3 Feb 2023
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

No Broadcast - Single/Video Review: The Shore

15 Dec 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

When I first started listening to this, I felt there had been quite a change in the sound of No Broadcast, and I certainly wonder if this is a new direction for the band or a one-off experiment. It is hard to tell, as although there has been a change in the personnel, singer, guitarist, and songwriter Josh Braden is not averse to bringing in different people to work on different songs and here he has been joined by Thomas Isbister (drums, bass), Ryan Fisherman (lap steel) and Tom Harris (keyboards and string sonic texture). Somehow, we have here a mix of sounds which manages to combine Radiohead, U2 and Crowded House in a very pleasant manner indeed.

The basis of this song is multi-tracked picked acoustic guitar, with keyboards layered on the top, gradually building, with other instruments added as the song develops. The vocals are clear, with some nice reverb to provide depth, and a concentration on long-held notes. In many ways this is brave music, as there is no room at all for Josh to hide, no massive accompaniment to hide behind, this is about confidence and breath control.

The production is superb, with an arrangement which takes what is in many ways a quite simple song into something much larger than one might imagine. It is something which demands to be played on headphones so one gets the full value, as there are many touches which would otherwise be lost, and when it climaxes it then has a suitable ending so one does not feel cheated but instead has the urge to play it again.

It could be argued that this is an arty song, and that carries through to the video which is in black and white and features Josh on a beach, for the most part standing still and miming to the track. This is nice and fits in well with the music, but they possibly should not have stayed on Josh while he is singing all the long notes as it looks like he is yawning. He collects some driftwood to make some words, and while this is again low key and simplistic, the camerawork fits in with the music and the two combine well together. One wonders what the next album will be like as this is quite a move from Lie In Orbit which only came out earlier this year.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About No Broadcast

No Broadcast, a three-piece band formerly known as Anthesiac, move post rock and alternative rock into a dynamic powerhouse of sound, reminiscent of fellow New Zealand bands HDU, Kerretta and Jakob. Their music is surpassed only by the live experience.

Established in Christchurch, NZ in 2007, as Josh Braden (vocals, guitar), Sam Hood (bass), and Chris Self (drums), the three chaps formed a strong musical chemistry that is increasingly rare in bands today. Priding themselves on their ability to instinctively move their music where it wants to go, the group make for a live act audiences can't take their eyes off.

No Broadcast have gigged extensively over the past 5 years, playing various festivals and shows around the country with a variety of other local and national artists. They have played alongside rockers Beastwars, post-punk heavyweights Die! Die! Die! as well as supporting Mountaineater (former HDU members) and internationally renounced six-piece An Emerald City on the South Island leg of their 2011 New Zealand tour.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for No Broadcast

Releases

Lie In Orbit
Year: 2022
Type: Album
Defined & Divided
Year: 2022
Type: EP
The Blueprint
Year: 2015
Type: Album
No Broadcast
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Live At The Dux
Year: 2014
Type: EP
1736
Year: 2013
Type: EP
Null And Void
Year: 2011
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Ding Dong Lounge 10th Birthday Part 1 @ Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 29/01/2023
03 Feb 2023 // by Kev Rowland
The original Ding Dong Lounge was founded in New York City in 2001 by Bill Nolan, opening on the upper west side of Manhattan and slowly gaining a following of talented artists, writers, actors, and musicians. In 2003, Bill Walsh opened Ding Dong Lounge in Melbourne, branding itself with a live gig atmosphere that easily upheld Ding Dong’s rock reputation.
Read More...
Beckoned - Single/Video Review: Luminous
01 Feb 2023 // by Kev Rowland
The word “supergroup” is not one to be bandied around lightly, yet that was very much the first thing which came to mind when I came across the new formation of Beckoned. During one of the many lockdowns, guitarist Nail Vincent (Devilskin) started working on new material, and he played some to his old bandmate, bassist Munro Goodwin (Sinate) and pretty soon they were working on the material together with drummer Corey Friedlander (City of Souls,8 Foot Sativa), but who would be the singer?
Read More...
Flying Man - Single Review: Under The Stars
31 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Flying Man is the stage name of Dunedin based Irish-born live-looping guitarist and singer/songwriter Alan Ned Gray. Flying Man’s song-writings sit in the electroacoustic realm - playing programmed beats, live looping and layered harmonies.
Read More...
Crying Club - EP Review: Big Water Bottle
31 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It is some 18 months since I last reviewed a recording by Crying Club, which was the single Taxi Man, but I did see them at EmoFest last year where three of the songs on this five-track thirteen-minute-long EP were played. While their music is solidly rooted in the indie scene, they manage to also bring in other genres as they cross genres, bringing rock and metal quite strongly into their poppy mix.
Read More...
Gig Review: Midnight Green & Kazia @ The Thirsty Dog, Auckland - 21/01/2022
21 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
After being blasted the previous night at Dead Witch, tonight I was at The Thirsty for what promised to be a very different affair indeed, with two soul/jazz/pop bands. Beforehand I was talking to the bar manager who told me that soon they will be closing for renovations, after which they will open up with the stage in a different place, and it promises to be much improved, so I am really looking forward to seeing the end results.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Rising Tide @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 20/01/2023
20 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back to Dead Witch tonight for my first time seeing The Rising Tide who were up from Palmerston North in support of their excellent new EP, The Hope We Die For. They had also invited a few other bands who I have seen before, namely Brawler NZHC who I saw supporting Xile, plus favourites Unwanted Subject and Pale Flag who were both at the Downfall of Humanity release show.
Read More...
Gig Review: Music In Parks - Helensville @ Helensville River Reserve, Auckland - 15/01/2023
15 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Each Summer, the Auckland Council put on a series of free outdoor concerts in different places around the city, and today was the second this year, and definitely had a country flavour with Keith Pereira, Louis Jarlov and Sam Bartells. Not only are the shows free, but they all take place in the afternoon, so this gig was set to take place between 1 and 4!
Read More...
Gig Review: Ovus @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 14/01/2023
15 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Having spent an incredible two weeks at home on South Island, it was now back up to Auckland and it was soon back into the live scene with my first gig at Dead Witch for 2023. Tonight was going to be interesting as I recently reviewed Ovus’s EP, Lucid, and it would be the first time I had seen Afterlight since they changed their name from Antebellum.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FLOWERS
    Miley Cyrus
  • KILL BILL
    SZA
  • ESCAPISM.
    RAYE feat. 070 Shake
  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SURE THING
    Miguel
  • PEOPLE
    Libianca
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CREEPIN'
    Metro Boomin, The Weeknd And 21 Savage
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem