22 Feb 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Late to Chelsea - Single Review: Permanent Stankface Disorder

13 Nov 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Here we have the latest single from the self-confessed “worse band in Auckland”, Late To Chelsea. There is only one small thing wrong with the comment, they’re not (either late, or the worst). Late To Chelsea are one of those bands who just have fun on the stage, with the audience somewhat along for the ride. They are a punk band who are determined to enjoy themselves, and although they are all young, they have been playing together for some years and are incredibly tight. Here they bring in rap to add to the fun, and although this is somewhat unusual within their mix, it does also show off just how tight they are. It all starts at the back with Jack McKenzie keeping it solid, while the twin guitar approach of Jack Horsnell and Dave Hulbert are locked in, but what makes this song for me is the way bassist Sam Ashton mostly stays up in the high register, throwing in some nuances and chords as he plays alongside the guitars.

Dave sings lead on this one (both guitarists provide that role in the band) and provides the rap, but that approach is never to be taken too seriously, until one realises just how good this is, with some nice hooks and great playing. The band they remind me of is Bowling For Soup, another band who only seem to mess about onstage, yet all know what they are doing with all their material loads of fun.  This may not be truly indicative of all their material, but is solid throughout and a great introduction to the boys.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Late to Chelsea

Late to Chelsea are A 5-piece band from Auckland, New Zealand. Who guarantees a down-to-earth, fun show with plenty of tunes to sing along with and endless good times to be had.

Since their conception in 2019, Late to Chelsea has mastered being funny enough to distract gig-goers from how terrible their music is. They have been labelled as "The Worst Band in The World" by themselves and is a label they strive to live up to.

Late to Chelsea is known for its high-energy, interactive live shows that can have people laughing, crying, booing, dancing, moshing or violently hurling themselves at each other in a wall of death.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Late to Chelsea

Releases

LTC
Year: 2022
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Crushfest @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 07/07/2023
07 Jul 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was down to Tuning Fork for the first night of the second Crushfest festival. Tonight was going to be Wellington and Auckland bands, and then some of the same will be playing at the second night in Wellington next month.
Read More...
Rain - Single Review: Love and War
15 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It has been quite a while since I last heard from Wellington-based singer songwriter Cathy Elizabeth, and back then Rain was seen solely as a studio project with Cathy being accompanied by Thomas Te Taite, who provided all the instrumentation including digital drums. Now they are a full band who have been performing live, and it is the first time they have recorded as such, with Thomas now, just providing acoustic guitar (plus engineering and producing etc.
Read More...
Lost Vessels - Single Review: All This Time
01 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I was not that impressed when I first saw Lost Vessels play at Crushfest, something they later admitted to me was the worst gig of their career, but since then they have improved in leaps and bounds. This has been noticed by others on the Auckland circuit as they are getting more opportunities with better support slots, and I was not at all surprised when they won the Ding Dong Lounge Battle Of The Bands in November last year.
Read More...
Unwanted Subject - Single Review: Sons of Savages
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I have caught Unwanted Subject in concert a few times over the last couple of years, and while they have been getting better each time I have seen them, I must admit that nothing prepared me for this, which right from the off is a monster. I have never heard them quite this is aggressive, nor as polished, and this multi-sectioned single sounds almost like a different band as they have pushed their metal roots to the max in this metalcore beast which sees them mixing and blending different genres to create something quite special.
Read More...
Gig Review: Stray Dogs @ AUX, Auckland - 26/05/2023
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to Ding Dong Lounge on a Friday night for one of their infamous Emo nights, which tonight was a three-band bill with Stray Dogs having an extended set, supported by Altaea and then up first we had Blindr, a band new to me. Blindr are a quartet featuring Bill Caldwell (vocals, guitar), Blake Woodfield (lead guitar), Jack Power (bass), and Charlie McCracken (drums).
Read More...
Gig Review: Turkey The Bird @ The Ministry of Folk, Auckland - 27/05/2023
27 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back up to Auckland Guide Centre in Mount Eden tonight for my second consecutive gig (Sol suggested it was a turkey sandwich as I am at Vader tomorrow) to see Taranaki’s finest, Turkey The Bird at The Ministry of Folk. Before that we of course had Hoop, who are Al Baxter (vocals, guitar, harmonica, banjo, mandolin), Nick Edgar (vocals, guitar, ukulele, flute, harmonica), Emily Allen (violin, viola), Glenn Coldham (bass) while tonight Gary Hunt was filling in for drummer Rusty Knox.
Read More...
This Silent Divide - Single Review: Beautiful Creature
25 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based melodic hard rock quartet This Silent Divide, entitled Beautiful Creature. I really enjoyed their Tall Stories EP, and they played a great gig at Dead Witch towards the end of last year, and this would have been recorded at about the same time.
Read More...
Gig Review: Emily Rice @ Your Local Coffee Roasters, Pukekohe - 24/05/2023
24 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this week I had a message from Emily Rice asking me if I lived in South Auckland. When I responded I did, she asked if I would be interested in coming along to an event she was putting on in a coffee shop in Pukekohe to celebrate the release of her new single, Warenoa.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PRAISE JAH IN THE MOONLIGHT
    YG Marley
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • LOVIN ON ME
    Jack Harlow
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • SNOOZE
    SZA
  • GREEDY
    Tate McRae
  • CRUEL SUMMER
    Taylor Swift
  • CARNIVAL
    Kanye West And Ty Dolla $ign
  • MURDER ON THE DANCEFLOOR
    Sophie Ellis-Bextor
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem