28 Jan 2023
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Kylie Harris - Single Review: Mr. Right

13 Dec 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

It has been a long time since we heard new material from Kylie Harris, but this month she is releasing three new songs in her home country, just in time to be inducted into the Gold Guitar Awards Hands of Fame next year. Twice a winner of the Gold Guitar Awards, three-time winner of the Tui Country Music Album of the Year she has also a past winner of Song of the Year and the Rising Star Award. She has been kept active since moving to Nashville 20 years ago, and her own recording has taken a back seat, but we can only hope that these new songs are the precursor to a new full-length CD, as this oozes quality and class.

This is music which can only be created by people who have really lived, and here we have the story of how Mrs. Wrong married Mr. Right. The rhythm section is laid back, providing a shuffle groove, the Hammond B3 provides a sumptuous backdrop, while an electric guitar is gently picked. Then at the front we have Kylie providing rich bluesy vocals, almost vying with another electric for centre stage as it is right up there in the mix. This is laid back country with elements of gospel and a whole load of blues which could have been recorded any time in the last 60 years, with only the production quality giving it away. This feels like a band in the studio all looking at each other, getting into the heart of this song, and then bringing it to life. There is a deep passion, a vitality, with a woman baring her soul and a band ensuring the tale gets the respect it deserves. Superb.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Kylie Harris

After releasing two albums and receiving widespread acclaim in her native New Zealand, Kylie Harris decided to bring her talent to Nashville in the Spring of 1998. Her music can best be described as a “rootsy” mix of Americana and Country. An accomplished singer, writer and instrumentalist, Kylie began singing and playing guitar at 13. First-time listeners and longtime fans alike, are drawn in by her honest and soulful delivery, which has been compared to Emmylou Harris, Shawn Colvin, Linda Ronstadt , Roseanne Cash and the great Patsy Cline.

Her accomplishments started in Gore, where 17-year-old Kylie became the youngest-ever winner of the overall Gold Guitar Award. She also won the categories that year for best Gospel, Traditional and Female Vocal. This high-profile win eventually lead to a recording contract with BMG. Her second album, Fancy, also took top album honors at those same awards two years later. All this success and recognition lead her to tour throughout New Zealand and Australia as the opening act for Kenny Rogers, Ricky Skaggs, The Irish Rovers and Charley Pride.

Her meeting with Charley Pride proved to be instrumental in Kylie’s career. His recommendation and faith in her abilities lead to her debut on the stage of the Grand Ole Opry in 2001. Charley forfeited one of his performance spots so that Kylie could be heard. She became reacquainted with that stage again in 2004, when once more she was asked to perform. To this day, Charley...“Kylie has it all. The voice, the talent, the personality and the looks, to be a big star”.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Kylie Harris

Releases

Kylie Harris
Year: 2004
Type: Album
Fancy
Year: 1997
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Midnight Green & Kazia @ The Thirsty Dog, Auckland - 21/01/2022
21 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
After being blasted the previous night at Dead Witch, tonight I was at The Thirsty for what promised to be a very different affair indeed, with two soul/jazz/pop bands. Beforehand I was talking to the bar manager who told me that soon they will be closing for renovations, after which they will open up with the stage in a different place, and it promises to be much improved, so I am really looking forward to seeing the end results.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Rising Tide @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 20/01/2023
20 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back to Dead Witch tonight for my first time seeing The Rising Tide who were up from Palmerston North in support of their excellent new EP, The Hope We Die For. They had also invited a few other bands who I have seen before, namely Brawler NZHC who I saw supporting Xile, plus favourites Unwanted Subject and Pale Flag who were both at the Downfall of Humanity release show.
Read More...
Gig Review: Music In Parks - Helensville @ Helensville River Reserve, Auckland - 15/01/2023
15 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Each Summer, the Auckland Council put on a series of free outdoor concerts in different places around the city, and today was the second this year, and definitely had a country flavour with Keith Pereira, Louis Jarlov and Sam Bartells. Not only are the shows free, but they all take place in the afternoon, so this gig was set to take place between 1 and 4!
Read More...
Gig Review: Ovus @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 14/01/2023
15 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Having spent an incredible two weeks at home on South Island, it was now back up to Auckland and it was soon back into the live scene with my first gig at Dead Witch for 2023. Tonight was going to be interesting as I recently reviewed Ovus’s EP, Lucid, and it would be the first time I had seen Afterlight since they changed their name from Antebellum.
Read More...
Adam McGrath - Album Review: Dear Companions
08 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Due to many reasons, I have been somewhat late to the underground NZ scene but over the last few years have been fortunate enough to meet some incredible people, see some amazing performances, and hear some wonderful music. All of these come together in one man, Adam McGrath, leader of The Eastern.
Read More...
Holy Crime - Single Review: Play Toy
08 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Holy Crime are a relatively new band from Auckland, comprising Benny Richards (guitar, vocals), Tom Anderson (bass, vocals), Jacob Stutton (guitar) and Mat Hinton (drums), with Play Toy being their debut single. Sometimes, just sometimes, one hears a song and immediately a smile comes across the face and it stays there right until the end and that is the case with this one with its unabashed influences of The Darkness and Eighties glam rock.
Read More...
The Rising Tide - EP Review: The Hope We Die For
05 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Palmerston North deathcore band The Rising Tide had a great 2022, touring for the first time in six years and here we are now with their latest EP which is being released in time for a quick nationwide tour which sees them playing Auckland, New Plymouth, Wellington, and Christchurch. They may call themselves deathcore, but to be honest they probably have more in common with “straight” death based on these three songs, although there is a lot going on.
Read More...
EP Review: Chasing Titans
28 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut EP by Auckland-based metalcore trio Chasing Titans who were formed in 2018 and comprise Adrian Govender (guitar, vocals), Sylvester Porizakova (bass, vocals), and Torrance Kam (drums). The name is inspired by the original Greek Titans and reflects the philosophy of never giving up on one’s biggest dreams and striving for greatness.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FLOWERS
    Miley Cyrus
  • KILL BILL
    SZA
  • ESCAPISM.
    RAYE feat. 070 Shake
  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SURE THING
    Miguel
  • PEOPLE
    Libianca
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CREEPIN'
    Metro Boomin, The Weeknd And 21 Savage
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem