2 Dec 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Stacked - Single Review: Atlas

13 Nov 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Last night I saw this young band open for one of the biggest bills of the year, and were not fazed by it whatsoever, and given what I witnessed then and what I am listening to now, I can see why. They performed this song at the finals of Smokefree Rock Quest two years ago, and now it is the lead single for their debut EP, Crushed by the Sky, which will be out soon. It is so indicative of the band’s sound that they chose the EP title from the last line of lyrics of Atlas. In Alasdair Miller they have a drummer who seems determined to destroy the kit, given the amount of violence he places on it, providing manic fills and rolls, while in bassist Connor McNab they have the rock which allows everything else to take place. This is melodic hardcore, aggressive and over the top, with guitarists Aidan Wright and Benji Perez adding elements of mathcore in what is incredibly technical playing, and while that may at times feel relaxed given its complexity you then have Tyler Jamieson providing the raw and raucous energy at the front.

It is hard to believe that these guys are all so young, as SFRQ is a school competition, and there was a worrying moment last night when the question was asked if they were all at least 18 years old as that is what the venue had been told, as this is music which belies their years. They may have opened for WBW, but they would be just as happy opening for Xile, and I know we are going to be hearing a lot more from these guys in the near future as this is a blast from beginning to end.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Stacked

Stacked are a melodic hardcore band from Tamaki Makaurau. Emerging from multiple years of success through Smokefree Rockquest and packing out various council venues they've solidified themselves as a staple of the all-ages scene.

2022 sees Stacked working hard to move into R18 venues and finishing their debut EP. With influences ranging from math-rock to hardcore, Stacked's energy onstage is something that has provided them success over the past few years and is something that must be seen by all fans of heavier music.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Stacked

Releases

There are no releases to display for Stacked.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

KEV'S TOP 10's - 2022
02 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Last year, as a bit of fun, I put together my Top 10’s of NZ music for the year. I may well have created an issue for myself though, as more than a few have asked when the 2022 version is coming out, so here it is in time for the last ever MNZ newsletter in its current form.
Read More...
Single Review: Lana Paige - Deluded
01 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
When the mighty Seas of Conflict released their latest single, Consume, it featured the rock vocals of Lana Paige, who I have previously seen perform as frontwoman for Dogtooth Amethyst, who recently changed their name to Enclosures. I sent Lana the review, and it was only when chatting with her that I realised she had released a single earlier in the year, so of course the only thing to do is listen to it and then write a review.
Read More...
Blindspott - EP Review: Volume. II
01 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the second instalment of Blindspott’s next album, Volumes. There are going to be 12 tracks in total, and when they released Volume.
Read More...
Gig Review: Lazy Fifty @ Paraoa Brewing, Whangaparaoa - 24/11/2022
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
For my only gig this week, not only am I out on a school night, but I have struggled all the way from South Auckland up to Whangaparaoa, and I must admit it has been years since I have been here. Tonight, Australian trio 19-Twenty are in town, but to be honest I am here for the support band, Lazy Fifty whose last album, 2021: A Lazy Odyssey, I reviewed a year ago.
Read More...
Reuben Hudson - EP Review: Cloudhead
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This five-track EP is the latest release from Melbourne-based, Tamaki Makaurau (Auckland, New Zealand) multi-instrumentalist and songwriter/producer, Reuben Hudson. Featuring David Harris on drums (Princess Chelsea), mixed by Peter Ruddell (Wax Chattels, Sulfate) and mastered by James Goldsmith (Mermaidens), everything else was played and performed by Reuben himself.
Read More...
Brian Baker - Single Review: I Won't Back Down
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Although Tom Petty was a massive success in the States, he never saw anything like the same in the UK until he partnered with Jeff Lynne and together, they came up with the masterpiece which is Full Moon Fever. I was blown away and had it on repeat the year I started dating my now wife, and any song from that album always makes me think of 1989, where I was, with no idea my life would be changing dramatically (and for the better).
Read More...
Bad Jelly Collective - Single Review: Paradigms
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest release from Bad Jelly Collective, which comprises Ben Clark (vocals, guitar, production) and Dave Weir (bass). It is lengthy for a single, being 5:36, but that is due to the large amount of repetition contained within and the very slow build which takes place.
Read More...
The RVMES - Album Review: Simple Things
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Before I started writing this I went back to my review for the guys’ last album, Lifetime, and part of me thought about copying it pretty much word for word and see if anyone noticed, as I spoke at length as to how many genres they were covering, and we have the same here, possibly more so. Most bands choose a genre, possibly going into a related area as well, and pretty much stay there.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem