2 Dec 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Seas of Conflict - Single Review: Consume Feat. Lana Paige

15 Nov 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

I know I was not the only one within the metal scene to be excited when I heard there was a new release coming from Seas of Conflict. Although there have been significant line-up changes since I last saw them play, the duo of Kody (vocals) and Nic (all instruments) are producing music which is as dynamic, downtuned and brutal as ever. In many ways this reminds me of what was coming out when nu-metal started in the 90’s, yet with a far more modern approach, sliding chords and a band refusing to be constrained by any genre as they throw lots of different styles into the mix along with changing tempos, all of which add depth and breadth to the brutality.

If that is not enough, they also asked Lana Paige to join on guest vocals. Lana is lead singer with Enclosures, and although I have not seen them under this name, I have seen them when they were playing as Dogtooth Amethyst and while Lana can be heard providing some wonderfully clear and powering vocals higher up in the register, I also have incredible respect for her growls and wonder if she is swapping them with Kody at different times. Seas of Conflict continue to release music which is compelling and powering, pushing metal into different areas, with both clean and dirty vocals, and I hope that at some point in the future we get a live line-up as music as strong as this needs to be played at a venue.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Seas of Conflict

Seas Of Conflict is a Heavy Metal band from Hamilton, which consists of five members who all share the same dream, which is to have their music reach as many people as it possibly can. Seas Of Conflict are five hard working teenagers who love to write, record, and perform their own original music.

Since late 2011 Seas Of Conflict have been playing as many shows and participating in as many things as possible that will help benefit the bands future. In the short time Seas Of Conflict have been together they have had the privilege to perform with some of their all time favourite bands such as Deez Nuts, Thy Art Is Murder, Northlane, In Hearts Wake, Prepared Like A Bride, Sienna Skies, A Breach Of Silence, Saving Grace, plus many more.

Seas Of Conflict recorded their EP Bleak Humanity in their friends flat just so they were able to get some of their material out to the public. Since the release of their EP they have had air time on various radio stations around New Zealand, and they have also been aired over in Brazil. Seas Of Conflict bring an extremely energetic and aggressive live performance not to be missed. Keep an eye out for upcoming shows and release dates. You will be seeing and hearing plenty more from Seas Of Conflict.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Seas of Conflict

Releases

Vestige
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Bleak Humanity
Year: 2013
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

KEV'S TOP 10's - 2022
02 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Last year, as a bit of fun, I put together my Top 10’s of NZ music for the year. I may well have created an issue for myself though, as more than a few have asked when the 2022 version is coming out, so here it is in time for the last ever MNZ newsletter in its current form.
Read More...
Single Review: Lana Paige - Deluded
01 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
When the mighty Seas of Conflict released their latest single, Consume, it featured the rock vocals of Lana Paige, who I have previously seen perform as frontwoman for Dogtooth Amethyst, who recently changed their name to Enclosures. I sent Lana the review, and it was only when chatting with her that I realised she had released a single earlier in the year, so of course the only thing to do is listen to it and then write a review.
Read More...
Blindspott - EP Review: Volume. II
01 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the second instalment of Blindspott’s next album, Volumes. There are going to be 12 tracks in total, and when they released Volume.
Read More...
Gig Review: Lazy Fifty @ Paraoa Brewing, Whangaparaoa - 24/11/2022
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
For my only gig this week, not only am I out on a school night, but I have struggled all the way from South Auckland up to Whangaparaoa, and I must admit it has been years since I have been here. Tonight, Australian trio 19-Twenty are in town, but to be honest I am here for the support band, Lazy Fifty whose last album, 2021: A Lazy Odyssey, I reviewed a year ago.
Read More...
Reuben Hudson - EP Review: Cloudhead
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This five-track EP is the latest release from Melbourne-based, Tamaki Makaurau (Auckland, New Zealand) multi-instrumentalist and songwriter/producer, Reuben Hudson. Featuring David Harris on drums (Princess Chelsea), mixed by Peter Ruddell (Wax Chattels, Sulfate) and mastered by James Goldsmith (Mermaidens), everything else was played and performed by Reuben himself.
Read More...
Brian Baker - Single Review: I Won't Back Down
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Although Tom Petty was a massive success in the States, he never saw anything like the same in the UK until he partnered with Jeff Lynne and together, they came up with the masterpiece which is Full Moon Fever. I was blown away and had it on repeat the year I started dating my now wife, and any song from that album always makes me think of 1989, where I was, with no idea my life would be changing dramatically (and for the better).
Read More...
Bad Jelly Collective - Single Review: Paradigms
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest release from Bad Jelly Collective, which comprises Ben Clark (vocals, guitar, production) and Dave Weir (bass). It is lengthy for a single, being 5:36, but that is due to the large amount of repetition contained within and the very slow build which takes place.
Read More...
The RVMES - Album Review: Simple Things
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Before I started writing this I went back to my review for the guys’ last album, Lifetime, and part of me thought about copying it pretty much word for word and see if anyone noticed, as I spoke at length as to how many genres they were covering, and we have the same here, possibly more so. Most bands choose a genre, possibly going into a related area as well, and pretty much stay there.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem