3 Feb 2023
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Loveta - EP Review: More Than Fun

29 Nov 2022 // A review by Madeleine Howard

0Otautahi based pop artist Loveta launched her debut EP More Than Fun on November 18th. 

The EP is a collaboration with musician Wulfie (Tim Heeringa) and made with support from NZ On Air's Development Fund. The result is a shimmering pop debut, with infectious hooks and glistening production. 

Loveta is the musical moniker of Lauren Marshall, who, funnily enough, I went through high school with. She was a few years older than me, and I remember her singing in school assemblies often. When I stumbled across her latest project, I jumped at the chance to see what she has been up to, and was not disappointed in the slightest. 

The EP begins with title track More Than Fun, a disco infused track that immediately made me want to get up and dance. Slick guitar riffs accompany Loveta's strong, soulful vocals. A stand out on the EP, More Than Fun is the perfect introduction to this up and coming artist. 

Other stand out tracks include Drive, a dreamy synth pop bop, the perfect track to accompany you on those summer road trips, but the remaining tracks are just as good in their own right. There is not one song on More Than Fun that I would skip, they're all that good. 

More Than Fun oozes infectious, funky, and nostalgic pop gems. Production is highly polished, each track is unique and shines on their own, yet blend perfectly together. Loveta has a unique sound, a blend of early 2000's dance pop and RnB inspired instrumentation. Loveta is an exciting up and coming artist and deserving of all the success. I look forward to seeing where this project takes her.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Loveta

Emerging Kiwi songstress Lauren Marshall combines powerful soul-infused pop vocals with dreamy electronic dance vibes to create a soundscape reminiscent of past-meets-present. Having spent most of her career on stage and in front of the camera in New Zealand and overseas, Lauren has taken her diverse performing arts background and combined it with her passion for songwriting to bring her musical artistry to life. Inspired by the soulful divas of the '60s and 70's, as well as iconic vocalists such as Amy Winehouse, Lana Del Rey, and Yebba, Loveta brings together the greats of disco and funk into the modern electro-pop scene - with sounds to keep you dancing, as well as touch the heart.

Lauren recently made her official debut as Loveta on the ambient synth-heavy ballad Love Won't Run Away by Wulfie, and is set to make her mark on the music world with upcoming releases in 2022. Stay tuned!


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Loveta

Releases

More Than Fun
Year: 2022
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Madeleine Howard

Just Another June - EP Review: Mo(u)rning
16 Dec 2022 // by Madeleine Howard
Otautahi quartet Just Another June released their debut EP Mo(u)rning on December 7th, 2023.Just Another June are singer songwriter Luna Cubillana, vocalist and guitarist Sam Keelty, bassist Austin Standeven and drummer Amy Claire.
Read More...
Shivers - Single Review: Under My Skin
13 Dec 2022 // by Madeleine Howard
Wellington based band Shivers released their latest single Under My Skin on the 8th of November. Formed in 2018, Shivers consists of vocalist Timmy Porter, multi-instrumentalist Adrian Win and drummer Rick Cranson.
Read More...
Ant Utama - Single Review: Biding My Time
10 Nov 2022 // by Madeleine Howard
Pop artist Ant Utama releases his new single Biding My Time today, Friday 11th November. The Kiwi born, now German based artist has enjoyed success with the release of his debut EP Brave in 2020, clocking over 300,000 streams.
Read More...
Molly Devine - EP Review: Still Here
03 Nov 2022 // by Madeleine Howard
Otepoti musician Molly Devine releases her new EP Still Here today, on November 4th.The three track EP is a collection of thoughtful and powerful songs that tell the story of Devine's experience with dating app Bumble.
Read More...
Roonie - Single Review: The Way It Should Be
13 Oct 2022 // by Madeleine Howard
Pop artist Roonie releases her new single The Way It Should Be today, Friday 14th October 2022. Taupo raised, Christchurch based Roonie is Michaela Pointon, who burst onto the scene in 2020 with the release of her debut single My Heart.
Read More...
Goodwill - EP Review: Incontrol
07 Sep 2022 // by Madeleine Howard
Otautahi musician Goodwill released his debut EP Incontrol on the 19th of August. The solo project of musician Will McGillivray, formerly of successful Kiwi band nomad, Incontrol is the result of six years of work in Will’s home studio in Christchurch.
Read More...
Danica Bryant - EP Review: Ego Death
18 Aug 2022 // by Madeleine Howard
Hawkes Bay songstress Danica Bryant is back with her sophomore EP Ego Death, released to the world on August 19th. Following on from her 2020 debut EP Cider, Bryant has continued to enjoy success with a string of singles, including sugary pop tune Heart Eyes and head-banging Ready To Bite.
Read More...
Flying Man - Single Review: Since You've Been Gone
14 Mar 2022 // by Madeleine Howard
Dunedin based; Irish born artist Flying Man released his debut single Since You’ve Been Gone on the 28th of January. A haunting acoustic ballad about the aftermath of losing someone close to you, Since You’ve Been Gone is a reflective look at life after death, and the struggle that comes with trying to go about everyday life when you’ve lost someone special.
Read More...
View All Articles By Madeleine Howard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FLOWERS
    Miley Cyrus
  • KILL BILL
    SZA
  • ESCAPISM.
    RAYE feat. 070 Shake
  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SURE THING
    Miguel
  • PEOPLE
    Libianca
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CREEPIN'
    Metro Boomin, The Weeknd And 21 Savage
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem