24 Jul 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Kylie Harris - Single Review: Mr. Right

13 Dec 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

It has been a long time since we heard new material from Kylie Harris, but this month she is releasing three new songs in her home country, just in time to be inducted into the Gold Guitar Awards Hands of Fame next year. Twice a winner of the Gold Guitar Awards, three-time winner of the Tui Country Music Album of the Year she has also a past winner of Song of the Year and the Rising Star Award. She has been kept active since moving to Nashville 20 years ago, and her own recording has taken a back seat, but we can only hope that these new songs are the precursor to a new full-length CD, as this oozes quality and class.

This is music which can only be created by people who have really lived, and here we have the story of how Mrs. Wrong married Mr. Right. The rhythm section is laid back, providing a shuffle groove, the Hammond B3 provides a sumptuous backdrop, while an electric guitar is gently picked. Then at the front we have Kylie providing rich bluesy vocals, almost vying with another electric for centre stage as it is right up there in the mix. This is laid back country with elements of gospel and a whole load of blues which could have been recorded any time in the last 60 years, with only the production quality giving it away. This feels like a band in the studio all looking at each other, getting into the heart of this song, and then bringing it to life. There is a deep passion, a vitality, with a woman baring her soul and a band ensuring the tale gets the respect it deserves. Superb.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Kylie Harris

After releasing two albums and receiving widespread acclaim in her native New Zealand, Kylie Harris decided to bring her talent to Nashville in the Spring of 1998. Her music can best be described as a “rootsy” mix of Americana and Country. An accomplished singer, writer and instrumentalist, Kylie began singing and playing guitar at 13. First-time listeners and longtime fans alike, are drawn in by her honest and soulful delivery, which has been compared to Emmylou Harris, Shawn Colvin, Linda Ronstadt , Roseanne Cash and the great Patsy Cline.

Her accomplishments started in Gore, where 17-year-old Kylie became the youngest-ever winner of the overall Gold Guitar Award. She also won the categories that year for best Gospel, Traditional and Female Vocal. This high-profile win eventually lead to a recording contract with BMG. Her second album, Fancy, also took top album honors at those same awards two years later. All this success and recognition lead her to tour throughout New Zealand and Australia as the opening act for Kenny Rogers, Ricky Skaggs, The Irish Rovers and Charley Pride.

Her meeting with Charley Pride proved to be instrumental in Kylie’s career. His recommendation and faith in her abilities lead to her debut on the stage of the Grand Ole Opry in 2001. Charley forfeited one of his performance spots so that Kylie could be heard. She became reacquainted with that stage again in 2004, when once more she was asked to perform. To this day, Charley...“Kylie has it all. The voice, the talent, the personality and the looks, to be a big star”.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Kylie Harris

Releases

Kylie Harris
Year: 2004
Type: Album
Fancy
Year: 1997
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Crushfest @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 07/07/2023
07 Jul 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was down to Tuning Fork for the first night of the second Crushfest festival. Tonight was going to be Wellington and Auckland bands, and then some of the same will be playing at the second night in Wellington next month.
Read More...
Rain - Single Review: Love and War
15 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It has been quite a while since I last heard from Wellington-based singer songwriter Cathy Elizabeth, and back then Rain was seen solely as a studio project with Cathy being accompanied by Thomas Te Taite, who provided all the instrumentation including digital drums. Now they are a full band who have been performing live, and it is the first time they have recorded as such, with Thomas now, just providing acoustic guitar (plus engineering and producing etc.
Read More...
Lost Vessels - Single Review: All This Time
01 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I was not that impressed when I first saw Lost Vessels play at Crushfest, something they later admitted to me was the worst gig of their career, but since then they have improved in leaps and bounds. This has been noticed by others on the Auckland circuit as they are getting more opportunities with better support slots, and I was not at all surprised when they won the Ding Dong Lounge Battle Of The Bands in November last year.
Read More...
Unwanted Subject - Single Review: Sons of Savages
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I have caught Unwanted Subject in concert a few times over the last couple of years, and while they have been getting better each time I have seen them, I must admit that nothing prepared me for this, which right from the off is a monster. I have never heard them quite this is aggressive, nor as polished, and this multi-sectioned single sounds almost like a different band as they have pushed their metal roots to the max in this metalcore beast which sees them mixing and blending different genres to create something quite special.
Read More...
Gig Review: Stray Dogs @ AUX, Auckland - 26/05/2023
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to Ding Dong Lounge on a Friday night for one of their infamous Emo nights, which tonight was a three-band bill with Stray Dogs having an extended set, supported by Altaea and then up first we had Blindr, a band new to me. Blindr are a quartet featuring Bill Caldwell (vocals, guitar), Blake Woodfield (lead guitar), Jack Power (bass), and Charlie McCracken (drums).
Read More...
Gig Review: Turkey The Bird @ The Ministry of Folk, Auckland - 27/05/2023
27 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back up to Auckland Guide Centre in Mount Eden tonight for my second consecutive gig (Sol suggested it was a turkey sandwich as I am at Vader tomorrow) to see Taranaki’s finest, Turkey The Bird at The Ministry of Folk. Before that we of course had Hoop, who are Al Baxter (vocals, guitar, harmonica, banjo, mandolin), Nick Edgar (vocals, guitar, ukulele, flute, harmonica), Emily Allen (violin, viola), Glenn Coldham (bass) while tonight Gary Hunt was filling in for drummer Rusty Knox.
Read More...
This Silent Divide - Single Review: Beautiful Creature
25 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based melodic hard rock quartet This Silent Divide, entitled Beautiful Creature. I really enjoyed their Tall Stories EP, and they played a great gig at Dead Witch towards the end of last year, and this would have been recorded at about the same time.
Read More...
Gig Review: Emily Rice @ Your Local Coffee Roasters, Pukekohe - 24/05/2023
24 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this week I had a message from Emily Rice asking me if I lived in South Auckland. When I responded I did, she asked if I would be interested in coming along to an event she was putting on in a coffee shop in Pukekohe to celebrate the release of her new single, Warenoa.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • BIRDS OF A FEATHER
    Billie Eilish
  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • HOUDINI
    Eminem
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • GOOD LUCK, BABE!
    Chappell Roan
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem