2 Dec 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Anderson Rocio - EP Review: Chapter One

17 Nov 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

I guess it will be a long time before I think of Anderson Rocio of anything different to how I first saw her, playing a grand piano wearing a wonderful ballroom dress as she opened for Sol3 Mio. We have kept in touch since then, and last year I reviewed her excellent We’re Fine EP. So when she contacted me recently to let me know there was a new EP coming out then of course I was excited to hear it, so much so that I missed the “May have switched directions on ya” in the message. It commences with My World, with backing vocals as she starts slowly in a breathy nature, then we get gentle chords from an electric piano as she slowly started to edge it up and become more forceful. When the riffs started, the drums kicked in with the bass, and we were into a pop rock number I literally sat back in my chair staring at the speakers as this was not what I expected at all! The first thought was whether or not she was inspired by Taylor Swift, while the second was while it was not what I thought I would be getting from Anderson, I loved it!

Her time in America has obviously had an impact on her style as is now far more rock based and modern, with a piano hardly in sight. This is now a confident woman who is fronting a rock band with Dream Girl taking plenty of nods from P!nk, so different from the person I saw in Spark Arena just a few years ago. Another joy of this is that while the six songs are obviously all aimed at airplay, average length just slightly over 3 minutes, they are all quite different from each other and are based solidly around the clear vocals which we have become used to. It does feel like she has been somewhat moulded into a new direction, but there is no doubt at all that it works, and I can imagine my whole family enjoying this if I played it in the car. I have been highly impressed with Anderson since that very first night, and now I feel very lucky that I have been able to witness the change which has come about in her performance and material.

I am sure this EP is going to smash open many doors for this young lady, and pretty soon I am not going to be the only person saying this is essential and that Anderson is going to be a star. Watch for her name, Anderson Rocio.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

Releases

Chapter One
Year: 2022
Type: EP
We're Fine
Year: 2021
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

KEV'S TOP 10's - 2022
02 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Last year, as a bit of fun, I put together my Top 10’s of NZ music for the year. I may well have created an issue for myself though, as more than a few have asked when the 2022 version is coming out, so here it is in time for the last ever MNZ newsletter in its current form.
Read More...
Single Review: Lana Paige - Deluded
01 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
When the mighty Seas of Conflict released their latest single, Consume, it featured the rock vocals of Lana Paige, who I have previously seen perform as frontwoman for Dogtooth Amethyst, who recently changed their name to Enclosures. I sent Lana the review, and it was only when chatting with her that I realised she had released a single earlier in the year, so of course the only thing to do is listen to it and then write a review.
Read More...
Blindspott - EP Review: Volume. II
01 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the second instalment of Blindspott’s next album, Volumes. There are going to be 12 tracks in total, and when they released Volume.
Read More...
Gig Review: Lazy Fifty @ Paraoa Brewing, Whangaparaoa - 24/11/2022
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
For my only gig this week, not only am I out on a school night, but I have struggled all the way from South Auckland up to Whangaparaoa, and I must admit it has been years since I have been here. Tonight, Australian trio 19-Twenty are in town, but to be honest I am here for the support band, Lazy Fifty whose last album, 2021: A Lazy Odyssey, I reviewed a year ago.
Read More...
Reuben Hudson - EP Review: Cloudhead
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This five-track EP is the latest release from Melbourne-based, Tamaki Makaurau (Auckland, New Zealand) multi-instrumentalist and songwriter/producer, Reuben Hudson. Featuring David Harris on drums (Princess Chelsea), mixed by Peter Ruddell (Wax Chattels, Sulfate) and mastered by James Goldsmith (Mermaidens), everything else was played and performed by Reuben himself.
Read More...
Brian Baker - Single Review: I Won't Back Down
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Although Tom Petty was a massive success in the States, he never saw anything like the same in the UK until he partnered with Jeff Lynne and together, they came up with the masterpiece which is Full Moon Fever. I was blown away and had it on repeat the year I started dating my now wife, and any song from that album always makes me think of 1989, where I was, with no idea my life would be changing dramatically (and for the better).
Read More...
Bad Jelly Collective - Single Review: Paradigms
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest release from Bad Jelly Collective, which comprises Ben Clark (vocals, guitar, production) and Dave Weir (bass). It is lengthy for a single, being 5:36, but that is due to the large amount of repetition contained within and the very slow build which takes place.
Read More...
The RVMES - Album Review: Simple Things
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Before I started writing this I went back to my review for the guys’ last album, Lifetime, and part of me thought about copying it pretty much word for word and see if anyone noticed, as I spoke at length as to how many genres they were covering, and we have the same here, possibly more so. Most bands choose a genre, possibly going into a related area as well, and pretty much stay there.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem