2 Dec 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Riqi Harawira - Single/Video Review: E Rere Ai (Fly Away)

06 Nov 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

E rere ai is a song which originally came from a poem written by Riqi and his partner Floss (who appears in the video) which touches on love, hopes, and dreams. They are a Maori/Pakeha blended couple deeply in love with each other, with the idea of an equal union formed in Aroha (love) and respect even though they are from different cultures and backgrounds. Performed with a full band, musically this is a soft rock number with some pop elements where Riqi is often strumming his guitar, and there are some nice lengthy organ chords which provide a backdrop. It feels quite American late Seventies in its approach, and the guitar solo near the end is perfectly formed while there is enough variety and occasional bite within which lifts it out of the norm and makes it incredibly enjoyable. Riqi has a nice balanced tone to his voice, easily switching between English and Te Reo, and the overall result is something which is deep yet light, immediate with depth.

The lyrics are incredibly important, and this message is strengthened with the video which for the most part is Riqi and Floss in the landscape, their love for each other shining in their eyes. One of the most poignant moments is when Riqi and another are performing a traditional dance and right in the middle is Floss, doing her own thing. It is not disrespect, but rather the bringing together of two cultures and acceptance of each other. If possible, watch the video, as it really does bring home what the song is all about, while at the very end there is a message saying how the Waiata is dedicated to interracial couples who have the courage to embrace each other, who understand the cultural differences, racial disparities, inequities, cultural history of violence and trauma. Despite these differences develop a respect and love for each other to counter racial prejudice, systemic racism, and the oppression of specific racial groups.

A powerful message, all wrapped in a very enjoyable song and lovely video.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Riqi Harawira

Riqi Harawira (Te Aupouri, Ngapuhi) has shared stages with some of the world’s biggest acts, Guns n Roses and Pearl Jam to name a few. The former lead guitarist and co-songwriter for popular 90’s grunge band Dead Flowers. He has collaborated with numerous Kiwi artists across his career such as Kings, Stellar*, DLT, Che Fu and Dam Native. Riqi Harawira is a Maori fusion artist and a guitar virtuoso who is passionate about telling stories about Aotearoa through his original music.

Riqi is a lover of guitar and passionate about playing it. A multi-instrumentalist, Riqi frequently melds te reo Maori and English with rock and grunge music, dabbling with covers of Jimi Hendrix, Tama Renata, Joe Satriani and performing the NZ national anthem and the Last Post with the healing voice of his guitar he calls Mareikura (named after a Ngati Kahungunu princess).

Immersed in music from a young age, his father, Rangi Hadfield (Rangi Harawira) was an international Maori entertainer who performed in over 65 countries and who taught Riqi the guitar.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Riqi Harawira

Releases

Mauri
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Sound of the Long White Cloud
Year: 2016
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

KEV'S TOP 10's - 2022
02 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Last year, as a bit of fun, I put together my Top 10’s of NZ music for the year. I may well have created an issue for myself though, as more than a few have asked when the 2022 version is coming out, so here it is in time for the last ever MNZ newsletter in its current form.
Read More...
Single Review: Lana Paige - Deluded
01 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
When the mighty Seas of Conflict released their latest single, Consume, it featured the rock vocals of Lana Paige, who I have previously seen perform as frontwoman for Dogtooth Amethyst, who recently changed their name to Enclosures. I sent Lana the review, and it was only when chatting with her that I realised she had released a single earlier in the year, so of course the only thing to do is listen to it and then write a review.
Read More...
Blindspott - EP Review: Volume. II
01 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the second instalment of Blindspott’s next album, Volumes. There are going to be 12 tracks in total, and when they released Volume.
Read More...
Gig Review: Lazy Fifty @ Paraoa Brewing, Whangaparaoa - 24/11/2022
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
For my only gig this week, not only am I out on a school night, but I have struggled all the way from South Auckland up to Whangaparaoa, and I must admit it has been years since I have been here. Tonight, Australian trio 19-Twenty are in town, but to be honest I am here for the support band, Lazy Fifty whose last album, 2021: A Lazy Odyssey, I reviewed a year ago.
Read More...
Reuben Hudson - EP Review: Cloudhead
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This five-track EP is the latest release from Melbourne-based, Tamaki Makaurau (Auckland, New Zealand) multi-instrumentalist and songwriter/producer, Reuben Hudson. Featuring David Harris on drums (Princess Chelsea), mixed by Peter Ruddell (Wax Chattels, Sulfate) and mastered by James Goldsmith (Mermaidens), everything else was played and performed by Reuben himself.
Read More...
Brian Baker - Single Review: I Won't Back Down
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Although Tom Petty was a massive success in the States, he never saw anything like the same in the UK until he partnered with Jeff Lynne and together, they came up with the masterpiece which is Full Moon Fever. I was blown away and had it on repeat the year I started dating my now wife, and any song from that album always makes me think of 1989, where I was, with no idea my life would be changing dramatically (and for the better).
Read More...
Bad Jelly Collective - Single Review: Paradigms
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest release from Bad Jelly Collective, which comprises Ben Clark (vocals, guitar, production) and Dave Weir (bass). It is lengthy for a single, being 5:36, but that is due to the large amount of repetition contained within and the very slow build which takes place.
Read More...
The RVMES - Album Review: Simple Things
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Before I started writing this I went back to my review for the guys’ last album, Lifetime, and part of me thought about copying it pretty much word for word and see if anyone noticed, as I spoke at length as to how many genres they were covering, and we have the same here, possibly more so. Most bands choose a genre, possibly going into a related area as well, and pretty much stay there.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem