5 Mar 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Underscore - Double Single Review: Tell Me / Out of Time

10 Dec 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Before I start talking about the music, I must make comment on the logo they used on the last single, which was the word Underscore with three lines beneath it because they are a trio. What a simple and really effective idea. This band is new to me, even though they are Auckland-based, and have released a few singles before this one with the line-up being Jonathan Meyer (guitar, vocals), Hon Manawangphiphat (bass) and Josh Johnston (drums). I was unable to make it to their launch at Dead Witch last night, but hopefully I will be able to catch them in the near future as this double single is a load of fun from beginning to end.

This is melodic hard rock with some touches of alternative here and there, from a trio who concentrate on the riff with pop elements and providing the support for them, with some really nice lead (and harmony) vocals over the top. Jonathan is a real singer, not just a guitarist having a go like some bands, unafraid to hit a note and stay on it. The result being a product which is polished and certainly never sounds like an independently released self-produced single. Both songs are blasters, although quite different from each other, and are ageless in that they could have come from the power pop boom of the early Eighties or any time since. I can certainly see why the guys decided to release this as a double single as both tracks could easily have been the lead as they are both packed full of hooks, nice contrast and dynamics, with a strong rhythm section, choppy guitar and great vocals. This is certainly a band to keep an eye on for 2023.
Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Underscore

Underscore is the latest alternative rock band to electrify Auckland's music scene. The trio creates a unique and explosive blend of rock and pop music, with funky rhythms and roaring guitars to produce their distinctive sound.

Following the release of their catchy debut single Dirty Word in March 2021, Underscore is back with a new and emotional hit. Never Coming Back is a bitter break-up song that draws on progressive rock influences, with constant-evolving momentum and powerful guitars.

Underscore features Hon Manawangphiphat on bass guitar, Josh Johnston on drums, and Jonathan Meyer on guitar and vocals. The trio started playing music together as students at the University of Auckland, and have performed shows throughout Auckland ever since. While Jonathan is the principal songwriter and guitarist, the whole band brings together their backgrounds in pop, rock, metal, and jazz to create the one-of-a-kind sound Underscore is known for.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Underscore

Releases

Demo
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Crushfest @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 07/07/2023
07 Jul 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was down to Tuning Fork for the first night of the second Crushfest festival. Tonight was going to be Wellington and Auckland bands, and then some of the same will be playing at the second night in Wellington next month.
Read More...
Rain - Single Review: Love and War
15 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It has been quite a while since I last heard from Wellington-based singer songwriter Cathy Elizabeth, and back then Rain was seen solely as a studio project with Cathy being accompanied by Thomas Te Taite, who provided all the instrumentation including digital drums. Now they are a full band who have been performing live, and it is the first time they have recorded as such, with Thomas now, just providing acoustic guitar (plus engineering and producing etc.
Read More...
Lost Vessels - Single Review: All This Time
01 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I was not that impressed when I first saw Lost Vessels play at Crushfest, something they later admitted to me was the worst gig of their career, but since then they have improved in leaps and bounds. This has been noticed by others on the Auckland circuit as they are getting more opportunities with better support slots, and I was not at all surprised when they won the Ding Dong Lounge Battle Of The Bands in November last year.
Read More...
Unwanted Subject - Single Review: Sons of Savages
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I have caught Unwanted Subject in concert a few times over the last couple of years, and while they have been getting better each time I have seen them, I must admit that nothing prepared me for this, which right from the off is a monster. I have never heard them quite this is aggressive, nor as polished, and this multi-sectioned single sounds almost like a different band as they have pushed their metal roots to the max in this metalcore beast which sees them mixing and blending different genres to create something quite special.
Read More...
Gig Review: Stray Dogs @ AUX, Auckland - 26/05/2023
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to Ding Dong Lounge on a Friday night for one of their infamous Emo nights, which tonight was a three-band bill with Stray Dogs having an extended set, supported by Altaea and then up first we had Blindr, a band new to me. Blindr are a quartet featuring Bill Caldwell (vocals, guitar), Blake Woodfield (lead guitar), Jack Power (bass), and Charlie McCracken (drums).
Read More...
Gig Review: Turkey The Bird @ The Ministry of Folk, Auckland - 27/05/2023
27 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back up to Auckland Guide Centre in Mount Eden tonight for my second consecutive gig (Sol suggested it was a turkey sandwich as I am at Vader tomorrow) to see Taranaki’s finest, Turkey The Bird at The Ministry of Folk. Before that we of course had Hoop, who are Al Baxter (vocals, guitar, harmonica, banjo, mandolin), Nick Edgar (vocals, guitar, ukulele, flute, harmonica), Emily Allen (violin, viola), Glenn Coldham (bass) while tonight Gary Hunt was filling in for drummer Rusty Knox.
Read More...
This Silent Divide - Single Review: Beautiful Creature
25 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based melodic hard rock quartet This Silent Divide, entitled Beautiful Creature. I really enjoyed their Tall Stories EP, and they played a great gig at Dead Witch towards the end of last year, and this would have been recorded at about the same time.
Read More...
Gig Review: Emily Rice @ Your Local Coffee Roasters, Pukekohe - 24/05/2023
24 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this week I had a message from Emily Rice asking me if I lived in South Auckland. When I responded I did, she asked if I would be interested in coming along to an event she was putting on in a coffee shop in Pukekohe to celebrate the release of her new single, Warenoa.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TEXAS HOLD 'EM
    Beyonce
  • PRAISE JAH IN THE MOONLIGHT
    YG Marley
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • SATURN
    SZA
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • LOVIN ON ME
    Jack Harlow
  • CRUEL SUMMER
    Taylor Swift
  • END OF BEGINNING
    Djo
  • CARNIVAL
    Kanye West And Ty Dolla $ign
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem