3 Feb 2023
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Silcrow - Single Review: Ethereal

01 Dec 2022 // A review by Kris Raven

Ethereal is the 2nd single from Auckland rock four piece Silcrow (shedding the skin from previous name Close to the Bone). From the guitar solos to the modern rock feel, clean production and that chorus (dammmmm its catchy), this song had me instantly hooked. 

Firstly, hats off to the guitarist Oscar Miler for that guitar solo at the beginning of the song, it's not done enough these days. And on top of that they have managed to keep it prog rock epic with a slight 80's Skid Row vibe without making it cheesy. This flows nicely into the verse, which builds nicely, carried by a solid groove courtesy of rhythm section, bassist Conor Sutton and drummer Carl Stieller. The picked guitar notes are elegant and work perfectly at elevating the song along with the incredible voice of Lorenzo Hazlewood.  

For me the chorus really hits hard, the vocal melody is so hooky, Hazlewood's vocals are so soothing and he carries his notes so effortlessly. Vocally it reminds me of Morning View era Brandon Boyd, clean, elegant and classy. The chorus is the game changer and we can only hope to hear this on mainstream radio. While its does have a modern rock sound, I can also hear some reminiscent big four grunge vibes stylistically. 

We are then treated to another well written guitar solo that has just the right amount of character and class, before we are swooned away to one more final chorus. I really enjoyed the subtle off beats and fills that accentuate the chorus flow, those small fine details that further elevate the song. Great musicianship and songwriting, stunning vocals and melody, I really do look forward to seeing what else these guys have to offer and listening to this song further on repeat. 

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Silcrow

Previously known as Close To The Bone.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Silcrow

Releases

There are no releases to display for Silcrow.

Other Reviews By Kris Raven

Crooked Royals - Album Review: Quarter Life Day Dream
19 Oct 2022 // by Kris Raven
Kiwi progressive Metalcore 5-piece Crooked Royals are a ticking time bomb, the anticipation and hype for their debut album Quarter Life Day Dream is brewing, and their path to global domination has been building since their inception. They have come out of pit swinging and have hit 2022 hard, heavy and ready to take on the international stage.
Read More...
Infinity Ritual - Single Review: I'm Gone
25 May 2022 // by Kris Raven
New Plymouth three piece Infinity Ritual are blasting out the gate, fresh off the boots of their debut first single I'm Gone from their self-titled upcoming EP. The song begins with a thunderous drum fill courtesy of drummer Mark Thomas, making way for a big groovy, distorted onslaught of guitar riffage.
Read More...
No Life - EP Review: Radical Thoughts
14 May 2022 // by Kris Raven
Whilst fairly fresh to the NZ music scene (original formation in 2019), South Island quartet No Life are here to leave a pummeling imprint on 2022 and beyond with the release of their debut EP. Radical Thoughts delivers three massive tracks of progressive metalcore with embellishments of modern nu metal and industrial.
Read More...
EP Review: Wolves/Gravel Pit Split EP
10 Apr 2022 // by Kris Raven
Open your ears, get your windmill arms ready and brace yourself for 5 tracks of hardcore punk from some of New Zealand’s finest. Bringing back the classic 7” vinyl split EP on side one are the relatively new Auckland 4 piece Wolves featuring members of the Bleeders, City of Souls and Evil Priest.
Read More...
End Boss - Album Review: They Seek My Head
07 Apr 2022 // by Kris Raven
Wellington's End Boss featuring members of Beastwars and Ghidoragh and the incredible vocals of EJ Thorpe, have delivered one of the finest albums of 2022. A heavy music juggernaut, which combines huge lashings of doom, stoner and heavy metal with cinematic, post metal, ethereal vocals and elements that leave your ears comfortably bleeding and your mind blown musically and lyrically throughout.
Read More...
Sidewinder - Album Review: Vines
05 Mar 2022 // by Kris Raven
Wellington's Sidewinder have just dropped their debut album Vines and coinciding NZ tour. The five-piece formed in 2020, have already made a mark on the rock NZ scene, releasing three singles (featuring on the Vines), along with national and international radio play and playing extensively in their home town and beyond.
Read More...
Sit Down In Front - EP Review: Fuelling My Rage
20 Jan 2022 // by Kris Raven
3-Piece Punk Rockers Sit Down in Front have been consistently cranking out music and gigging nationally since they began in 2017. With two full length albums, a slew of charting radio singles and music videos as well as an impressive gigging resume, they have been making their mark, leaving their statement and creating a solid body of straight up punk hits ever since.
Read More...
Wisteria Falls - Single Review: Temperamental
18 Jan 2022 // by Kris Raven
Introducing you to Wisteria Falls, the latest project from Auckland musician and songwriter Will Walker. Will is no stranger to the Auckland & NZ music scene or the Australian rock scene for that matter.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kris Raven

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FLOWERS
    Miley Cyrus
  • KILL BILL
    SZA
  • ESCAPISM.
    RAYE feat. 070 Shake
  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SURE THING
    Miguel
  • PEOPLE
    Libianca
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CREEPIN'
    Metro Boomin, The Weeknd And 21 Savage
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem