27 Nov 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Greta O'Leary - EP Review: Treasure Horse

17 Nov 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Following on from the release of her first two singles earlier this year, alt-folk artist Greta O’Leary has now released her debut EP which contains five songs, including both singles. In the past I have likened Greta to Vashti Bunyan, Jazmine Mary and French For Rabbits, and she has attributes of all of them, as what makes this EP work so incredibly well is the depth of her vocals and the way the arrangements refuse to conform to any normal theme. This is music where the artist literally followed the muse wherever it led them, which also results in the songs being quite different to each other as instead of attempting to fit herself within any particular expectation, she is doing exactly what she wants.

This means that she may be singing in a slightly upbeat manner with her alto vocals rather higher in the register with keyboards, bass, drums and violin, or she may be taking us on a quite different journey which is far more melodramatic and darker. I am used to folk being light and airy, inviting the listener to dance, but this is far slower and designed more to make the listener think as opposed to jig and reel around a room. It is wonderfully deep in nature, and it is hard to realise that this is from a young artist as opposed to someone at least twice her age who has suffered more of what life can throw as people. This is not a happy album in any way, and I can imagine Leonard Cohen also being an influence while the violin often sounds as if it is scraped over the strings as opposed to being played with closing number The Birthday Song being incredibly poignant. Contrast that to opener Mountain Tip which is based on picked acoustic guitar and a band which sounds vibrant as opposed to being dragged along.

I sadly missed Greta’s gig the other night as I was at Written By Wolves (and to be honest, if I hadn’t been there I would have been seeing Xile) – there is just so much live music around at the moment – but I hope I manage to see her when she is next in Auckland as there is a great breadth and presence in what she is doing. Given the success that some of her influences have been having recently, it will be interesting to see if Greta is acknowledged as this EP has depth beyond her years and is certainly worthy of further investigation.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Greta O'Leary

Greta is a Poneke-based songwriter and musician whose spacious and pervasive sound is laced with dark humour and relatable insight, creating gentle-yet-poignant offerings that bend the folk genre to her own plain, an unmistakably rare sound that is unique to her.

Coming of age during a few nomadic years hitching around the globe, her lifelong love of music was ignited through the folk scenes of Australia and beyond. "Writing and feeling is truly all that has ever made sense to me", she says, a fact that is unmistakable after receiving NZoA funding, a debut video that has already amassed over 140,000 views, and mentorships from the inimitable Liz Stokes (The Beths), Sonny Southon and Frances Dickenson

Her EP is due for release on all platforms on November 25th.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Greta O'Leary

Releases

There are no releases to display for Greta O'Leary.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Lazy Fifty @ Paraoa Brewing, Whangaparaoa - 24/11/2022
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
For my only gig this week, not only am I out on a school night, but I have struggled all the way from South Auckland up to Whangaparaoa, and I must admit it has been years since I have been here. Tonight, Australian trio 19-Twenty are in town, but to be honest I am here for the support band, Lazy Fifty whose last album, 2021: A Lazy Odyssey, I reviewed a year ago.
Read More...
Reuben Hudson - EP Review: Cloudhead
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This five-track EP is the latest release from Melbourne-based, Tamaki Makaurau (Auckland, New Zealand) multi-instrumentalist and songwriter/producer, Reuben Hudson. Featuring David Harris on drums (Princess Chelsea), mixed by Peter Ruddell (Wax Chattels, Sulfate) and mastered by James Goldsmith (Mermaidens), everything else was played and performed by Reuben himself.
Read More...
Brian Baker - Single Review: I Won't Back Down
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Although Tom Petty was a massive success in the States, he never saw anything like the same in the UK until he partnered with Jeff Lynne and together, they came up with the masterpiece which is Full Moon Fever. I was blown away and had it on repeat the year I started dating my now wife, and any song from that album always makes me think of 1989, where I was, with no idea my life would be changing dramatically (and for the better).
Read More...
Bad Jelly Collective - Single Review: Paradigms
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest release from Bad Jelly Collective, which comprises Ben Clark (vocals, guitar, production) and Dave Weir (bass). It is lengthy for a single, being 5:36, but that is due to the large amount of repetition contained within and the very slow build which takes place.
Read More...
The RVMES - Album Review: Simple Things
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Before I started writing this I went back to my review for the guys’ last album, Lifetime, and part of me thought about copying it pretty much word for word and see if anyone noticed, as I spoke at length as to how many genres they were covering, and we have the same here, possibly more so. Most bands choose a genre, possibly going into a related area as well, and pretty much stay there.
Read More...
Christine White - Album Review: Raven
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This multi-media project commenced in March 2020, and more than 2 ½ years later the release had come together with five songs (one of which is a remix of the opening title cut by electronic producer Paddy Free, so there are six tracks). These are accompanied by three music videos, and a book of short haiku-style poetry in two languages (English & Farsi), and there is no doubt that this has gained quite a deal of media interest, so yesterday I found myself listening to a very interesting interview with Christine White on RNZ.
Read More...
Album Review: Goodnight My Darling
22 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
If it hadn’t been for an unfortunate clash with an event I had to attend, I would have been at Whammy a few weeks back to hear Goodnight My Darling, (Maxine Macaulay), and now I have listened to her debut album I so wish I had been able to make it. Still, at least this is now available so those of us who were unable to make it to the tour (last two dates this coming weekend in Wellington and Kapiti) can enjoy this relaxed pleasant romp through different elements of soft pop rock, singer songwriter and shoegaze.
Read More...
Whero - Single Review: Easy
21 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There are times when one hears a voice and it feels as if you are being held warm and safe, and that is definitely the case here with Whero, who recently released her debut single. If she has not recorded under this name before, I am sure she must have recorded with others, while this has all the hallmarks of someone who has undertaken a lot of live work.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem