2 Dec 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Goodnight My Darling - Album Review: Goodnight My Darling

22 Nov 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

If it hadn’t been for an unfortunate clash with an event I had to attend, I would have been at Whammy a few weeks back to hear Goodnight My Darling, (Maxine Macaulay), and now I have listened to her debut album I so wish I had been able to make it. Still, at least this is now available so those of us who were unable to make it to the tour (last two dates this coming weekend in Wellington and Kapiti) can enjoy this relaxed pleasant romp through different elements of soft pop rock, singer songwriter and shoegaze. This is not a solo release, rather it is a full band, but I must confess to not knowing who was involved and whether it is the same group of musicians throughout, as she says, ““It represents a collective experience, with the pandemic being at the forefront of my mind, but deeper than that, a snapshot of time and space. This relates directly to the themes in the songs but also applies to the making of the album. For this project I really reached out collaboratively, more than I have ever done artistically, and this has elevated my work.”

What I can say is that she has a wonderfully clear vocal style, which is never forced yet somehow is always at the very centre of everything, so even if the band are playing in a more abrasive and rockier style (such as on Let Me Sit Awhile) she appears to be somewhat removed, the calm before the storm, the eye of the hurricane. The songs all contain different flavours, although they are centered around indie rock and pop with large elements of shoegaze, but that covers a multitude of styles and the result is a very broad album indeed. We can have picked acoustic guitar and the feeling of psychedelia (He Died In May) or something which is dramatic containing country style lap steel (The Carriage), yet whatever genre she is playing is the one which seems to be the one she should be spending more time in as it sounds so natural. Maxine is at home with whatever she is doing, and surely it cannot be too long before she is picked up by a label, as this is a fresh sounding release with loads of promise and Goodnight My Darling is an artist I am going to keep an eye on.


Ed's Note: At the time of writing, Goodnight My Darling has 5 more shows to go on her tour, more info here. The Goodnight My Darling Album is a solo release in that it is all Maxine’s own music - but she is accompanied by her band - which includes Ingrid Saker (lead guitar), Kim Andrews (drums), Connor Taumoepeau (synths) & Mitch Kirk (bass). With the exception of the drums being recorded at The Surgery in Wellington, the album was recorded & mixed by Toby Lloyd at Tiny Triumph Recordings, then mastered by Robin Schmidt @ 24-96 Mastering in Berlin.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Goodnight My Darling

Goodnight My Darling, (Maxine Macaulay) is an emerging Te Whanganui-a-Tara based songwriter, producer and vocalist.

A strong songwriter, storyteller, an avid explorer and human experience researcher Goodnight My Darling draws upon her adventures living and performing abroad in Melbourne, Japan and most recently Berlin.

Her artistic endeavours began from a young age, singing for Kapiti based bands, choirs and learning to play trumpet, taught by her grandfather who was a conductor and musician in the New Zealand National Band.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Goodnight My Darling

Releases

Goodnight My Darling
Year: 2022
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

KEV'S TOP 10's - 2022
02 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Last year, as a bit of fun, I put together my Top 10’s of NZ music for the year. I may well have created an issue for myself though, as more than a few have asked when the 2022 version is coming out, so here it is in time for the last ever MNZ newsletter in its current form.
Read More...
Single Review: Lana Paige - Deluded
01 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
When the mighty Seas of Conflict released their latest single, Consume, it featured the rock vocals of Lana Paige, who I have previously seen perform as frontwoman for Dogtooth Amethyst, who recently changed their name to Enclosures. I sent Lana the review, and it was only when chatting with her that I realised she had released a single earlier in the year, so of course the only thing to do is listen to it and then write a review.
Read More...
Blindspott - EP Review: Volume. II
01 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the second instalment of Blindspott’s next album, Volumes. There are going to be 12 tracks in total, and when they released Volume.
Read More...
Gig Review: Lazy Fifty @ Paraoa Brewing, Whangaparaoa - 24/11/2022
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
For my only gig this week, not only am I out on a school night, but I have struggled all the way from South Auckland up to Whangaparaoa, and I must admit it has been years since I have been here. Tonight, Australian trio 19-Twenty are in town, but to be honest I am here for the support band, Lazy Fifty whose last album, 2021: A Lazy Odyssey, I reviewed a year ago.
Read More...
Reuben Hudson - EP Review: Cloudhead
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This five-track EP is the latest release from Melbourne-based, Tamaki Makaurau (Auckland, New Zealand) multi-instrumentalist and songwriter/producer, Reuben Hudson. Featuring David Harris on drums (Princess Chelsea), mixed by Peter Ruddell (Wax Chattels, Sulfate) and mastered by James Goldsmith (Mermaidens), everything else was played and performed by Reuben himself.
Read More...
Brian Baker - Single Review: I Won't Back Down
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Although Tom Petty was a massive success in the States, he never saw anything like the same in the UK until he partnered with Jeff Lynne and together, they came up with the masterpiece which is Full Moon Fever. I was blown away and had it on repeat the year I started dating my now wife, and any song from that album always makes me think of 1989, where I was, with no idea my life would be changing dramatically (and for the better).
Read More...
Bad Jelly Collective - Single Review: Paradigms
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest release from Bad Jelly Collective, which comprises Ben Clark (vocals, guitar, production) and Dave Weir (bass). It is lengthy for a single, being 5:36, but that is due to the large amount of repetition contained within and the very slow build which takes place.
Read More...
The RVMES - Album Review: Simple Things
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Before I started writing this I went back to my review for the guys’ last album, Lifetime, and part of me thought about copying it pretty much word for word and see if anyone noticed, as I spoke at length as to how many genres they were covering, and we have the same here, possibly more so. Most bands choose a genre, possibly going into a related area as well, and pretty much stay there.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem