21 Feb 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Connor Vazey - Single Review: Two Moons Feat. Antony Pickard

17 Dec 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

When I was asked to review the debut single by 13-year-old Connor Vazey I had no idea what to expect but must admit to being a little concerned as it is rare for someone this young to produce something anyone outside of the family will enjoy. Mind you, I did some research and saw he formed a band last year, Cor-Roc, when he was just 12 and they are already gigging while his dad is also a performer and songwriter, plus here he also used an older singer to provide the vocals. That all being said, when I put this on, I was totally unprepared for the following 4:30 minutes, as there is huge depth within this Americana piece which is bringing together multiple influences and is a delight from beginning to end.

There is a full band in operation, with both a pianist and keyboard player with the latter providing some nice synth strings at times, and a rhythm section which keep it tight while never overpowering with the drummer utilising rim shots at the beginning. However, all of this is the support for the two main elements, Connor’s acoustic leads and Antony’s wonderful vocals. Antony has a nice touch of gravel, which he modifies in a very melodic tone, and there are times when this is more of a ballad than a rocker although there is always the hint they could move out of the more country ethic (they never do). Connor’s role, as well as writing the song with his dad, is providing guitar throughout, including some noodling leads which tie everything together. These are not blisteringly fast, but instead are musical as they concentrate on the melody. The result is a song and performance which never sounds as if a 13-year-old has been involved, and Connor is definitely a name to keep an eye on.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Connor Vazey

Connor Vazey is a young talented 13 year old musician from Auckland. Connor is Lead Guitarist for the teenage band COR-ROC from Beachlands. Connor has also written his own debut single Two Moons which he has teamed up with Antony Pickard from The Vazey Collective on Vocals.

Together these two have managed to write and complete a beautiful love song, Connor plays the Lead Guitar and wrote the music and Lyrics with help from his Dad, Rob Vazey an accomplished song writer for The Vazey Collective.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Connor Vazey

Releases

There are no releases to display for Connor Vazey.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Crushfest @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 07/07/2023
07 Jul 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was down to Tuning Fork for the first night of the second Crushfest festival. Tonight was going to be Wellington and Auckland bands, and then some of the same will be playing at the second night in Wellington next month.
Read More...
Rain - Single Review: Love and War
15 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It has been quite a while since I last heard from Wellington-based singer songwriter Cathy Elizabeth, and back then Rain was seen solely as a studio project with Cathy being accompanied by Thomas Te Taite, who provided all the instrumentation including digital drums. Now they are a full band who have been performing live, and it is the first time they have recorded as such, with Thomas now, just providing acoustic guitar (plus engineering and producing etc.
Read More...
Lost Vessels - Single Review: All This Time
01 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I was not that impressed when I first saw Lost Vessels play at Crushfest, something they later admitted to me was the worst gig of their career, but since then they have improved in leaps and bounds. This has been noticed by others on the Auckland circuit as they are getting more opportunities with better support slots, and I was not at all surprised when they won the Ding Dong Lounge Battle Of The Bands in November last year.
Read More...
Unwanted Subject - Single Review: Sons of Savages
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I have caught Unwanted Subject in concert a few times over the last couple of years, and while they have been getting better each time I have seen them, I must admit that nothing prepared me for this, which right from the off is a monster. I have never heard them quite this is aggressive, nor as polished, and this multi-sectioned single sounds almost like a different band as they have pushed their metal roots to the max in this metalcore beast which sees them mixing and blending different genres to create something quite special.
Read More...
Gig Review: Stray Dogs @ AUX, Auckland - 26/05/2023
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to Ding Dong Lounge on a Friday night for one of their infamous Emo nights, which tonight was a three-band bill with Stray Dogs having an extended set, supported by Altaea and then up first we had Blindr, a band new to me. Blindr are a quartet featuring Bill Caldwell (vocals, guitar), Blake Woodfield (lead guitar), Jack Power (bass), and Charlie McCracken (drums).
Read More...
Gig Review: Turkey The Bird @ The Ministry of Folk, Auckland - 27/05/2023
27 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back up to Auckland Guide Centre in Mount Eden tonight for my second consecutive gig (Sol suggested it was a turkey sandwich as I am at Vader tomorrow) to see Taranaki’s finest, Turkey The Bird at The Ministry of Folk. Before that we of course had Hoop, who are Al Baxter (vocals, guitar, harmonica, banjo, mandolin), Nick Edgar (vocals, guitar, ukulele, flute, harmonica), Emily Allen (violin, viola), Glenn Coldham (bass) while tonight Gary Hunt was filling in for drummer Rusty Knox.
Read More...
This Silent Divide - Single Review: Beautiful Creature
25 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based melodic hard rock quartet This Silent Divide, entitled Beautiful Creature. I really enjoyed their Tall Stories EP, and they played a great gig at Dead Witch towards the end of last year, and this would have been recorded at about the same time.
Read More...
Gig Review: Emily Rice @ Your Local Coffee Roasters, Pukekohe - 24/05/2023
24 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this week I had a message from Emily Rice asking me if I lived in South Auckland. When I responded I did, she asked if I would be interested in coming along to an event she was putting on in a coffee shop in Pukekohe to celebrate the release of her new single, Warenoa.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PRAISE JAH IN THE MOONLIGHT
    YG Marley
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • LOVIN ON ME
    Jack Harlow
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • SNOOZE
    SZA
  • GREEDY
    Tate McRae
  • CRUEL SUMMER
    Taylor Swift
  • CARNIVAL
    Kanye West And Ty Dolla $ign
  • MURDER ON THE DANCEFLOOR
    Sophie Ellis-Bextor
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem