8 Dec 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The RVMES - Album Review: Simple Things

23 Nov 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Before I started writing this I went back to my review for the guys’ last album, Lifetime, and part of me thought about copying it pretty much word for word and see if anyone noticed, as I spoke at length as to how many genres they were covering, and we have the same here, possibly more so. Most bands choose a genre, possibly going into a related area as well, and pretty much stay there. There are other bands who refuse to conform to any preconceived ideas of what they should be doing and release albums which are diverse with songs totally unrelated to each other in anyway which then make them unlistenable. Then there are The RVMES (pronounced “rooms”). At the time of recording, it was the same line-up of Edwin Judd (vocals, guitar), Miro Gibson (guitar), drummer Logan Fox and bassist Ronaldo Lima with the album being mixed by Miro although he has since left and been replaced by Richard Moore. What makes these guys such a delight is that each song is a perfectly crafted slice of whatever genre the band want it to be, but often the only thing connecting it to the song before and after are the vocals.

Take for example the opening title cut. When it was reviewed by Darryl on MNZ, he justifiably said it was “2:19 minutes of well-honed punk-rock inspired cleverly written brilliance”, and I certainly agree with that statement. It starts with a drum pattern and then we are into classic late 70’s British style punk with more than a nod to New York and The Ramones. If anyone hears this single and then thinks the whole album is like that is going to be in for quite a shock, as this is the only punk number here. From here on in we are taken on a journey which includes indie, soul, pop, reggae, alternative rock, kitchen sink, cuddly toy… you get the idea. They have a rough and raw commerciality which drags the listener in, so much so that instead of being annoyed or frustrated at how many stylistic shifts they make, instead we greet every new style with a knowing smile. The drums are sharp, ensuring the foundation is always there, while the bass is simply sublime with some wonderful runs, the guitars are often being picked in harmony or being overdriven, and then Edwin’s vocals bring it all together.

The hooks are everywhere, and although I enjoyed this album the first time I listened to it, the more I played it the more there is to discover, as well as marvel at how they can bring in so many different styles and sounds. There may be a simplicity in what they are doing, but the complexity is in how they manage to keep it like that throughout, and there is no doubt that this album is a perfect way to welcome Summer.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About The RVMES

The RVMES (pronounced 'The Rooms') are a fiercely independent alternative band from Auckland known for an energy filled live show and pure dedication to their craft. Basing the essence of their band around capturing multiple genres within their songs, they have sculpted and honed a sound that is truly unique and theirs.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The RVMES

Releases

Simple Things
Year: 2022
Type: Album
Lifetime
Year: 2021
Type: Album
The RVMES
Year: 2019
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Thinking Foxes - Single Review: Bleached
07 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Thinking Foxes are an Auckland-based alternative rock trio who are new to me, comprising Gabriel Parkins Craig (vocals, guitar), Luca Garcia Ferrari (bass), and Noah Page (drums). Bleached is their debut single and based on this I am somewhat surprised to have not seen them on the circuit, or even come across their name, as this is polished and full of confidence and never sounds as if it is their first release.
Read More...
James Kohler - Single Review: Lights Out
07 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
As a rule, I read press releases after I have been listening to the music, but as well as Lisa sending me this to review, I was also sent it today by the PR company and I read that email before I realised it was on my list. However, my interest was already piqued as James Kohler is described as an “independent prog artist”.
Read More...
Downfall of Humanity - Single Review: War Cry
05 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Given the age of these guys, it is somewhat difficult to realise that this line-up has been together since 2009 when Bryce Patten (guitars, backing vocals) joined forces with Daniel Carleton (lead vocals), Alex Carleton (guitars, backing vocals), Ben Pegman (bass) and Ben Bakker (drums). In 2021 they released the excellent Deceit EP, and here at the end of 2022 they are back with their latest single, War Cry which has just blown me away.
Read More...
Gig Review: LIIT @ Morningside 605, Auckland - 3/12/2022
04 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It is not often I can say I am at a venue for the first time, but this is indeed the first time I have attended the small but perfectly formed venue which is Morningside 605. I had made my way over to this side of Auckland, and had to park miles away due to Billy Joel playing at Eden Park on the same night, to catch the infamous LIIT and have a party.
Read More...
KEV'S TOP 10's - 2022
02 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Last year, as a bit of fun, I put together my Top 10’s of NZ music for the year. I may well have created an issue for myself though, as more than a few have asked when the 2022 version is coming out, so here it is in time for the last ever MNZ newsletter in its current form.
Read More...
Single Review: Lana Paige - Deluded
01 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
When the mighty Seas of Conflict released their latest single, Consume, it featured the rock vocals of Lana Paige, who I have previously seen perform as frontwoman for Dogtooth Amethyst, who recently changed their name to Enclosures. I sent Lana the review, and it was only when chatting with her that I realised she had released a single earlier in the year, so of course the only thing to do is listen to it and then write a review.
Read More...
Blindspott - EP Review: Volume. II
01 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the second instalment of Blindspott’s next album, Volumes. There are going to be 12 tracks in total, and when they released Volume.
Read More...
Gig Review: Lazy Fifty @ Paraoa Brewing, Whangaparaoa - 24/11/2022
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
For my only gig this week, not only am I out on a school night, but I have struggled all the way from South Auckland up to Whangaparaoa, and I must admit it has been years since I have been here. Tonight, Australian trio 19-Twenty are in town, but to be honest I am here for the support band, Lazy Fifty whose last album, 2021: A Lazy Odyssey, I reviewed a year ago.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem