2 Dec 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Reece Milton - Album Review: Elixir

05 Nov 2022 // A review by Kev Rowland

Here we have the debut album from Wellington-born and Nelson-raised singer songwriter Reece Milton. As with many other young Kiwi musicians, Reece was involved with Smokefree Rockquest, where his band won their regional heats in 2018. In that same year he won a competition to record his song Once in a Lifetime at StudioBox and have it produced by Greg Haver (Manic Street Preachers etc.) which in turn saw him being offered a recording contract with Antipodes Records. That song was released as a single in 2019, and was followed up by Atmosphere, Take My Hand, and Take It Easy, with all four included on this album.

This is a very modern sounding release, and while it may have somewhat more guitar than many of today’s pop releases there is no doubt this is the genre to which is it most closely aligned There are elements of soft jazz, and even some rock, plenty of soul, but this is a pop album and feels aimed at people who are a great deal younger than me (although that isn’t hard to be fair). There is no doubt this is clever, but there is little in the way of bottom end in the arrangements which means they can come across as fairly one-sided without much depth. The production keeps his vocals front and centre, and although there are times when he puts a slight edge on them these are also quite one-dimensional.

All those negatives to one side, the very first time I played this I realised my foot was tapping along to the beat which was somewhat surprising. This is a very modern sounding release, and I believe that most of the issues I identified with it, and the reason I am not a fan, has far more to do with my own personal preferences than the performance of Reece, his band, and the production team. It is incredibly clean, and definitely aimed at the youth and radio market. I would have liked to have heard more in the vein of Runaway Girl, where there is some nice, distorted guitar in the background, but just when it feels like it might become something of a banger it reverts to form and turns into very much a middle of the road number. 

Given the commercial aspect of this album, and the way it closely aligns with much modern radio programming, it would not surprise me if this a major chart success, as there is no doubt it is very clever, wonderfully produced, and bang on point. Aimed at those who follow the latest youth trends, I have rated it for what it is worth in that market, but personally I doubt I will ever play this again.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Reece Milton

With a mind plagued by constant hooks, phrases and riffs, Reece Milton was born with a virtuoso ability as a guitarist and song writing was a natural progression for him from day one. His unique ability to craft lyrics that are mostly based on themes instead of real events gives his listeners licence to develop their own response to them and his guitar solos are the stuff air guitar dreams are made of.

Born in Wellington and raised in Nelson, Reece Milton is a New Zealand singer/songwriter and guitarist. Reece developed his passion and skill for music and song writing at high school and through his involvement in Smokefree Rockquest, of which his band won regional heats in 2018. In that same year Reece won a competition to have his song Once in a Lifetime recorded at StudioBox and produced by the legendary welsh producer Greg Haver (of Manic Street Preachers and Melanie C fame). This experience resulted in him being offered a recording contract with Antipodes Records and a management contract with StudioBox Creative.

Reece released his debut single Once in a Lifetime in 2019 and has since followed up in 2020 with singles Atmosphere and Take My Hand and Take It Easy all with accompanying music videos.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Reece Milton

Releases

Elixir
Year: 2022
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

KEV'S TOP 10's - 2022
02 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Last year, as a bit of fun, I put together my Top 10’s of NZ music for the year. I may well have created an issue for myself though, as more than a few have asked when the 2022 version is coming out, so here it is in time for the last ever MNZ newsletter in its current form.
Read More...
Single Review: Lana Paige - Deluded
01 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
When the mighty Seas of Conflict released their latest single, Consume, it featured the rock vocals of Lana Paige, who I have previously seen perform as frontwoman for Dogtooth Amethyst, who recently changed their name to Enclosures. I sent Lana the review, and it was only when chatting with her that I realised she had released a single earlier in the year, so of course the only thing to do is listen to it and then write a review.
Read More...
Blindspott - EP Review: Volume. II
01 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the second instalment of Blindspott’s next album, Volumes. There are going to be 12 tracks in total, and when they released Volume.
Read More...
Gig Review: Lazy Fifty @ Paraoa Brewing, Whangaparaoa - 24/11/2022
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
For my only gig this week, not only am I out on a school night, but I have struggled all the way from South Auckland up to Whangaparaoa, and I must admit it has been years since I have been here. Tonight, Australian trio 19-Twenty are in town, but to be honest I am here for the support band, Lazy Fifty whose last album, 2021: A Lazy Odyssey, I reviewed a year ago.
Read More...
Reuben Hudson - EP Review: Cloudhead
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This five-track EP is the latest release from Melbourne-based, Tamaki Makaurau (Auckland, New Zealand) multi-instrumentalist and songwriter/producer, Reuben Hudson. Featuring David Harris on drums (Princess Chelsea), mixed by Peter Ruddell (Wax Chattels, Sulfate) and mastered by James Goldsmith (Mermaidens), everything else was played and performed by Reuben himself.
Read More...
Brian Baker - Single Review: I Won't Back Down
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Although Tom Petty was a massive success in the States, he never saw anything like the same in the UK until he partnered with Jeff Lynne and together, they came up with the masterpiece which is Full Moon Fever. I was blown away and had it on repeat the year I started dating my now wife, and any song from that album always makes me think of 1989, where I was, with no idea my life would be changing dramatically (and for the better).
Read More...
Bad Jelly Collective - Single Review: Paradigms
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest release from Bad Jelly Collective, which comprises Ben Clark (vocals, guitar, production) and Dave Weir (bass). It is lengthy for a single, being 5:36, but that is due to the large amount of repetition contained within and the very slow build which takes place.
Read More...
The RVMES - Album Review: Simple Things
23 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Before I started writing this I went back to my review for the guys’ last album, Lifetime, and part of me thought about copying it pretty much word for word and see if anyone noticed, as I spoke at length as to how many genres they were covering, and we have the same here, possibly more so. Most bands choose a genre, possibly going into a related area as well, and pretty much stay there.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • 685 (REMIX)
    Victor J Sefo, Lisi And Mwayz
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem