13 Jul 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Silcrow - Single Review: Ethereal

01 Dec 2022 // A review by Kris Raven

Ethereal is the 2nd single from Auckland rock four piece Silcrow (shedding the skin from previous name Close to the Bone). From the guitar solos to the modern rock feel, clean production and that chorus (dammmmm its catchy), this song had me instantly hooked. 

Firstly, hats off to the guitarist Oscar Miler for that guitar solo at the beginning of the song, it's not done enough these days. And on top of that they have managed to keep it prog rock epic with a slight 80's Skid Row vibe without making it cheesy. This flows nicely into the verse, which builds nicely, carried by a solid groove courtesy of rhythm section, bassist Conor Sutton and drummer Carl Stieller. The picked guitar notes are elegant and work perfectly at elevating the song along with the incredible voice of Lorenzo Hazlewood.  

For me the chorus really hits hard, the vocal melody is so hooky, Hazlewood's vocals are so soothing and he carries his notes so effortlessly. Vocally it reminds me of Morning View era Brandon Boyd, clean, elegant and classy. The chorus is the game changer and we can only hope to hear this on mainstream radio. While its does have a modern rock sound, I can also hear some reminiscent big four grunge vibes stylistically. 

We are then treated to another well written guitar solo that has just the right amount of character and class, before we are swooned away to one more final chorus. I really enjoyed the subtle off beats and fills that accentuate the chorus flow, those small fine details that further elevate the song. Great musicianship and songwriting, stunning vocals and melody, I really do look forward to seeing what else these guys have to offer and listening to this song further on repeat. 

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Silcrow

Previously known as Close To The Bone.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Silcrow

Releases

Silcrow
Year: 2024
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kris Raven

Take Hold - EP Review: Stay Down
10 Jun 2024 // by Kris Raven
Aotearoa melodic hardcore alumni Take Hold, have returned with brand new music, dropping four of five tracks as a single format prior to the release of their self-produced, 5-track EP entitled Stay Down. This method has fast become the norm in the world of modern music releases and streaming.
Read More...
Just One Fix - EP Review: Submit or Death
30 Apr 2024 // by Kris Raven
Auckland's premier thrash lords Just One Fix make a triumphant return with new EP Submit or Death. Having warmed their fanbases palate with two singles, the true to form and heavy hitting Your Own God Now and Gods and Devils.
Read More...
Curlys Jewels - Album Review: Curly Jewels
06 Dec 2023 // by Kris Raven
Wellington's Curlys Jewels have recently dropped their full-length long player, Curlys Jewels. A staple in live music scene of Aotearoa, along with a fierce loyal Wellington fan base, Curlys have gone from strength to strength in the last few years, releasing a string of well received, radio bangers throughout the independent and mainstream waves, with every release in my view topping the last in terms of song writing, production and performance.
Read More...
Starving Millions - EP Review: VII
07 Nov 2023 // by Kris Raven
Wellington's Starving Millions have recently released their new EP VII, their first new recorded music since 2018's VI. While I have heard and seen their name throughout Aotearoa's venues, posters and word of mouth, I have never properly listened to their music.
Read More...
Beastwars - Album Review: Tyranny of Distance
11 Oct 2023 // by Kris Raven
One of Aotearoa's finest acts, Beastwars are set to release their 5th album Tyranny of Distance upon the world and damn, you better get excited. Their previous record, IV dropped in 2019 following on from a series of concept albums laid out by the band over the last decade.
Read More...
Lost Vessels - EP Review: Things I Never Said
19 Sep 2023 // by Kris Raven
Auckland 5-Piece Lost Vessels have recently released their debut EP Things I Never Said, comprised of five tracks that stand out amongst the crowd, a passionate offering of high energy, accessible, engaging punk fueled rock. All This Time, their first single release, is an absolute banger of a track to open this EP and introduce the world to Lost Vessels.
Read More...
Shepherds Reign - Album Review: Ala Mai
11 Aug 2023 // by Kris Raven
Aotearoa's Shepherds Reign are set to deliver their long-awaited new album Ala Mai to the world and set their place on the global musical landscape of heavy music as a band set for greatness. Known for blending various metal subgenres and Polynesian sounds that creates their overall concept, Ala Mai delivers hard and heavy head banging riffs, complex guitar arrangements and powerful and striking vocals that encapsulate universal themes of life, love, family, loss, and culture.
Read More...
Fictional Response - Single Review: Moonstruck
05 Jul 2023 // by Kris Raven
Fictional Response, the brain child of multi-instrumentalist and songwriter Richie Bennett is back with a cracker of a new single, Moonstruck. Moonstruck is the first release for 2023, following a slew of genre bending singles released throughout 2021-2022 and packs a massive nostalgic punch for this listener.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kris Raven

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • BIRDS OF A FEATHER
    Billie Eilish
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • DEVIL IS A LIE
    Tommy Richman
  • GOOD LUCK, BABE!
    Chappell Roan
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem