3 Feb 2023
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Stacked - EP Review: Crushed By The Sky

15 Dec 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Last month saw the gig of the year, Third Time Lucky, which was organised and headlined by Written By Wolves. I had seen every band on the bill play prior to that night except for openers Stacked who were brand new to me and to many in the audience. I asked Mikey who they were and why they were on the bill, and he told me he had approached Smokefree Rockquest to find a band to showcase, and this was who they recommended. It turned out they had made it to the national finals for two consecutive years and won the Tamaki Makaurau People's Choice Award in 2021 and had also been organising their own all ages gigs. Everyone was impressed that night, and I am sure that anyone into melodic hardcore will grab this and ask the question everyone keeps asking, are they really that young?

This EP is comprised of songs written a few years ago when the guys were 17 and comprises both of their recent three-track EP’s as well as a re-recording of their debut single. Remain, from the beginning of last year, giving us 7 tracks with a total length of 20 minutes. Comprising Tyler Jamieson on vocals, Aidan Wright and Benji Perez on guitars, Connor McNab on bass, Alasdair Miller on drums, they have a somewhat unusual approach in that in many ways it sounds as if they are producing a music sandwich, with Tyler on one side, Alasdair on the other, with the rest of the guys going hell for leather in the middle. Of all the musicians that night, the one which surprised me most was Alasdair as he appeared determined to wreck Karl’s kit before anyone had the chance to play it, as not only was he an octopus driving different rhythms and styles, but he was also hitting it incredibly hard. There is so much going on at the back that it makes sense for the bass to link in with the guitars to provide additional depth to the melody so there is plenty of room for everyone to be heard. Then at the front we have a singer who does not sound as if he is only just old enough to drink but comes across as if he has been doing this for many years. All the guys sound like seasoned pros, and one can hear why they have been picked up by the label as they have the chops and songs to back up their confidence, and I am sure that with next year (hopefully) being back to normal in terms of gigs all year, then we are going to be hearing a lot more from these guys.

Controlled yet aggressive, dissonant at times yet melodic, straight ahead but complex, this EP demonstrates the depth that can be heard within melodic hardcore and is certainly worthy of investigation by lovers of the genre. Play loud.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Stacked

Stacked are a melodic hardcore band from Tamaki Makaurau. Emerging from multiple years of success through Smokefree Rockquest and packing out various council venues they've solidified themselves as a staple of the all-ages scene.

2022 sees Stacked working hard to move into R18 venues and finishing their debut EP. With influences ranging from math-rock to hardcore, Stacked's energy onstage is something that has provided them success over the past few years and is something that must be seen by all fans of heavier music.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Stacked

Releases

There are no releases to display for Stacked.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Ding Dong Lounge 10th Birthday Part 1 @ Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 29/01/2023
03 Feb 2023 // by Kev Rowland
The original Ding Dong Lounge was founded in New York City in 2001 by Bill Nolan, opening on the upper west side of Manhattan and slowly gaining a following of talented artists, writers, actors, and musicians. In 2003, Bill Walsh opened Ding Dong Lounge in Melbourne, branding itself with a live gig atmosphere that easily upheld Ding Dong’s rock reputation.
Read More...
Beckoned - Single/Video Review: Luminous
01 Feb 2023 // by Kev Rowland
The word “supergroup” is not one to be bandied around lightly, yet that was very much the first thing which came to mind when I came across the new formation of Beckoned. During one of the many lockdowns, guitarist Nail Vincent (Devilskin) started working on new material, and he played some to his old bandmate, bassist Munro Goodwin (Sinate) and pretty soon they were working on the material together with drummer Corey Friedlander (City of Souls,8 Foot Sativa), but who would be the singer?
Read More...
Flying Man - Single Review: Under The Stars
31 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Flying Man is the stage name of Dunedin based Irish-born live-looping guitarist and singer/songwriter Alan Ned Gray. Flying Man’s song-writings sit in the electroacoustic realm - playing programmed beats, live looping and layered harmonies.
Read More...
Crying Club - EP Review: Big Water Bottle
31 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It is some 18 months since I last reviewed a recording by Crying Club, which was the single Taxi Man, but I did see them at EmoFest last year where three of the songs on this five-track thirteen-minute-long EP were played. While their music is solidly rooted in the indie scene, they manage to also bring in other genres as they cross genres, bringing rock and metal quite strongly into their poppy mix.
Read More...
Gig Review: Midnight Green & Kazia @ The Thirsty Dog, Auckland - 21/01/2022
21 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
After being blasted the previous night at Dead Witch, tonight I was at The Thirsty for what promised to be a very different affair indeed, with two soul/jazz/pop bands. Beforehand I was talking to the bar manager who told me that soon they will be closing for renovations, after which they will open up with the stage in a different place, and it promises to be much improved, so I am really looking forward to seeing the end results.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Rising Tide @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 20/01/2023
20 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back to Dead Witch tonight for my first time seeing The Rising Tide who were up from Palmerston North in support of their excellent new EP, The Hope We Die For. They had also invited a few other bands who I have seen before, namely Brawler NZHC who I saw supporting Xile, plus favourites Unwanted Subject and Pale Flag who were both at the Downfall of Humanity release show.
Read More...
Gig Review: Music In Parks - Helensville @ Helensville River Reserve, Auckland - 15/01/2023
15 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Each Summer, the Auckland Council put on a series of free outdoor concerts in different places around the city, and today was the second this year, and definitely had a country flavour with Keith Pereira, Louis Jarlov and Sam Bartells. Not only are the shows free, but they all take place in the afternoon, so this gig was set to take place between 1 and 4!
Read More...
Gig Review: Ovus @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 14/01/2023
15 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Having spent an incredible two weeks at home on South Island, it was now back up to Auckland and it was soon back into the live scene with my first gig at Dead Witch for 2023. Tonight was going to be interesting as I recently reviewed Ovus’s EP, Lucid, and it would be the first time I had seen Afterlight since they changed their name from Antebellum.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FLOWERS
    Miley Cyrus
  • KILL BILL
    SZA
  • ESCAPISM.
    RAYE feat. 070 Shake
  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SURE THING
    Miguel
  • PEOPLE
    Libianca
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CREEPIN'
    Metro Boomin, The Weeknd And 21 Savage
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem