16 Jul 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

No Broadcast - Single/Video Review: The Shore

15 Dec 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

When I first started listening to this, I felt there had been quite a change in the sound of No Broadcast, and I certainly wonder if this is a new direction for the band or a one-off experiment. It is hard to tell, as although there has been a change in the personnel, singer, guitarist, and songwriter Josh Braden is not averse to bringing in different people to work on different songs and here he has been joined by Thomas Isbister (drums, bass), Ryan Fisherman (lap steel) and Tom Harris (keyboards and string sonic texture). Somehow, we have here a mix of sounds which manages to combine Radiohead, U2 and Crowded House in a very pleasant manner indeed.

The basis of this song is multi-tracked picked acoustic guitar, with keyboards layered on the top, gradually building, with other instruments added as the song develops. The vocals are clear, with some nice reverb to provide depth, and a concentration on long-held notes. In many ways this is brave music, as there is no room at all for Josh to hide, no massive accompaniment to hide behind, this is about confidence and breath control.

The production is superb, with an arrangement which takes what is in many ways a quite simple song into something much larger than one might imagine. It is something which demands to be played on headphones so one gets the full value, as there are many touches which would otherwise be lost, and when it climaxes it then has a suitable ending so one does not feel cheated but instead has the urge to play it again.

It could be argued that this is an arty song, and that carries through to the video which is in black and white and features Josh on a beach, for the most part standing still and miming to the track. This is nice and fits in well with the music, but they possibly should not have stayed on Josh while he is singing all the long notes as it looks like he is yawning. He collects some driftwood to make some words, and while this is again low key and simplistic, the camerawork fits in with the music and the two combine well together. One wonders what the next album will be like as this is quite a move from Lie In Orbit which only came out earlier this year.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About No Broadcast

No Broadcast, spawns out of the environmental influences of Christchurch and New Zealand. They combine this with a particular perspective and draw sounds from the likes of Jakob, Mogwai, Radiohead, Sigur Ros, HDU and The Veils. Their sound is surpassed only by the embrace of live experience. Since 2007 the name No Broadcast started to appear on posters in reviews and on the NZ music scene as a band with the ability to move audiences with their emotive, free-flowing music. Playing various festivals and shows nationwide with various local and national artists, they have played alongside rockers Beastwars; post punk heavyweights Die! Die! Die!, Bauhaus,
Skinny Hobos, Clap Clap Riot and Mountaineater.

No Broadcast in its true essence is a vision of sonic expression stemming from the mind and soul of singer songwriter and producer Josh Braden. No Broadcast have produced and released 5 album to date.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for No Broadcast

Releases

The Common Thread
Year: 2023
Type: Album
Lie In Orbit
Year: 2022
Type: Album
Defined & Divided
Year: 2022
Type: EP
The Blueprint
Year: 2015
Type: Album
No Broadcast
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Live At The Dux
Year: 2014
Type: EP
1736
Year: 2013
Type: EP
Null And Void
Year: 2011
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Crushfest @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 07/07/2023
07 Jul 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was down to Tuning Fork for the first night of the second Crushfest festival. Tonight was going to be Wellington and Auckland bands, and then some of the same will be playing at the second night in Wellington next month.
Read More...
Rain - Single Review: Love and War
15 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It has been quite a while since I last heard from Wellington-based singer songwriter Cathy Elizabeth, and back then Rain was seen solely as a studio project with Cathy being accompanied by Thomas Te Taite, who provided all the instrumentation including digital drums. Now they are a full band who have been performing live, and it is the first time they have recorded as such, with Thomas now, just providing acoustic guitar (plus engineering and producing etc.
Read More...
Lost Vessels - Single Review: All This Time
01 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I was not that impressed when I first saw Lost Vessels play at Crushfest, something they later admitted to me was the worst gig of their career, but since then they have improved in leaps and bounds. This has been noticed by others on the Auckland circuit as they are getting more opportunities with better support slots, and I was not at all surprised when they won the Ding Dong Lounge Battle Of The Bands in November last year.
Read More...
Unwanted Subject - Single Review: Sons of Savages
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I have caught Unwanted Subject in concert a few times over the last couple of years, and while they have been getting better each time I have seen them, I must admit that nothing prepared me for this, which right from the off is a monster. I have never heard them quite this is aggressive, nor as polished, and this multi-sectioned single sounds almost like a different band as they have pushed their metal roots to the max in this metalcore beast which sees them mixing and blending different genres to create something quite special.
Read More...
Gig Review: Stray Dogs @ AUX, Auckland - 26/05/2023
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to Ding Dong Lounge on a Friday night for one of their infamous Emo nights, which tonight was a three-band bill with Stray Dogs having an extended set, supported by Altaea and then up first we had Blindr, a band new to me. Blindr are a quartet featuring Bill Caldwell (vocals, guitar), Blake Woodfield (lead guitar), Jack Power (bass), and Charlie McCracken (drums).
Read More...
Gig Review: Turkey The Bird @ The Ministry of Folk, Auckland - 27/05/2023
27 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back up to Auckland Guide Centre in Mount Eden tonight for my second consecutive gig (Sol suggested it was a turkey sandwich as I am at Vader tomorrow) to see Taranaki’s finest, Turkey The Bird at The Ministry of Folk. Before that we of course had Hoop, who are Al Baxter (vocals, guitar, harmonica, banjo, mandolin), Nick Edgar (vocals, guitar, ukulele, flute, harmonica), Emily Allen (violin, viola), Glenn Coldham (bass) while tonight Gary Hunt was filling in for drummer Rusty Knox.
Read More...
This Silent Divide - Single Review: Beautiful Creature
25 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based melodic hard rock quartet This Silent Divide, entitled Beautiful Creature. I really enjoyed their Tall Stories EP, and they played a great gig at Dead Witch towards the end of last year, and this would have been recorded at about the same time.
Read More...
Gig Review: Emily Rice @ Your Local Coffee Roasters, Pukekohe - 24/05/2023
24 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this week I had a message from Emily Rice asking me if I lived in South Auckland. When I responded I did, she asked if I would be interested in coming along to an event she was putting on in a coffee shop in Pukekohe to celebrate the release of her new single, Warenoa.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • BIRDS OF A FEATHER
    Billie Eilish
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • DEVIL IS A LIE
    Tommy Richman
  • GOOD LUCK, BABE!
    Chappell Roan
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem