart is based in Coromandel, New Zealand, and performs solo, as half of the Brazilian-Kiwi duo Let’s Go Descarrego!, and in the punk-rock band Corrosive Moses. He has recently released an EP by Stewart Pedley & The Sinners, titled Charlie Watts’ Shaving Kit. In 2014 he won the Best Original Song Competition.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Stewart Pedley

Releases

Charlie Watts' Shaving Kit
Year: 2022
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Crushfest @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 07/07/2023
07 Jul 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was down to Tuning Fork for the first night of the second Crushfest festival. Tonight was going to be Wellington and Auckland bands, and then some of the same will be playing at the second night in Wellington next month.
Read More...
Rain - Single Review: Love and War
15 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It has been quite a while since I last heard from Wellington-based singer songwriter Cathy Elizabeth, and back then Rain was seen solely as a studio project with Cathy being accompanied by Thomas Te Taite, who provided all the instrumentation including digital drums. Now they are a full band who have been performing live, and it is the first time they have recorded as such, with Thomas now, just providing acoustic guitar (plus engineering and producing etc.
Read More...
Lost Vessels - Single Review: All This Time
01 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I was not that impressed when I first saw Lost Vessels play at Crushfest, something they later admitted to me was the worst gig of their career, but since then they have improved in leaps and bounds. This has been noticed by others on the Auckland circuit as they are getting more opportunities with better support slots, and I was not at all surprised when they won the Ding Dong Lounge Battle Of The Bands in November last year.
Read More...
Unwanted Subject - Single Review: Sons of Savages
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I have caught Unwanted Subject in concert a few times over the last couple of years, and while they have been getting better each time I have seen them, I must admit that nothing prepared me for this, which right from the off is a monster. I have never heard them quite this is aggressive, nor as polished, and this multi-sectioned single sounds almost like a different band as they have pushed their metal roots to the max in this metalcore beast which sees them mixing and blending different genres to create something quite special.
Read More...
Gig Review: Stray Dogs @ AUX, Auckland - 26/05/2023
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to Ding Dong Lounge on a Friday night for one of their infamous Emo nights, which tonight was a three-band bill with Stray Dogs having an extended set, supported by Altaea and then up first we had Blindr, a band new to me. Blindr are a quartet featuring Bill Caldwell (vocals, guitar), Blake Woodfield (lead guitar), Jack Power (bass), and Charlie McCracken (drums).
Read More...
Gig Review: Turkey The Bird @ The Ministry of Folk, Auckland - 27/05/2023
27 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back up to Auckland Guide Centre in Mount Eden tonight for my second consecutive gig (Sol suggested it was a turkey sandwich as I am at Vader tomorrow) to see Taranaki’s finest, Turkey The Bird at The Ministry of Folk. Before that we of course had Hoop, who are Al Baxter (vocals, guitar, harmonica, banjo, mandolin), Nick Edgar (vocals, guitar, ukulele, flute, harmonica), Emily Allen (violin, viola), Glenn Coldham (bass) while tonight Gary Hunt was filling in for drummer Rusty Knox.
Read More...
This Silent Divide - Single Review: Beautiful Creature
25 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based melodic hard rock quartet This Silent Divide, entitled Beautiful Creature. I really enjoyed their Tall Stories EP, and they played a great gig at Dead Witch towards the end of last year, and this would have been recorded at about the same time.
Read More...
Gig Review: Emily Rice @ Your Local Coffee Roasters, Pukekohe - 24/05/2023
24 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this week I had a message from Emily Rice asking me if I lived in South Auckland. When I responded I did, she asked if I would be interested in coming along to an event she was putting on in a coffee shop in Pukekohe to celebrate the release of her new single, Warenoa.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TEXAS HOLD 'EM
    Beyonce
  • PRAISE JAH IN THE MOONLIGHT
    YG Marley
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • LOVIN ON ME
    Jack Harlow
  • CRUEL SUMMER
    Taylor Swift
  • GREEDY
    Tate McRae
  • SNOOZE
    SZA
  • TRAINING SEASON
    Dua Lipa
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem