21 Jun 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Coridian - Single Review: State of Mind

24 Nov 2022 // A review by Steve Shyu
Today is an exciting day.


Auckland’s alt-rock champions, and arguably one of Aotearoa’s finest rock groups of the modern day, Coridian, release a fresh new jam, 
State of Mind, for all to indulge in and headbang to.

Coming off the back of the triumphant single Rakshasa (which featured vocals from Michael Murphy, the frontman of the excellent Written by Wolves), State of Mind becomes the fourth release taken from the upcoming sophomore record Hava, due for release in March 2023.

Admittedly, this isn’t the first time I had heard this new tune! Just a couple of weekends ago, while playing alongside Written by Wolves, Pull Down the Sun and others, Coridian treated a bustling and energetic Tuning Fork audience to this brand new release. In saying that, I had had two cans of Garage Project’s Hapi Daze more than intended, so I’d be lying if I said I remember every part of the song!

Having now properly revisited State of Mind, I can safely report that yes, this new song is just as powerful as I remember.

A jagged guitar riff cuts an opening for the intro, before the drums, bassline and robust-sounding guitar chords churn along to a math-rock time signature. Along comes Dity’s vocals, pensive yet resolute. Impressively, his phrases dance effortlessly to the unconventional drum rhythm, switching between on-the-beat to syncopated syllables. Truly masterful stuff.

Take the time to stop and to breathe out all of that shit living inside your own head; see what’s wrong”. I consider this pertinent to the attitudes of the current day, and certainly would have been relevant to what we all have seen over the recent couple of years! One would almost wager that’s one of the topics which inspired these lyrics…

Just deny it, when you're blinded by the rage!” Yep, I think I’m on the money.

Coridian typically don’t often employ many tricky timings and rhythms, so those more familiar with their back catalogue will be right at home with the band’s signature sound which is unloaded in the choruses. The bass guitar and the pummeling drums, courtesy of Nick and Kris, respectively, propel the entire tune. The fuzz-laden, yet powerful guitar chords from Mike flesh out the foreground, as the vocals take the centre stage, which Coridian songs tend to do.

Sonically, this one's like A Perfect Circle matched with equal parts Chevelle. And upon writing that, it would make perfect sense for Coridian to share the stage with either of those international groups. Now that borders have opened back up more or less like pre-2020, anything is possible, you never know.

Having received plenty of praise on radio shows like The Rock, Generator FM and Bayrock 93.7FM, go on and experience State of Mind for yourself. It’s available on Spotify right now, and the accompanying music video will be ready next week, so follow them on YouTube and keep both eyes peeled!

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Coridian

Coridian is an alternative/progressive rock group from Auckland, New Zealand.

Formed in 2015, the band consists of brothers Mike Raven (Guitars/Keys), Kris Raven (Drums/Percussion), Nick Raven (Bass) and Dity Maharaj (Vocals/Lyrics/Art).

They’ve been described, "Raven brothers (Mike, Kris and Nick respectively) work as a well-oiled machine; the gear box of which is Maharaj, his vocals taking the band from a hum to a scream within seconds" (Ambient Light).

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Coridian

Releases

Hava
Year: 2023
Type: Album
Eldur
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Caldera
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Oceanic
Year: 2015
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Steve Shyu

Havening - Double Album Review: Wavelengths of Light
26 May 2024 // by Steve Shyu
Big things are happening for Bonnie O'Donnell. Under her alias of Havening, she’s been eagerly crafting bucketloads of electronic music, releasing them all as not one, but two albums.
Read More...
Gig Review: Homegrown 2024 @ Wellington Waterfront - 16/03/2024 Part 2
18 Mar 2024 // by Steve Shyu
With nothing of last night's rainstorm in sight except puddles in the asphalt, the sun warmed the air to counter the day's cold breeze. There was plenty of talk of a cold snap on the way, but I was confident my tee and hoodie combo would suffice.
Read More...
EP Review: PHNX
11 Mar 2024 // by Steve Shyu
Aotearoa, look out for a rising star on the horizon.Under his stage name PHNX, 18-year-old singer-songwriter and producer Phoenix Simpson has released his self-titled debut EP and it’s a gem.
Read More...
EP Review: Ben Ruegg
29 Feb 2024 // by Steve Shyu
Ben Ruegg is one of the most hard-working people I personally know. He's a Muzic.
Read More...
Bevan Mical - Album Review: Division & Difference
12 Dec 2023 // by Steve Shyu
Since 2017 Bevan Mical has been busy. Hailing from the small Waikato town of Turua, he’s now onto his fourth full-length album, this one entitled Division & Difference.
Read More...
Bulletbelt - Album Review: Burn It Up
28 Sep 2023 // by Steve Shyu
Though nobody can claim they know every Kiwi metal band to have ever existed, to know anything about heavy music in Aotearoa, the name Bulletbelt should at least ring a bell. To say their career thus far has been impressive is an understatement.
Read More...
Will McClean - Album Review: Don't Forget to Breathe
28 Jul 2023 // by Steve Shyu
Out of the underground hip-hop scene of Te Whanganui-a-Tara Wellington comes Will McClean, who over the past handful of years has garnered accolades on his recorded music and performances. Having shared stages with Kiwi icons Troy Kingi, Che Fu and Diggy Dupé, Will seems determined to keep the momentum and create new releases.
Read More...
Album Review: The Heroic Adventures of And$um & Lui Mill
21 Jul 2023 // by Steve Shyu
Following a string of acclaimed singles, Otautahi Christchurch Hip-Hop artists And$um and Lui Mills have released a brand new collaborative album of seven tracks named The Heroic Adventures of And$um & Lui Mill. The two rap artists have been kicking around the Christchurch Hip-Hop scenes for years, and have put together this LP as a result of their longtime friendship.
Read More...
View All Articles By Steve Shyu

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • HOUDINI
    Eminem
  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • BIRDS OF A FEATHER
    Billie Eilish
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • I HAD SOME HELP
    Post Malone feat. Morgan Wallen
  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • LUNCH
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem