1 Feb 2023
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Goodnight My Darling - Album Review: Goodnight My Darling

22 Nov 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

If it hadn’t been for an unfortunate clash with an event I had to attend, I would have been at Whammy a few weeks back to hear Goodnight My Darling, (Maxine Macaulay), and now I have listened to her debut album I so wish I had been able to make it. Still, at least this is now available so those of us who were unable to make it to the tour (last two dates this coming weekend in Wellington and Kapiti) can enjoy this relaxed pleasant romp through different elements of soft pop rock, singer songwriter and shoegaze. This is not a solo release, rather it is a full band, but I must confess to not knowing who was involved and whether it is the same group of musicians throughout, as she says, ““It represents a collective experience, with the pandemic being at the forefront of my mind, but deeper than that, a snapshot of time and space. This relates directly to the themes in the songs but also applies to the making of the album. For this project I really reached out collaboratively, more than I have ever done artistically, and this has elevated my work.”

What I can say is that she has a wonderfully clear vocal style, which is never forced yet somehow is always at the very centre of everything, so even if the band are playing in a more abrasive and rockier style (such as on Let Me Sit Awhile) she appears to be somewhat removed, the calm before the storm, the eye of the hurricane. The songs all contain different flavours, although they are centered around indie rock and pop with large elements of shoegaze, but that covers a multitude of styles and the result is a very broad album indeed. We can have picked acoustic guitar and the feeling of psychedelia (He Died In May) or something which is dramatic containing country style lap steel (The Carriage), yet whatever genre she is playing is the one which seems to be the one she should be spending more time in as it sounds so natural. Maxine is at home with whatever she is doing, and surely it cannot be too long before she is picked up by a label, as this is a fresh sounding release with loads of promise and Goodnight My Darling is an artist I am going to keep an eye on.


Ed's Note: At the time of writing, Goodnight My Darling has 5 more shows to go on her tour, more info here. The Goodnight My Darling Album is a solo release in that it is all Maxine’s own music - but she is accompanied by her band - which includes Ingrid Saker (lead guitar), Kim Andrews (drums), Connor Taumoepeau (synths) & Mitch Kirk (bass). With the exception of the drums being recorded at The Surgery in Wellington, the album was recorded & mixed by Toby Lloyd at Tiny Triumph Recordings, then mastered by Robin Schmidt @ 24-96 Mastering in Berlin.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Goodnight My Darling

Goodnight My Darling, (Maxine Macaulay) is an emerging Te Whanganui-a-Tara based songwriter, producer and vocalist.

A strong songwriter, storyteller, an avid explorer and human experience researcher Goodnight My Darling draws upon her adventures living and performing abroad in Melbourne, Japan and most recently Berlin.

Her artistic endeavours began from a young age, singing for Kapiti based bands, choirs and learning to play trumpet, taught by her grandfather who was a conductor and musician in the New Zealand National Band.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Goodnight My Darling

Releases

Goodnight My Darling
Year: 2022
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Flying Man - Single Review: Under The Stars
31 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Flying Man is the stage name of Dunedin based Irish-born live-looping guitarist and singer/songwriter Alan Ned Gray. Flying Man’s song-writings sit in the electroacoustic realm - playing programmed beats, live looping and layered harmonies.
Read More...
Crying Club - EP Review: Big Water Bottle
31 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It is some 18 months since I last reviewed a recording by Crying Club, which was the single Taxi Man, but I did see them at EmoFest last year where three of the songs on this five-track thirteen-minute-long EP were played. While their music is solidly rooted in the indie scene, they manage to also bring in other genres as they cross genres, bringing rock and metal quite strongly into their poppy mix.
Read More...
Gig Review: Midnight Green & Kazia @ The Thirsty Dog, Auckland - 21/01/2022
21 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
After being blasted the previous night at Dead Witch, tonight I was at The Thirsty for what promised to be a very different affair indeed, with two soul/jazz/pop bands. Beforehand I was talking to the bar manager who told me that soon they will be closing for renovations, after which they will open up with the stage in a different place, and it promises to be much improved, so I am really looking forward to seeing the end results.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Rising Tide @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 20/01/2023
20 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back to Dead Witch tonight for my first time seeing The Rising Tide who were up from Palmerston North in support of their excellent new EP, The Hope We Die For. They had also invited a few other bands who I have seen before, namely Brawler NZHC who I saw supporting Xile, plus favourites Unwanted Subject and Pale Flag who were both at the Downfall of Humanity release show.
Read More...
Gig Review: Music In Parks - Helensville @ Helensville River Reserve, Auckland - 15/01/2023
15 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Each Summer, the Auckland Council put on a series of free outdoor concerts in different places around the city, and today was the second this year, and definitely had a country flavour with Keith Pereira, Louis Jarlov and Sam Bartells. Not only are the shows free, but they all take place in the afternoon, so this gig was set to take place between 1 and 4!
Read More...
Gig Review: Ovus @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 14/01/2023
15 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Having spent an incredible two weeks at home on South Island, it was now back up to Auckland and it was soon back into the live scene with my first gig at Dead Witch for 2023. Tonight was going to be interesting as I recently reviewed Ovus’s EP, Lucid, and it would be the first time I had seen Afterlight since they changed their name from Antebellum.
Read More...
Adam McGrath - Album Review: Dear Companions
08 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Due to many reasons, I have been somewhat late to the underground NZ scene but over the last few years have been fortunate enough to meet some incredible people, see some amazing performances, and hear some wonderful music. All of these come together in one man, Adam McGrath, leader of The Eastern.
Read More...
Holy Crime - Single Review: Play Toy
08 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Holy Crime are a relatively new band from Auckland, comprising Benny Richards (guitar, vocals), Tom Anderson (bass, vocals), Jacob Stutton (guitar) and Mat Hinton (drums), with Play Toy being their debut single. Sometimes, just sometimes, one hears a song and immediately a smile comes across the face and it stays there right until the end and that is the case with this one with its unabashed influences of The Darkness and Eighties glam rock.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FLOWERS
    Miley Cyrus
  • KILL BILL
    SZA
  • ESCAPISM.
    RAYE feat. 070 Shake
  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SURE THING
    Miguel
  • PEOPLE
    Libianca
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CREEPIN'
    Metro Boomin, The Weeknd And 21 Savage
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem