13 Apr 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Reuben Hudson - EP Review: Cloudhead

24 Nov 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

This five-track EP is the latest release from Melbourne-based, Tamaki Makaurau (Auckland, New Zealand) multi-instrumentalist and songwriter/producer, Reuben Hudson. Featuring David Harris on drums (Princess Chelsea), mixed by Peter Ruddell (Wax Chattels, Sulfate) and mastered by James Goldsmith (Mermaidens), everything else was played and performed by Reuben himself. The result is a pop release which is full of catchy choruses and multiple styles which rushes past very quickly indeed. I think one of the reasons for that is while four of the songs are about three minutes long, opener Good People, Bad People is only 1:47 and rather catches the listener off guard. This is also a song which features a young female vocal (at least I think it is, unless Reuben has a very unusual falsetto), as do some of the others, and she cuts through what is going on underneath.

This opener is by far the heaviest, yet also contains some of the quietest moments on the record, even if the lyrics are designed to create a reaction. He has a great touch on guitar, allowing himself to pick in some places, provide indie-style riffs in others, or just belt it out when he feels the need. He also uses some interesting keyboard sounds, including one which sounds just like a stylophone – I presume it is a patch, but I must wonder if he did actually use one of those on the EP. This includes the single Gasman, an over-the-top vibrant number which seems quite simple but actually has a very dense arrangement with a great deal going on. The EP covers an array of themes, such as feeling (and celebrating) that you don’t belong in the society around you, juxtaposed with surrendering your identity in order to fit in. Reuben says, “In my case, I didn't relate to New Zealand’s macho, Fonterra drinking, ‘harden up’ Rugby culture that takes its toll on our mental health. However, as I wrote much of this music from the isolated position of awaiting a kidney transplant, I managed to keep a sense of what it was that made me different.”

Vocally he fits mostly in the indie style, but there are some at the beginning of There’s No One Like Me which make me think he has been paying attention to his Dylan and Cohen, but he is soon back with his stylophone and a more upbeat mode. Solid pop with loads of other influences, this is an interesting journey.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Reuben Hudson

Reuben Hudson is the solo project of the musician, singer-songwriter, producer, composer and creative from Tamaki Makaurau.

Reuben experiments with a variety of genres and sounds to create fun, honest and caring music - with a tendency towards fast-paced & guitar-driven band music - often incorporating experimental elements like drum machine or synths.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Reuben Hudson

Releases

Cloudhead
Year: 2022
Type: EP
There's No-One Like Me
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Unreachable
Year: 2018
Type: EP
Forgot About The Sun
Year: 2017
Type: Album
Rebus
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Flat Times
Year: 2017
Type: EP
When I Was Sixteen
Year: 2015
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Crushfest @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 07/07/2023
07 Jul 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was down to Tuning Fork for the first night of the second Crushfest festival. Tonight was going to be Wellington and Auckland bands, and then some of the same will be playing at the second night in Wellington next month.
Read More...
Rain - Single Review: Love and War
15 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It has been quite a while since I last heard from Wellington-based singer songwriter Cathy Elizabeth, and back then Rain was seen solely as a studio project with Cathy being accompanied by Thomas Te Taite, who provided all the instrumentation including digital drums. Now they are a full band who have been performing live, and it is the first time they have recorded as such, with Thomas now, just providing acoustic guitar (plus engineering and producing etc.
Read More...
Lost Vessels - Single Review: All This Time
01 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I was not that impressed when I first saw Lost Vessels play at Crushfest, something they later admitted to me was the worst gig of their career, but since then they have improved in leaps and bounds. This has been noticed by others on the Auckland circuit as they are getting more opportunities with better support slots, and I was not at all surprised when they won the Ding Dong Lounge Battle Of The Bands in November last year.
Read More...
Unwanted Subject - Single Review: Sons of Savages
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I have caught Unwanted Subject in concert a few times over the last couple of years, and while they have been getting better each time I have seen them, I must admit that nothing prepared me for this, which right from the off is a monster. I have never heard them quite this is aggressive, nor as polished, and this multi-sectioned single sounds almost like a different band as they have pushed their metal roots to the max in this metalcore beast which sees them mixing and blending different genres to create something quite special.
Read More...
Gig Review: Stray Dogs @ AUX, Auckland - 26/05/2023
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to Ding Dong Lounge on a Friday night for one of their infamous Emo nights, which tonight was a three-band bill with Stray Dogs having an extended set, supported by Altaea and then up first we had Blindr, a band new to me. Blindr are a quartet featuring Bill Caldwell (vocals, guitar), Blake Woodfield (lead guitar), Jack Power (bass), and Charlie McCracken (drums).
Read More...
Gig Review: Turkey The Bird @ The Ministry of Folk, Auckland - 27/05/2023
27 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back up to Auckland Guide Centre in Mount Eden tonight for my second consecutive gig (Sol suggested it was a turkey sandwich as I am at Vader tomorrow) to see Taranaki’s finest, Turkey The Bird at The Ministry of Folk. Before that we of course had Hoop, who are Al Baxter (vocals, guitar, harmonica, banjo, mandolin), Nick Edgar (vocals, guitar, ukulele, flute, harmonica), Emily Allen (violin, viola), Glenn Coldham (bass) while tonight Gary Hunt was filling in for drummer Rusty Knox.
Read More...
This Silent Divide - Single Review: Beautiful Creature
25 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based melodic hard rock quartet This Silent Divide, entitled Beautiful Creature. I really enjoyed their Tall Stories EP, and they played a great gig at Dead Witch towards the end of last year, and this would have been recorded at about the same time.
Read More...
Gig Review: Emily Rice @ Your Local Coffee Roasters, Pukekohe - 24/05/2023
24 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this week I had a message from Emily Rice asking me if I lived in South Auckland. When I responded I did, she asked if I would be interested in coming along to an event she was putting on in a coffee shop in Pukekohe to celebrate the release of her new single, Warenoa.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • LIKE THAT
    Future And Metro Boomin feat. Kendrick Lamar
  • END OF BEGINNING
    Djo
  • I LIKE THE WAY YOU KISS ME
    Artemas
  • WE CAN'T BE FRIENDS (WAIT FOR YOUR LOVE)
    Ariana Grande
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • TEXAS HOLD 'EM
    Beyonce
  • LEAVEMEALONE
    Fred Again.. And Baby Keem
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem