26 Feb 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Blindspott - EP Review: Volume. II

01 Dec 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Here we have the second instalment of Blindspott’s next album, Volumes. There are going to be 12 tracks in total, and when they released Volume. I earlier in the year it only showed the titles of the first three songs, with all the rest rubbed out. Now we can see the titles of the first six songs, as we have an additional three, with two more sets to go. I finally got to see these guys play earlier this year, ticking off an item on my personal musical bucket list, while I reviewed their last single, the mighty Pretty Violent to which I gave 5*’s. That song is actually on this EP, but is the final number of the three, which kicks off with Nightmare.

We all know Blindspott as a kick ass metal act who take no prisoners and are a mighty force to be reckoned with in the live environment, but it is also important to remember they have always mixed in other elements and have been masters of their own destiny doing whatever they want. So perhaps it should not be surprising that Nightmare is nothing like the blaster one would expect it to be given the title and who is performing it. I am not sure what guitar is being plucked as it doesn’t come across as an acoustic (maybe a nylon or unplugged electric?), and it combines with gentle piano to allow Damian to show just what a controlled and melodic singer he can be when the time is right. The song changes slightly at 1:20 with the introduction of a powerful grunty bass, but it is still a while before the drums come in with the piano and picked guitars being incredibly important. There is a gentle build in this, with the rock elements becoming more important, and then at 3:15 it turns into a groove-laden monster with harsh vocals, before switching into an amalgam of the styles, switching throughout until it gradually reverts back to how it was at the beginning. This track is more than seven minutes in length, and demonstrates not only power but restraint, heavily polished and controlled. To me it demonstrates so much confidence in the band as that is a hard trick to pull off.

A Perfect Storm features Sophie Maude singing alongside Damian to provide twin vocals which work incredibly as they bounce off each other: there are times when it feels more commercial with the harmonies again showing the band in a very different light with the accompaniment sitting back in the pocket. There are times when this picks up, but it also ebbs and flows, demonstrating yet another facet of Blindspott.  We end with Pretty Violent, which again shows different styles of the band, allowing them to be gentle and melodic but when the guys let rip, they create a groove-driven monster which is simply epic. Incredibly melodics, with loads of light and shade for contrast, it can be as gentle as a ballad in one place and then driving Sepultura at others with the tuneful vocals quite different to the crunching guitars of Brandon and Andrew. Only two more EPs to go and then we can play the whole 12 tracks one after the other. I can’t wait.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Blindspott

Formed in 1997, Blindspott are one of New Zealand’s most successful rock/metal bands. Going straight to #1 upon release in 2002, their iconic debut self-titled album Blindspott sold multi-platinum in New Zealand and was released in Australia, South East Asia and Japan.

Their first hit single, Nil By Mouth was a success in 2001, gaining major airplay on TV and radio channels across the country. Following a number of hit songs, the emotionally charged anthem track Phlex reached No. 2 on the charts.

Blindspott were the first NZ band to have both their 1st and 2nd albums debut on the NZ Music charts at #1 and the first band in history to have album debut at #1 twice!

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Blindspott

Releases

Volume II
Year: 2022
Type: EP
Volume I
Year: 2022
Type: EP
End the Silence
Year: 2006
Type: Album
Story So Far
Year: 2004
Type: DVD
Blindspott (Limited Edition)
Year: 2003
Type: Album
Blindspott
Year: 2002
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Crushfest @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 07/07/2023
07 Jul 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was down to Tuning Fork for the first night of the second Crushfest festival. Tonight was going to be Wellington and Auckland bands, and then some of the same will be playing at the second night in Wellington next month.
Read More...
Rain - Single Review: Love and War
15 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It has been quite a while since I last heard from Wellington-based singer songwriter Cathy Elizabeth, and back then Rain was seen solely as a studio project with Cathy being accompanied by Thomas Te Taite, who provided all the instrumentation including digital drums. Now they are a full band who have been performing live, and it is the first time they have recorded as such, with Thomas now, just providing acoustic guitar (plus engineering and producing etc.
Read More...
Lost Vessels - Single Review: All This Time
01 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I was not that impressed when I first saw Lost Vessels play at Crushfest, something they later admitted to me was the worst gig of their career, but since then they have improved in leaps and bounds. This has been noticed by others on the Auckland circuit as they are getting more opportunities with better support slots, and I was not at all surprised when they won the Ding Dong Lounge Battle Of The Bands in November last year.
Read More...
Unwanted Subject - Single Review: Sons of Savages
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I have caught Unwanted Subject in concert a few times over the last couple of years, and while they have been getting better each time I have seen them, I must admit that nothing prepared me for this, which right from the off is a monster. I have never heard them quite this is aggressive, nor as polished, and this multi-sectioned single sounds almost like a different band as they have pushed their metal roots to the max in this metalcore beast which sees them mixing and blending different genres to create something quite special.
Read More...
Gig Review: Stray Dogs @ AUX, Auckland - 26/05/2023
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to Ding Dong Lounge on a Friday night for one of their infamous Emo nights, which tonight was a three-band bill with Stray Dogs having an extended set, supported by Altaea and then up first we had Blindr, a band new to me. Blindr are a quartet featuring Bill Caldwell (vocals, guitar), Blake Woodfield (lead guitar), Jack Power (bass), and Charlie McCracken (drums).
Read More...
Gig Review: Turkey The Bird @ The Ministry of Folk, Auckland - 27/05/2023
27 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back up to Auckland Guide Centre in Mount Eden tonight for my second consecutive gig (Sol suggested it was a turkey sandwich as I am at Vader tomorrow) to see Taranaki’s finest, Turkey The Bird at The Ministry of Folk. Before that we of course had Hoop, who are Al Baxter (vocals, guitar, harmonica, banjo, mandolin), Nick Edgar (vocals, guitar, ukulele, flute, harmonica), Emily Allen (violin, viola), Glenn Coldham (bass) while tonight Gary Hunt was filling in for drummer Rusty Knox.
Read More...
This Silent Divide - Single Review: Beautiful Creature
25 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based melodic hard rock quartet This Silent Divide, entitled Beautiful Creature. I really enjoyed their Tall Stories EP, and they played a great gig at Dead Witch towards the end of last year, and this would have been recorded at about the same time.
Read More...
Gig Review: Emily Rice @ Your Local Coffee Roasters, Pukekohe - 24/05/2023
24 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this week I had a message from Emily Rice asking me if I lived in South Auckland. When I responded I did, she asked if I would be interested in coming along to an event she was putting on in a coffee shop in Pukekohe to celebrate the release of her new single, Warenoa.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TEXAS HOLD 'EM
    Beyonce
  • PRAISE JAH IN THE MOONLIGHT
    YG Marley
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • LOVIN ON ME
    Jack Harlow
  • CRUEL SUMMER
    Taylor Swift
  • GREEDY
    Tate McRae
  • SNOOZE
    SZA
  • TRAINING SEASON
    Dua Lipa
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem