2 Dec 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • Goodnight My Darling - Gig Review: Goodnight My Darling w/ Ersha Island @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 10/11/2022

Goodnight My Darling - Gig Review: Goodnight My Darling w/ Ersha Island @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 10/11/2022

11 Nov 2022 // A review by Lou Clement
Goodnight My Darling played at Whammy Bar along with Ersha Island last night. Ersha Island are a sister-duo, playing a classic (but not often seen in their genres) accompaniment of violin and piano. Siblings Dani and Tee embrace a way of making music that’s rare: a natural profound harmony. This likely comes from a shared upbringing and everything that goes with that.

Dani and Tee also talked a little about their background including growing up in China, mixed race and developing music together through the Jazz genre. Some techniques learnt there continue to influence their output as they added that the violin performances were improvised. Ersha Island complement one another well through their music. I particularly enjoyed the solo violin and both Dani and Tee’s voices have a really high impact which is wonderful to listen to. Their lyrics came across as being theatrical, honest and unpretentious.

Goodnight My Darling were premiering the release of their upcoming album with a release date of 22 November, and the vinyl available to buy at the door. I loved everything about this band. They had a great rapport along with a special guest cello, and there was amazing high energy dancing and obviously a skilled artist behind the lyrics.

Goodnight My Darling is fronted by Maxine Macauley. I’m not sure if the new album is best kept a secret but the lyrical quality of what I heard and the performance of the band was fun and the music was thoughtful. I could hear a vast array of influences many of 90’s shoegaze bands that I come back to have a similar playful edge. Macauley’s vocals are striking and the songs needed little introduction, because it didn't take long to feel the meaning. I enjoyed hearing Until I Return live and I'll look forward to hearing the album in full, later in the month.



Photo Credit: Chris Zwaagdyk / ZED Pics
Ersha Island Photo Gallery

Goodnight My Darling Photo Gallery

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Goodnight My Darling

Goodnight My Darling, (Maxine Macaulay) is an emerging Te Whanganui-a-Tara based songwriter, producer and vocalist.

A strong songwriter, storyteller, an avid explorer and human experience researcher Goodnight My Darling draws upon her adventures living and performing abroad in Melbourne, Japan and most recently Berlin.

Her artistic endeavours began from a young age, singing for Kapiti based bands, choirs and learning to play trumpet, taught by her grandfather who was a conductor and musician in the New Zealand National Band.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Goodnight My Darling

Releases

Goodnight My Darling
Year: 2022
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Lou Clement

Gig Review: Womb w/ Samara Alofa @ Wine Cellar, Auckland - 25/11/2022
28 Nov 2022 // by Lou Clement
Underground a bustling K-Road the Wine Cellar played host to Womb on Friday night, a three-piece comprised of siblings, Georgette Brown and twins Haz and Charlotte Forrester. Tonight, they celebrated the release of their new album, Dreaming of The Future Again.
Read More...
Gig Review: No Cigar @ Galatos, Auckland - 5/11/2022
09 Nov 2022 // by Lou Clement
No Cigar played Auckland on the final date of their Bienvenido Album Release Tour. Nestled behind Karangahape Road, the venue, Galatos, was sold out and packed to the brim on an electric Saturday night.
Read More...
Gig Review: Troy Kingi and The Promises @ Powerstation, Auckland - 14/10/2022
17 Oct 2022 // by Lou Clement
Available on both vinyl and cassette, Troy Kingi’s (Te Arawa, Ngapuhi, Te Whanau-a-Apanui) new album, Year of The Ratbags and Their Musty Theme Songs, was debuted at the Powerstation, Auckland. It was a fun and fantastic return to live performance for 2022, following the years of COVID cancellations and absences.
Read More...
Gig Review: Nadia Reid & Jenny Mitchell @ Auckland Town Hall, Auckland - 09/09/2022
11 Sep 2022 // by Lou Clement
Worth the wait might be the short summary of an epic and memorable evening with Nadia Reid with the Auckland Philharmonic Orchestra and support from Jenny Mitchell. Both acts were accompanied by their bands and a packed Auckland Town Hall cheered every song.
Read More...
Flaxxies - EP Review: Beach Rudes
04 Aug 2022 // by Lou Clement
Flaxxies release a four track EP, that heralds Spring with its’ playfulness and optimism. The band are a five piece who blend a number of influences: most obviously surf rock and reggae.
Read More...
Gig Review: NZ Music Month Wrap Party @ Tuning Fork - 31/05/2022
05 Jun 2022 // by Lou Clement
Live music is back with swagger as event numbers grow and crowds swarm for a crucial mark of ‘return to normal’ in Auckland. At the Tuning Fork, sandwiched between the Port and the central city streets, a diverse crowd gathered at this all-ages event, to mark the end of NZ Music month, 2022.
Read More...
REID - Single Review: Savannah
07 Apr 2022 // by Lou Clement
REID is solo artist, based in Wellington, who is making straight-up fun and catchy pop music. Inspired by a desire to simply get people to sing and dance along, REID’s debut single, Savannah, is one of those songs that is the soundtrack to sunny days.
Read More...
TOOMS - Album Review: Fake Teeth
16 Mar 2022 // by Lou Clement
So, a 15 tracker, entitled Fake Teeth, released on limited vinyl, from the excellent duo which are Tooms. They are: Nich Cunningham and Dorian Noval.
Read More...
View All Articles By Lou Clement

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem