8 Dec 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Whero - Single Review: Easy

21 Nov 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

There are times when one hears a voice and it feels as if you are being held warm and safe, and that is definitely the case here with Whero, who recently released her debut single. If she has not recorded under this name before, I am sure she must have recorded with others, while this has all the hallmarks of someone who has undertaken a lot of live work.

I see she has sung with Troy Kingi in the past, and given he has the choice of who to work with that says a great deal. This is soul, and although it contains elements of other genres such as reggae and R&B, this is classic soul that could have been released any time within the last 30 years. The only reason I won’t place this against the classics of the Sixties and Seventies is the arrangement (and especially the bass) feels just that more modern.

This is not the famous Commodores song, but an original which was co-written with Kyla Greening and Sarai Kennerley, and with some wonderful electric piano and vocal harmonies, it always puts Whero front and centre. I can imagine this being a slow dance number at the end of the night, when there are only couples on the floor, moving in slow motion. This is quite some debut, and one can only wonder what is next.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Whero

Kirikiriroa’s newest breakout Maori (Tainui, Ngati Maniapoto, Ngati Raukawa) R&B Fusion singer/songwriter Whero is well known for her strong soulful vocals in the live music scene.

Having sung backing vocals for artists such as Troy Kingi, Twisted Frequency Festival with 'The Village' and featured at 09 Soul Sessions. Using the alias Whero as a way to not only portray her te ao Maori roots but also a representation of aspects of her creativity. Whero is ready to grace the forefront with her debut single.

Easy dropped on the 25th of October 2022. Described as a R&B/Soul/Reggae marriage paired with song-story telling, Easy brings Aotearoa the perfect Summer song to play on repeat.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Whero

Releases

There are no releases to display for Whero.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Thinking Foxes - Single Review: Bleached
07 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Thinking Foxes are an Auckland-based alternative rock trio who are new to me, comprising Gabriel Parkins Craig (vocals, guitar), Luca Garcia Ferrari (bass), and Noah Page (drums). Bleached is their debut single and based on this I am somewhat surprised to have not seen them on the circuit, or even come across their name, as this is polished and full of confidence and never sounds as if it is their first release.
Read More...
James Kohler - Single Review: Lights Out
07 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
As a rule, I read press releases after I have been listening to the music, but as well as Lisa sending me this to review, I was also sent it today by the PR company and I read that email before I realised it was on my list. However, my interest was already piqued as James Kohler is described as an “independent prog artist”.
Read More...
Downfall of Humanity - Single Review: War Cry
05 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Given the age of these guys, it is somewhat difficult to realise that this line-up has been together since 2009 when Bryce Patten (guitars, backing vocals) joined forces with Daniel Carleton (lead vocals), Alex Carleton (guitars, backing vocals), Ben Pegman (bass) and Ben Bakker (drums). In 2021 they released the excellent Deceit EP, and here at the end of 2022 they are back with their latest single, War Cry which has just blown me away.
Read More...
Gig Review: LIIT @ Morningside 605, Auckland - 3/12/2022
04 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It is not often I can say I am at a venue for the first time, but this is indeed the first time I have attended the small but perfectly formed venue which is Morningside 605. I had made my way over to this side of Auckland, and had to park miles away due to Billy Joel playing at Eden Park on the same night, to catch the infamous LIIT and have a party.
Read More...
KEV'S TOP 10's - 2022
02 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Last year, as a bit of fun, I put together my Top 10’s of NZ music for the year. I may well have created an issue for myself though, as more than a few have asked when the 2022 version is coming out, so here it is in time for the last ever MNZ newsletter in its current form.
Read More...
Single Review: Lana Paige - Deluded
01 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
When the mighty Seas of Conflict released their latest single, Consume, it featured the rock vocals of Lana Paige, who I have previously seen perform as frontwoman for Dogtooth Amethyst, who recently changed their name to Enclosures. I sent Lana the review, and it was only when chatting with her that I realised she had released a single earlier in the year, so of course the only thing to do is listen to it and then write a review.
Read More...
Blindspott - EP Review: Volume. II
01 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the second instalment of Blindspott’s next album, Volumes. There are going to be 12 tracks in total, and when they released Volume.
Read More...
Gig Review: Lazy Fifty @ Paraoa Brewing, Whangaparaoa - 24/11/2022
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
For my only gig this week, not only am I out on a school night, but I have struggled all the way from South Auckland up to Whangaparaoa, and I must admit it has been years since I have been here. Tonight, Australian trio 19-Twenty are in town, but to be honest I am here for the support band, Lazy Fifty whose last album, 2021: A Lazy Odyssey, I reviewed a year ago.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem