3 Feb 2023
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Connor Vazey - Single Review: Two Moons Feat. Antony Pickard

17 Dec 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

When I was asked to review the debut single by 13-year-old Connor Vazey I had no idea what to expect but must admit to being a little concerned as it is rare for someone this young to produce something anyone outside of the family will enjoy. Mind you, I did some research and saw he formed a band last year, Cor-Roc, when he was just 12 and they are already gigging while his dad is also a performer and songwriter, plus here he also used an older singer to provide the vocals. That all being said, when I put this on, I was totally unprepared for the following 4:30 minutes, as there is huge depth within this Americana piece which is bringing together multiple influences and is a delight from beginning to end.

There is a full band in operation, with both a pianist and keyboard player with the latter providing some nice synth strings at times, and a rhythm section which keep it tight while never overpowering with the drummer utilising rim shots at the beginning. However, all of this is the support for the two main elements, Connor’s acoustic leads and Antony’s wonderful vocals. Antony has a nice touch of gravel, which he modifies in a very melodic tone, and there are times when this is more of a ballad than a rocker although there is always the hint they could move out of the more country ethic (they never do). Connor’s role, as well as writing the song with his dad, is providing guitar throughout, including some noodling leads which tie everything together. These are not blisteringly fast, but instead are musical as they concentrate on the melody. The result is a song and performance which never sounds as if a 13-year-old has been involved, and Connor is definitely a name to keep an eye on.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Connor Vazey

Connor Vazey is a young talented 13 year old musician from Auckland. Connor is Lead Guitarist for the teenage band COR-ROC from Beachlands. Connor has also written his own debut single Two Moons which he has teamed up with Antony Pickard from The Vazey Collective on Vocals.

Together these two have managed to write and complete a beautiful love song, Connor plays the Lead Guitar and wrote the music and Lyrics with help from his Dad, Rob Vazey an accomplished song writer for The Vazey Collective.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Connor Vazey

Releases

There are no releases to display for Connor Vazey.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Ding Dong Lounge 10th Birthday Part 1 @ Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 29/01/2023
03 Feb 2023 // by Kev Rowland
The original Ding Dong Lounge was founded in New York City in 2001 by Bill Nolan, opening on the upper west side of Manhattan and slowly gaining a following of talented artists, writers, actors, and musicians. In 2003, Bill Walsh opened Ding Dong Lounge in Melbourne, branding itself with a live gig atmosphere that easily upheld Ding Dong’s rock reputation.
Read More...
Beckoned - Single/Video Review: Luminous
01 Feb 2023 // by Kev Rowland
The word “supergroup” is not one to be bandied around lightly, yet that was very much the first thing which came to mind when I came across the new formation of Beckoned. During one of the many lockdowns, guitarist Nail Vincent (Devilskin) started working on new material, and he played some to his old bandmate, bassist Munro Goodwin (Sinate) and pretty soon they were working on the material together with drummer Corey Friedlander (City of Souls,8 Foot Sativa), but who would be the singer?
Read More...
Flying Man - Single Review: Under The Stars
31 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Flying Man is the stage name of Dunedin based Irish-born live-looping guitarist and singer/songwriter Alan Ned Gray. Flying Man’s song-writings sit in the electroacoustic realm - playing programmed beats, live looping and layered harmonies.
Read More...
Crying Club - EP Review: Big Water Bottle
31 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It is some 18 months since I last reviewed a recording by Crying Club, which was the single Taxi Man, but I did see them at EmoFest last year where three of the songs on this five-track thirteen-minute-long EP were played. While their music is solidly rooted in the indie scene, they manage to also bring in other genres as they cross genres, bringing rock and metal quite strongly into their poppy mix.
Read More...
Gig Review: Midnight Green & Kazia @ The Thirsty Dog, Auckland - 21/01/2022
21 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
After being blasted the previous night at Dead Witch, tonight I was at The Thirsty for what promised to be a very different affair indeed, with two soul/jazz/pop bands. Beforehand I was talking to the bar manager who told me that soon they will be closing for renovations, after which they will open up with the stage in a different place, and it promises to be much improved, so I am really looking forward to seeing the end results.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Rising Tide @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 20/01/2023
20 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back to Dead Witch tonight for my first time seeing The Rising Tide who were up from Palmerston North in support of their excellent new EP, The Hope We Die For. They had also invited a few other bands who I have seen before, namely Brawler NZHC who I saw supporting Xile, plus favourites Unwanted Subject and Pale Flag who were both at the Downfall of Humanity release show.
Read More...
Gig Review: Music In Parks - Helensville @ Helensville River Reserve, Auckland - 15/01/2023
15 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Each Summer, the Auckland Council put on a series of free outdoor concerts in different places around the city, and today was the second this year, and definitely had a country flavour with Keith Pereira, Louis Jarlov and Sam Bartells. Not only are the shows free, but they all take place in the afternoon, so this gig was set to take place between 1 and 4!
Read More...
Gig Review: Ovus @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 14/01/2023
15 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Having spent an incredible two weeks at home on South Island, it was now back up to Auckland and it was soon back into the live scene with my first gig at Dead Witch for 2023. Tonight was going to be interesting as I recently reviewed Ovus’s EP, Lucid, and it would be the first time I had seen Afterlight since they changed their name from Antebellum.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FLOWERS
    Miley Cyrus
  • KILL BILL
    SZA
  • ESCAPISM.
    RAYE feat. 070 Shake
  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SURE THING
    Miguel
  • PEOPLE
    Libianca
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CREEPIN'
    Metro Boomin, The Weeknd And 21 Savage
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem