2 Dec 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Late to Chelsea - Single Review: Permanent Stankface Disorder

13 Nov 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Here we have the latest single from the self-confessed “worse band in Auckland”, Late To Chelsea. There is only one small thing wrong with the comment, they’re not (either late, or the worst). Late To Chelsea are one of those bands who just have fun on the stage, with the audience somewhat along for the ride. They are a punk band who are determined to enjoy themselves, and although they are all young, they have been playing together for some years and are incredibly tight. Here they bring in rap to add to the fun, and although this is somewhat unusual within their mix, it does also show off just how tight they are. It all starts at the back with Jack McKenzie keeping it solid, while the twin guitar approach of Jack Horsnell and Dave Hulbert are locked in, but what makes this song for me is the way bassist Sam Ashton mostly stays up in the high register, throwing in some nuances and chords as he plays alongside the guitars.

Dave sings lead on this one (both guitarists provide that role in the band) and provides the rap, but that approach is never to be taken too seriously, until one realises just how good this is, with some nice hooks and great playing. The band they remind me of is Bowling For Soup, another band who only seem to mess about onstage, yet all know what they are doing with all their material loads of fun.  This may not be truly indicative of all their material, but is solid throughout and a great introduction to the boys.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Late to Chelsea

Late to Chelsea are A 5-piece band from Auckland, New Zealand. Who guarantees a down-to-earth, fun show with plenty of tunes to sing along with and endless good times to be had.

Since their conception in 2019, Late to Chelsea has mastered being funny enough to distract gig-goers from how terrible their music is. They have been labelled as "The Worst Band in The World" by themselves and is a label they strive to live up to.

Late to Chelsea is known for its high-energy, interactive live shows that can have people laughing, crying, booing, dancing, moshing or violently hurling themselves at each other in a wall of death.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Late to Chelsea

Releases

There are no releases to display for Late to Chelsea .

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

KEV'S TOP 10's - 2022
02 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Last year, as a bit of fun, I put together my Top 10’s of NZ music for the year. I may well have created an issue for myself though, as more than a few have asked when the 2022 version is coming out, so here it is in time for the last ever MNZ newsletter in its current form.
Read More...
Single Review: Lana Paige - Deluded
01 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
When the mighty Seas of Conflict released their latest single, Consume, it featured the rock vocals of Lana Paige, who I have previously seen perform as frontwoman for Dogtooth Amethyst, who recently changed their name to Enclosures. I sent Lana the review, and it was only when chatting with her that I realised she had released a single earlier in the year, so of course the only thing to do is listen to it and then write a review.
Read More...
Blindspott - EP Review: Volume. II
01 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the second instalment of Blindspott’s next album, Volumes. There are going to be 12 tracks in total, and when they released Volume.
Read More...
Gig Review: Lazy Fifty @ Paraoa Brewing, Whangaparaoa - 24/11/2022
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
For my only gig this week, not only am I out on a school night, but I have struggled all the way from South Auckland up to Whangaparaoa, and I must admit it has been years since I have been here. Tonight, Australian trio 19-Twenty are in town, but to be honest I am here for the support band, Lazy Fifty whose last album, 2021: A Lazy Odyssey, I reviewed a year ago.
Read More...
Reuben Hudson - EP Review: Cloudhead
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This five-track EP is the latest release from Melbourne-based, Tamaki Makaurau (Auckland, New Zealand) multi-instrumentalist and songwriter/producer, Reuben Hudson. Featuring David Harris on drums (Princess Chelsea), mixed by Peter Ruddell (Wax Chattels, Sulfate) and mastered by James Goldsmith (Mermaidens), everything else was played and performed by Reuben himself.
Read More...
Brian Baker - Single Review: I Won't Back Down
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Although Tom Petty was a massive success in the States, he never saw anything like the same in the UK until he partnered with Jeff Lynne and together, they came up with the masterpiece which is Full Moon Fever. I was blown away and had it on repeat the year I started dating my now wife, and any song from that album always makes me think of 1989, where I was, with no idea my life would be changing dramatically (and for the better).
Read More...
Bad Jelly Collective - Single Review: Paradigms
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest release from Bad Jelly Collective, which comprises Ben Clark (vocals, guitar, production) and Dave Weir (bass). It is lengthy for a single, being 5:36, but that is due to the large amount of repetition contained within and the very slow build which takes place.
Read More...
The RVMES - Album Review: Simple Things
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Before I started writing this I went back to my review for the guys’ last album, Lifetime, and part of me thought about copying it pretty much word for word and see if anyone noticed, as I spoke at length as to how many genres they were covering, and we have the same here, possibly more so. Most bands choose a genre, possibly going into a related area as well, and pretty much stay there.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem