13 Apr 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Lana Paige - Single Review: Lana Paige - Deluded

01 Dec 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

When the mighty Seas of Conflict released their latest single, Consume, it featured the rock vocals of Lana Paige, who I have previously seen perform as frontwoman for Dogtooth Amethyst, who recently changed their name to Enclosures. I sent Lana the review, and it was only when chatting with her that I realised she had released a single earlier in the year, so of course the only thing to do is listen to it and then write a review. With lyrics and melody by her sister Shannon McIntyre, the band on this was Ron Thaler (drums, who also produced it), Dixon Nacey (guitars), Matt Soong (keyboards), and Wayne McIntyre (bass). I did not know what to expect, but I am sure this is not it.

Anyone who has seen Lana front a metal band will know she a force of nature, full of bellowing power and gruff vocals, totally at one with the groove. Here she has tamed that beast, and while the arrangement has a rock base, it is very much of a far more delicate nature than what I thought it would be, and then at the front there is Lana singing in a totally different manner to what I expected. Throughout this she has an edge which shows there is more to her voice than what we are hearing, as there is an obvious breadth which is quite different to many, demonstrating there is more in the tank. This alt rock indie number allows Lana to demonstrate a very different side to what metalheads would expect and is something I enjoyed immensely. It will be interesting to see what the future holds for Lana and where she goes next, as she is able to happily reside within different musical genres, a rare talent indeed.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Lana Paige

For over ten years, the musical spectrum of Lana Paige has been ever-expanding. With a refusal to be defined or boxed in by any single genre or sound, her music has been refined and distilled over time to move an audience, both physically and emotionally. As she seamlessly blends the infectious rhythms of funk and soul, the energy and composition of classic rock and pop, the brooding tension of blues with the soaring melodies and emotional weight of post-hardcore, Lana presents an experience which few others can. Her unique sound and presence bring to an audience a fluid exploration of her own personality, raw and honest and entirely her own.

Lana‘s magnetic voice carries listeners through a kaleidoscope of expressive emotion, with support from the band whose style and range extend as far as her own. What results is a musical experience that is truly unique - emotional and energetic, honest and upbeat, undefinable and utterly unignorable. With no patience for two-dimensional art, no time for dishonest performance and no boxes to hold her in, Lana Paige presents her audience with the culmination of a lifetime spent gathering influence and experience - a dizzying, genre-bending ride through the innermost workings of a musical mind.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Lana Paige

Releases

There are no releases to display for Lana Paige.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Crushfest @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 07/07/2023
07 Jul 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was down to Tuning Fork for the first night of the second Crushfest festival. Tonight was going to be Wellington and Auckland bands, and then some of the same will be playing at the second night in Wellington next month.
Read More...
Rain - Single Review: Love and War
15 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It has been quite a while since I last heard from Wellington-based singer songwriter Cathy Elizabeth, and back then Rain was seen solely as a studio project with Cathy being accompanied by Thomas Te Taite, who provided all the instrumentation including digital drums. Now they are a full band who have been performing live, and it is the first time they have recorded as such, with Thomas now, just providing acoustic guitar (plus engineering and producing etc.
Read More...
Lost Vessels - Single Review: All This Time
01 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I was not that impressed when I first saw Lost Vessels play at Crushfest, something they later admitted to me was the worst gig of their career, but since then they have improved in leaps and bounds. This has been noticed by others on the Auckland circuit as they are getting more opportunities with better support slots, and I was not at all surprised when they won the Ding Dong Lounge Battle Of The Bands in November last year.
Read More...
Unwanted Subject - Single Review: Sons of Savages
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I have caught Unwanted Subject in concert a few times over the last couple of years, and while they have been getting better each time I have seen them, I must admit that nothing prepared me for this, which right from the off is a monster. I have never heard them quite this is aggressive, nor as polished, and this multi-sectioned single sounds almost like a different band as they have pushed their metal roots to the max in this metalcore beast which sees them mixing and blending different genres to create something quite special.
Read More...
Gig Review: Stray Dogs @ AUX, Auckland - 26/05/2023
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to Ding Dong Lounge on a Friday night for one of their infamous Emo nights, which tonight was a three-band bill with Stray Dogs having an extended set, supported by Altaea and then up first we had Blindr, a band new to me. Blindr are a quartet featuring Bill Caldwell (vocals, guitar), Blake Woodfield (lead guitar), Jack Power (bass), and Charlie McCracken (drums).
Read More...
Gig Review: Turkey The Bird @ The Ministry of Folk, Auckland - 27/05/2023
27 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back up to Auckland Guide Centre in Mount Eden tonight for my second consecutive gig (Sol suggested it was a turkey sandwich as I am at Vader tomorrow) to see Taranaki’s finest, Turkey The Bird at The Ministry of Folk. Before that we of course had Hoop, who are Al Baxter (vocals, guitar, harmonica, banjo, mandolin), Nick Edgar (vocals, guitar, ukulele, flute, harmonica), Emily Allen (violin, viola), Glenn Coldham (bass) while tonight Gary Hunt was filling in for drummer Rusty Knox.
Read More...
This Silent Divide - Single Review: Beautiful Creature
25 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based melodic hard rock quartet This Silent Divide, entitled Beautiful Creature. I really enjoyed their Tall Stories EP, and they played a great gig at Dead Witch towards the end of last year, and this would have been recorded at about the same time.
Read More...
Gig Review: Emily Rice @ Your Local Coffee Roasters, Pukekohe - 24/05/2023
24 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this week I had a message from Emily Rice asking me if I lived in South Auckland. When I responded I did, she asked if I would be interested in coming along to an event she was putting on in a coffee shop in Pukekohe to celebrate the release of her new single, Warenoa.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • LIKE THAT
    Future And Metro Boomin feat. Kendrick Lamar
  • END OF BEGINNING
    Djo
  • I LIKE THE WAY YOU KISS ME
    Artemas
  • WE CAN'T BE FRIENDS (WAIT FOR YOUR LOVE)
    Ariana Grande
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • TEXAS HOLD 'EM
    Beyonce
  • LEAVEMEALONE
    Fred Again.. And Baby Keem
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem