24 May 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Terrible Sons - Single Review: Tomorrow Always Comes

21 Nov 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Last week I was fortunate enough to see husband and wife duo Lauren and Matt Barus, otherwise known as Terrible Sons, perform at Wine Cellar, and it was truly a magical evening. Both are wonderful singers, with Matt providing different styles of guitars and Lauren piano, and they created a spell with their music. Putting on their latest single I was again transported back to that time and place, as it is incredibly catchy with some wonderful clapping throughout, and their harmonies which only come from years of being together and understanding what each has to offer. There is even a trumpet on this song, along with some delicate bass and percussion, but for the most part it is just two of them.

While the music is upbeat and joyful, the lyrics are somewhat deeper, talking about the lockdowns we all became somewhat used to, “The more I know, the less I understand, But don’t worry, worry, Hands in a hurry, Tomorrow, always comes.” For some reason this song takes me back to a classic album of many years ago, as it makes me think of Paul Simon’s ‘Graceland’ (can that really be more than 35 years old?), just in the way it all comes together in the arrangement. This is a wonderful song, upbeat but designed to make us think, with incredible harmonies and hooks throughout. Their top listened to song on Spotify is currently Tears Don’t Fall with 20.6 million plays (yes, you did read that right), and one can only hope this does as well, it deserves to.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Terrible Sons

Terrible Sons is the moniker for songwriters and musicians Lauren and Matt Barus, who live with their two children in a small intentional community in Otautahi. Their music reflects their local neighborhood while exploring the more interior feelings we all share: exhaustion, heartbreak, loneliness. Previously, Lauren released albums as L.A. Mitchell and currently is still a part of the Fly My Pretties family. Matt founded pop/rock band Dukes who had a top ten hit with Vampires and of note toured with and wrote songs for Blondie.

Terrible Sons emerged after the couple had children and sought a less obtrusive way of making music. They built a small, home studio and invited others in. Taking their cues from folk tradition, the duo blend their two voices, backed with spare piano and acoustic guitar. An early single Tears Don’t Fall gained millions of listens on Spotify and the duo were signed remotely to Vancouver’s Nettwerk Records. Terrible Sons, working alongside producers Ben Edwards and Tom Healey, and their go-to rhythm section of Jo McCullum and Jo Barus, have released four EP’s to date and are close to completing their debut LP.

“Truly ethereal. Everything is melded together so well that it’s dreamlike, the listener is suspended in time". - hhhhappy.com

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Terrible Sons

Releases

The Raft Is Not The Shore
Year: 2023
Type: Album
Alabaster Mountain
Year: 2021
Type: Album
Mass
Year: 2021
Type: Album
With Feathers
Year: 2019
Type: EP
Half Awake, Half Asleep
Year: 2018
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Crushfest @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 07/07/2023
07 Jul 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was down to Tuning Fork for the first night of the second Crushfest festival. Tonight was going to be Wellington and Auckland bands, and then some of the same will be playing at the second night in Wellington next month.
Read More...
Rain - Single Review: Love and War
15 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It has been quite a while since I last heard from Wellington-based singer songwriter Cathy Elizabeth, and back then Rain was seen solely as a studio project with Cathy being accompanied by Thomas Te Taite, who provided all the instrumentation including digital drums. Now they are a full band who have been performing live, and it is the first time they have recorded as such, with Thomas now, just providing acoustic guitar (plus engineering and producing etc.
Read More...
Lost Vessels - Single Review: All This Time
01 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I was not that impressed when I first saw Lost Vessels play at Crushfest, something they later admitted to me was the worst gig of their career, but since then they have improved in leaps and bounds. This has been noticed by others on the Auckland circuit as they are getting more opportunities with better support slots, and I was not at all surprised when they won the Ding Dong Lounge Battle Of The Bands in November last year.
Read More...
Unwanted Subject - Single Review: Sons of Savages
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I have caught Unwanted Subject in concert a few times over the last couple of years, and while they have been getting better each time I have seen them, I must admit that nothing prepared me for this, which right from the off is a monster. I have never heard them quite this is aggressive, nor as polished, and this multi-sectioned single sounds almost like a different band as they have pushed their metal roots to the max in this metalcore beast which sees them mixing and blending different genres to create something quite special.
Read More...
Gig Review: Stray Dogs @ AUX, Auckland - 26/05/2023
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to Ding Dong Lounge on a Friday night for one of their infamous Emo nights, which tonight was a three-band bill with Stray Dogs having an extended set, supported by Altaea and then up first we had Blindr, a band new to me. Blindr are a quartet featuring Bill Caldwell (vocals, guitar), Blake Woodfield (lead guitar), Jack Power (bass), and Charlie McCracken (drums).
Read More...
Gig Review: Turkey The Bird @ The Ministry of Folk, Auckland - 27/05/2023
27 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back up to Auckland Guide Centre in Mount Eden tonight for my second consecutive gig (Sol suggested it was a turkey sandwich as I am at Vader tomorrow) to see Taranaki’s finest, Turkey The Bird at The Ministry of Folk. Before that we of course had Hoop, who are Al Baxter (vocals, guitar, harmonica, banjo, mandolin), Nick Edgar (vocals, guitar, ukulele, flute, harmonica), Emily Allen (violin, viola), Glenn Coldham (bass) while tonight Gary Hunt was filling in for drummer Rusty Knox.
Read More...
This Silent Divide - Single Review: Beautiful Creature
25 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based melodic hard rock quartet This Silent Divide, entitled Beautiful Creature. I really enjoyed their Tall Stories EP, and they played a great gig at Dead Witch towards the end of last year, and this would have been recorded at about the same time.
Read More...
Gig Review: Emily Rice @ Your Local Coffee Roasters, Pukekohe - 24/05/2023
24 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this week I had a message from Emily Rice asking me if I lived in South Auckland. When I responded I did, she asked if I would be interested in coming along to an event she was putting on in a coffee shop in Pukekohe to celebrate the release of her new single, Warenoa.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • I HAD SOME HELP
    Post Malone feat. Morgan Wallen
  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • FORTNIGHT
    Taylor Swift feat. Post Malone
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • I LIKE THE WAY YOU KISS ME
    Artemas
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem