18 Jun 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Ben Horlock - Single Review: Don't Wait On Me

21 Nov 2022 // A review by Nicholas Clark
Ben Horlock (Ngati Porou/Te Arawa) is a pop artist from Dunedin who has an ear for a great pop melody, a knack for moody blues guitar lines, and the kind of voice talent scouts are always listening out for.

His latest release Don’t Wait on Me features the prominent high hat of modern trap music coming out of Atlanta, an ambient synth lifted from a goth club track, with some deep bass chords to anchor it all together. Atop these instruments, Horlock sings an expressive song about fear, longing and attraction with a rich reverb. There’s even a sweet little guitar solo by Horlock at the end which only hints at his abilities as a guitarist.

The ‘live’ full version of the song begins with a far more epic lead guitar solo and segues into the pop version, and I have to admit, I prefer this version. Perhaps for popular appeal, Horlock decided to release the song officially beginning after this solo, but the words appear to have so much more meaning after the impressive lead playing. This expanded version, in a world with longer attention spans, should be the song to introduce people to the artist. His guitar playing skills appear to be an unmistakable element that no doubt inform his note choice and his aesthetic in general.

The dark lyricism of “why would you think I’d want to call you, after everything we’ve been through, what makes you think I’d want to know you, coming down” is a pretty strong way to start a song, but the synth intro hints at strong emotions. It is a break up song after all. The chorus is when Horlock really shows his vocal prowess with a high falsetto as he sings the title of the song. I’m reminded of Abel Makkonen Tesfaye (The Weeknd) and other pop artists like Charlie Puth, Harry Styles and Bruno Mars.

His guitar playing, his secret weapon, is more reminiscent of Jimi Hendrix and at times the atmospherics achieved by The Edge and David Gilmour. It all makes for a sensational pop song that has real depth and emotional charge. It might not be the most catchy song, but it is unashamedly pop, directly responding to a specific emotion and situation.

For music lovers and those going through a dark time.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Ben Horlock

Visionary pop artist Ben Horlock (19) has inspired influences from bright guitar sounds of Post Malone to lush vocal melodies of The Weeknd.

Alongside recording an album at Roundhead and Parachute with leading session players and producers, Ben has been headlining with Lime Cordial, selling out his own tour, performing at festivals, showcasing at Big Fan and opening for renowned rock photographer Chris Cuffaro exhibition recently.

Ben’s psychedelic live show showcases his musicality and spans his singer songwriter, pop, rock and reggae influences. He is currently working on different albums and live show projects in each genre.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Ben Horlock

Releases

There are no releases to display for Ben Horlock.

Other Reviews By Nicholas Clark

SuperMild - EP Review: SuperMild
11 Jun 2024 // by Nicholas Clark
SuperMild is a busy band playing lots of venues and entertaining crowds with their blend of reggae tinged psychedelic rock. Their debut, self-titled four song EP is out now, and it spans the many sounds the band can summon with just three members.
Read More...
Anecdata - Album Review: Obsolete
05 Jun 2024 // by Nicholas Clark
Anecdata is a one man band, Dan, who proves without a shadow of a doubt that a single person can be far more prolific than a band of many members. He has recorded nine albums and a number of singles, dabbling in various genres (grunge pop as well as new wave inspired rock) and done covers also including New Zealand classic Sierra Leone, originally by Coconut Rough, and two Beatles covers (I Am The Walrus, and Things We Said Today).
Read More...
Carb On Carb - Album Review: Take Time
16 May 2024 // by Nicholas Clark
Carb on Carb was a busy, touring band until the lockdowns of 2020 and 2021. While promoting their first two full length albums, For Ages and their self-titled debut, James Stuteley (drums / vocals) and Nicole Gaffney (guitar / vocals) toured as far as Japan and the US, as well as extensively throughout New Zealand.
Read More...
Floyd Marsden - Album Review: The Disco Lizards
09 May 2024 // by Nicholas Clark
After two years in the making, Floyd Marsden releases her latest ten track album, The Disco Lizards. Although listed as alternative rock, this album features so much more than just that.
Read More...
Libbianski - Album Review: Useless Splendour
03 May 2024 // by Nicholas Clark
Unless you haven’t been paying attention, there’s a shoegaze revival occurring right now in Wellington. Many new bands are defining themselves as part of this subgenre of rock; namedropping band names such as Slow Dive, My Bloody Valentine or Swervedriver and leaning into the tenants of the tradition such as utilising effect pedals to create a lush, heavily affected guitar sound, and of course, looking at their shoes whilst playing (where the name of the style originates).
Read More...
Guilt Grip - Album Review: Guilt Grip
12 Apr 2024 // by Nicholas Clark
Tamaki Makaurau Auckland four-piece Guilt Grip present here, available in the unconventional medium of cassette tape, their first full length self-titled album. It’s an abrasive listen that suits the surreal collaged artwork by Lia Boscu, and one that proudly and loudly celebrates the band’s passions and values.
Read More...
EP Review: Lava
29 Feb 2024 // by Nicholas Clark
@page size: 21cm 29.7cm; margin: 2cm p { line-height: 115%; margin-bottom: 0.
Read More...
Tower Of Flints - Album Review: Live at Paisley Stage
12 Feb 2024 // by Nicholas Clark
The true proof that any band is worthy of praise is the live act. Recalling my own introduction to certain musicians, the quality of a live album would often be the deciding factor of whether I would continue to follow a band.
Read More...
View All Articles By Nicholas Clark

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • HOUDINI
    Eminem
  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • BIRDS OF A FEATHER
    Billie Eilish
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • I HAD SOME HELP
    Post Malone feat. Morgan Wallen
  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • LUNCH
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem