8 Dec 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Reuben Hudson - EP Review: Cloudhead

24 Nov 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

This five-track EP is the latest release from Melbourne-based, Tamaki Makaurau (Auckland, New Zealand) multi-instrumentalist and songwriter/producer, Reuben Hudson. Featuring David Harris on drums (Princess Chelsea), mixed by Peter Ruddell (Wax Chattels, Sulfate) and mastered by James Goldsmith (Mermaidens), everything else was played and performed by Reuben himself. The result is a pop release which is full of catchy choruses and multiple styles which rushes past very quickly indeed. I think one of the reasons for that is while four of the songs are about three minutes long, opener Good People, Bad People is only 1:47 and rather catches the listener off guard. This is also a song which features a young female vocal (at least I think it is, unless Reuben has a very unusual falsetto), as do some of the others, and she cuts through what is going on underneath.

This opener is by far the heaviest, yet also contains some of the quietest moments on the record, even if the lyrics are designed to create a reaction. He has a great touch on guitar, allowing himself to pick in some places, provide indie-style riffs in others, or just belt it out when he feels the need. He also uses some interesting keyboard sounds, including one which sounds just like a stylophone – I presume it is a patch, but I must wonder if he did actually use one of those on the EP. This includes the single Gasman, an over-the-top vibrant number which seems quite simple but actually has a very dense arrangement with a great deal going on. The EP covers an array of themes, such as feeling (and celebrating) that you don’t belong in the society around you, juxtaposed with surrendering your identity in order to fit in. Reuben says, “In my case, I didn't relate to New Zealand’s macho, Fonterra drinking, ‘harden up’ Rugby culture that takes its toll on our mental health. However, as I wrote much of this music from the isolated position of awaiting a kidney transplant, I managed to keep a sense of what it was that made me different.”

Vocally he fits mostly in the indie style, but there are some at the beginning of There’s No One Like Me which make me think he has been paying attention to his Dylan and Cohen, but he is soon back with his stylophone and a more upbeat mode. Solid pop with loads of other influences, this is an interesting journey.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Reuben Hudson

Reuben Hudson is the solo project of the musician, singer-songwriter, producer, composer and creative from Tamaki Makaurau.

Reuben experiments with a variety of genres and sounds to create fun, honest and caring music - with a tendency towards fast-paced & guitar-driven band music - often incorporating experimental elements like drum machine or synths.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Reuben Hudson

Releases

Cloudhead
Year: 2022
Type: EP
There's No-One Like Me
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Unreachable
Year: 2018
Type: EP
Forgot About The Sun
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Rebus
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Flat Times
Year: 2017
Type: EP
When I Was Sixteen
Year: 2015
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Thinking Foxes - Single Review: Bleached
07 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Thinking Foxes are an Auckland-based alternative rock trio who are new to me, comprising Gabriel Parkins Craig (vocals, guitar), Luca Garcia Ferrari (bass), and Noah Page (drums). Bleached is their debut single and based on this I am somewhat surprised to have not seen them on the circuit, or even come across their name, as this is polished and full of confidence and never sounds as if it is their first release.
Read More...
James Kohler - Single Review: Lights Out
07 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
As a rule, I read press releases after I have been listening to the music, but as well as Lisa sending me this to review, I was also sent it today by the PR company and I read that email before I realised it was on my list. However, my interest was already piqued as James Kohler is described as an “independent prog artist”.
Read More...
Downfall of Humanity - Single Review: War Cry
05 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Given the age of these guys, it is somewhat difficult to realise that this line-up has been together since 2009 when Bryce Patten (guitars, backing vocals) joined forces with Daniel Carleton (lead vocals), Alex Carleton (guitars, backing vocals), Ben Pegman (bass) and Ben Bakker (drums). In 2021 they released the excellent Deceit EP, and here at the end of 2022 they are back with their latest single, War Cry which has just blown me away.
Read More...
Gig Review: LIIT @ Morningside 605, Auckland - 3/12/2022
04 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It is not often I can say I am at a venue for the first time, but this is indeed the first time I have attended the small but perfectly formed venue which is Morningside 605. I had made my way over to this side of Auckland, and had to park miles away due to Billy Joel playing at Eden Park on the same night, to catch the infamous LIIT and have a party.
Read More...
KEV'S TOP 10's - 2022
02 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Last year, as a bit of fun, I put together my Top 10’s of NZ music for the year. I may well have created an issue for myself though, as more than a few have asked when the 2022 version is coming out, so here it is in time for the last ever MNZ newsletter in its current form.
Read More...
Single Review: Lana Paige - Deluded
01 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
When the mighty Seas of Conflict released their latest single, Consume, it featured the rock vocals of Lana Paige, who I have previously seen perform as frontwoman for Dogtooth Amethyst, who recently changed their name to Enclosures. I sent Lana the review, and it was only when chatting with her that I realised she had released a single earlier in the year, so of course the only thing to do is listen to it and then write a review.
Read More...
Blindspott - EP Review: Volume. II
01 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the second instalment of Blindspott’s next album, Volumes. There are going to be 12 tracks in total, and when they released Volume.
Read More...
Gig Review: Lazy Fifty @ Paraoa Brewing, Whangaparaoa - 24/11/2022
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
For my only gig this week, not only am I out on a school night, but I have struggled all the way from South Auckland up to Whangaparaoa, and I must admit it has been years since I have been here. Tonight, Australian trio 19-Twenty are in town, but to be honest I am here for the support band, Lazy Fifty whose last album, 2021: A Lazy Odyssey, I reviewed a year ago.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem