8 Dec 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Terrible Sons - Single Review: Tomorrow Always Comes

21 Nov 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Last week I was fortunate enough to see husband and wife duo Lauren and Matt Barus, otherwise known as Terrible Sons, perform at Wine Cellar, and it was truly a magical evening. Both are wonderful singers, with Matt providing different styles of guitars and Lauren piano, and they created a spell with their music. Putting on their latest single I was again transported back to that time and place, as it is incredibly catchy with some wonderful clapping throughout, and their harmonies which only come from years of being together and understanding what each has to offer. There is even a trumpet on this song, along with some delicate bass and percussion, but for the most part it is just two of them.

While the music is upbeat and joyful, the lyrics are somewhat deeper, talking about the lockdowns we all became somewhat used to, “The more I know, the less I understand, But don’t worry, worry, Hands in a hurry, Tomorrow, always comes.” For some reason this song takes me back to a classic album of many years ago, as it makes me think of Paul Simon’s ‘Graceland’ (can that really be more than 35 years old?), just in the way it all comes together in the arrangement. This is a wonderful song, upbeat but designed to make us think, with incredible harmonies and hooks throughout. Their top listened to song on Spotify is currently Tears Don’t Fall with 20.6 million plays (yes, you did read that right), and one can only hope this does as well, it deserves to.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Terrible Sons

Terrible Sons is the moniker for songwriters and musicians Lauren and Matt Barus, who live with their two children in a small intentional community in Otautahi. Their music reflects their local neighborhood while exploring the more interior feelings we all share: exhaustion, heartbreak, loneliness. Previously, Lauren released albums as L.A. Mitchell and currently is still a part of the Fly My Pretties family. Matt founded pop/rock band Dukes who had a top ten hit with Vampires and of note toured with and wrote songs for Blondie.

Terrible Sons emerged after the couple had children and sought a less obtrusive way of making music. They built a small, home studio and invited others in. Taking their cues from folk tradition, the duo blend their two voices, backed with spare piano and acoustic guitar. An early single Tears Don’t Fall gained millions of listens on Spotify and the duo were signed remotely to Vancouver’s Nettwerk Records. Terrible Sons, working alongside producers Ben Edwards and Tom Healey, and their go-to rhythm section of Jo McCullum and Jo Barus, have released four EP’s to date and are close to completing their debut LP.

“Truly ethereal. Everything is melded together so well that it’s dreamlike, the listener is suspended in time". - hhhhappy.com

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Terrible Sons

Releases

There are no releases to display for Terrible Sons.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Thinking Foxes - Single Review: Bleached
07 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Thinking Foxes are an Auckland-based alternative rock trio who are new to me, comprising Gabriel Parkins Craig (vocals, guitar), Luca Garcia Ferrari (bass), and Noah Page (drums). Bleached is their debut single and based on this I am somewhat surprised to have not seen them on the circuit, or even come across their name, as this is polished and full of confidence and never sounds as if it is their first release.
Read More...
James Kohler - Single Review: Lights Out
07 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
As a rule, I read press releases after I have been listening to the music, but as well as Lisa sending me this to review, I was also sent it today by the PR company and I read that email before I realised it was on my list. However, my interest was already piqued as James Kohler is described as an “independent prog artist”.
Read More...
Downfall of Humanity - Single Review: War Cry
05 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Given the age of these guys, it is somewhat difficult to realise that this line-up has been together since 2009 when Bryce Patten (guitars, backing vocals) joined forces with Daniel Carleton (lead vocals), Alex Carleton (guitars, backing vocals), Ben Pegman (bass) and Ben Bakker (drums). In 2021 they released the excellent Deceit EP, and here at the end of 2022 they are back with their latest single, War Cry which has just blown me away.
Read More...
Gig Review: LIIT @ Morningside 605, Auckland - 3/12/2022
04 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It is not often I can say I am at a venue for the first time, but this is indeed the first time I have attended the small but perfectly formed venue which is Morningside 605. I had made my way over to this side of Auckland, and had to park miles away due to Billy Joel playing at Eden Park on the same night, to catch the infamous LIIT and have a party.
Read More...
KEV'S TOP 10's - 2022
02 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Last year, as a bit of fun, I put together my Top 10’s of NZ music for the year. I may well have created an issue for myself though, as more than a few have asked when the 2022 version is coming out, so here it is in time for the last ever MNZ newsletter in its current form.
Read More...
Single Review: Lana Paige - Deluded
01 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
When the mighty Seas of Conflict released their latest single, Consume, it featured the rock vocals of Lana Paige, who I have previously seen perform as frontwoman for Dogtooth Amethyst, who recently changed their name to Enclosures. I sent Lana the review, and it was only when chatting with her that I realised she had released a single earlier in the year, so of course the only thing to do is listen to it and then write a review.
Read More...
Blindspott - EP Review: Volume. II
01 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the second instalment of Blindspott’s next album, Volumes. There are going to be 12 tracks in total, and when they released Volume.
Read More...
Gig Review: Lazy Fifty @ Paraoa Brewing, Whangaparaoa - 24/11/2022
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
For my only gig this week, not only am I out on a school night, but I have struggled all the way from South Auckland up to Whangaparaoa, and I must admit it has been years since I have been here. Tonight, Australian trio 19-Twenty are in town, but to be honest I am here for the support band, Lazy Fifty whose last album, 2021: A Lazy Odyssey, I reviewed a year ago.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem